J is for

ABC_2008_button

J is for Joy.

I talked to Pippikneesocks yesterday. She didn’t know the scope of what had been done, but she knew something was going on. So I clued her in and true to form, she said she didn’t know whether to be mad at me or overjoyed. She thought we all had forgotten about her. I think more than the financial help we’re giving, she’s thrilled that we would think highly enough of her to want to help her out.

Symeon also told me that she hadn’t knit in months. She just didn’t feel well enough to. We all know how life can get us down. Well, Monday she picked up some yarn and needles and started to make herself a shawl. Our collective goodwill has got her back on the needles again.

Symeon wanted me to express to you all how incredibly happy she was and how your show of support to her has really lifted her spirits, she appreciates every ones good thoughts and offers of help. And I want to thank you too for bringing a little joy back into her life.

More Joy is coming by way of auctions. Starting tomorrow will be:
The Knitting Experience donated some yarn from the fiber company. It’s incredibly gorgeous and enough to make a sweater. I’m going to donate the last batt I have from Indigo Moon. They’re no longer in business so it’s a rare thing this batt. And Erin is giving up a gorgeous shawl kit from Wooly Wonka.

I will be using Ebay for the auctions so if you’re not signed up there, then you may want to head back over and get logged in and ready. These are only 3 of the things that will be auctioned. I’m waiting for more items to come in included another lace shawl!

Knitters and spinners are amazing people.

I couldn’t get a joyful picture of Symeon but I do have one of my girls.
sisterlove
They had a happy moment together watching a dinosaur documentary. When they’re happy and getting along like that, I’m joyful too.

This entry was posted in ABC-along, life. Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to J is for

  1. Lynn says:

    You’re going to give us clues as to how to find this stuff on eBay, right? I do remember Ms. Pipp, although I haven’t had the pleasure of meeting her, and I’d love the chance to help out.

  2. Jennifer says:

    Oh, I hadn’t heard! I’ll be heading over the auctions.

  3. margene says:

    I haven’t been able to get Symeon out of my mind…have been sending good thoughts her way. You have taken away the helpless feeling and made it easy for us all to DO something. Good job, Amy.

  4. PuppyMomma says:

    I’m glad to know she’s still alive and ok.

  5. beverly says:

    Thank you for giving us a way to help Symeon. I’m off to check out the auction!!

  6. tanya says:

    So sorry to hear about Pippi. I loved her spinning and am sad to hear that she has fallen on hard times. I’ll look for the auctions and please keep us posted on what else we might do to help.

  7. Brenda says:

    Yeah for joy! We all need it in our lives.

  8. Scott says:

    Joy to the world,
    All the knitters and spinners,
    Joy to the sheepies in the deep green field,
    and joy to you and me!!!!

  9. Weaver says:

    can hardly wait to check out the auction!

    Two joyful children in one chair with one blanket IS a wonderfully joyful thing :) It helps that they are so darn cute too ;)

  10. JessaLu says:

    I agree with Margene – good job, Amy! It helps to know that there is something we can do to help. I’m glad Symeon has picked up the needles again!

  11. Amy says:

    I am glad to hear she got back on the needles. Fiber therapy can work wonders sometimes.

  12. Amelia says:

    It’s fantastic that you’re doing this for her. We all need a little extra help this time, and it’s friends like you that make the difference. I know my friends have helped me when I really needed it, and I’ve tried to pay it forward too. Thanks!

    I’d love to learn more about you, too, Amy … so I’ve tagged you for a meme. Join in, if you’d like to!

  13. Birdsong says:

    I do remember her and would like to help just by making a small donation… can you tell me how? Thanks for being her champion, and for letting the rest of us know.. it is a mystery when someone just disappears off the radar in blogland, and sometimes unsolvable, but at least this time we can all pitch in and help.

  14. Carole says:

    Hey Amy – how can I help?

  15. Kelly says:

    I’d love to help out in any way that I can if you need some more donations for the auction I have some handspun I can donate.

Leave a Reply

