Pippi Knee Socks

Symeon North is going to kill me but I’m going to do this anyway.

Many of you new people will not remember her or the fabulous fiber and yarn and spirit she gave to the fiber community. Anyone that’s been around a while will remember her. Her laughter, her politics, her….just her. Many of us have worried and missed her since she disappeared.

I’ve been in contact with her off and on, when she had a phone (she hasn’t had internet for a long time).  Due to a whole mess of crappy circumstances, she’s being kicked out of her home that she shares wiith her man and 2 kidlets. They are living on pocket lint. And I want to help. I know some of you do too.

I’m not trying to give you a sob story or try to guilt you into anything. I’ve given only the base facts because I’d really be dead if I embellished. If you want to help too there are a couple of ways.

If you know Symeon and know her email addy – her gmail one. And you feel ok about just sending her some moolah through paypal, please do it.

If you didn’t know her but still want to help, I’m trying to put together some benefit auctions. I have to do this sort of fast because she’s supposed to be out by the end of the month even though she’s trying to hang in until the kids finish school for the year.

Last week I showed off some yarn and it’s going to be used in a shawl that I’ll auction off.
fcs_mckenzie1
It’s a Forest Canopy done in my handspun Merino Silk. It’s not one of my colorways, it’s a prepared fiber from Ashland Bay called McKenzie.

So keep your eyes peeled and soon there will be an auction for that shawl and a few other awesome things you know you’re going to want.

This entry was posted in Knitting, life. Bookmark the permalink.

40 Responses to Pippi Knee Socks

  1. Scott says:

    Dear friends draw near.
    The time is here,
    to help one of our own.

    Once again our friend Boogie takes the lead.
    Her call we should heed,
    to help one of our own.

    I’ll keep my eye out for the auctions.

  2. Amy says:

    I had been wondering what had happened to her. I will also be watching for auctions.

  3. Roo says:

    Oh no :( Poor Pippi. I sent her a tiny gift. Wish it could be more. I hate when bad things happen to good people, and it seems to happen more and more lately.

  4. JessaLu says:

    I’ve been wondering about her for a while but didn’t know her well enough to ask. Thanks for the update, I’ll be looking for the auctions.

  5. Manise says:

    Ditto what Jess said! Looking forward to the auction. Only too glad to help out.

  6. Susan says:

    I have been wondering about her too. I feel so bad for her having to go through this. I’d love to help out.

  7. What if you’d like to help now? I don’t need to wait for the auction, do I? If you can pass the paypal details via email, I’d appreciate it. :)

  8. Lisa says:

    I’ll be looking for the auctions but if I could help a little now, please send any details via email if that’s ok.

  9. HollyEQQ says:

    I would be glad to donate for the auction.
    Just give me a shout.
    HollyEQQ at hotmail.com

    Thanks
    holly

  10. Suzie says:

    yes!

    I like awesome things and I like to help!

    (but only update once a day, eh? I have a life (ha Not) you know)

  11. Brenda says:

    I’ve missed her presence and have wondered and worried about her. I’ll definitely be looking for the auctions.

  12. Erica says:

    Oh, that is just crappy. I’ve missed her and will help out however I can.

  13. DebbieB says:

    I want to help, too – I love Pippi’s fiber. I have spun several of her colorways. Sorry she’s been dealt a crappy hand – sure hope things improve drastically. I’ll Rav-mail you for her email addy.

  14. Wendy says:

    I’ve wondered what happened to her and still check her blog every so often. How awful! Don’t have her gmail addy so I will wait for auctions.

  15. beverly says:

    I interviewed Pippi for a Knitty article a few years ago, but don’t have her e-mail anymore. If you’d be willing to share it, I’d be glad to send her some help.

  16. alke says:

    I do not know Pippy yet.
    But I do know you far enough to trust your judgement.
    Please let us know how to donate, because if we can, we are the lucky ones here.
    I know I am and I will.
    alke

  17. Jenn says:

    Seconding HollyEQQ… I would love to donate something to the auction(s).

    I have been wondering what she has been up to for awhile now, and was worried but didn’t know enough to ask since I am kind of a lurker :)

    midnightsky at midnightskyfibers dot com

  18. pumpkinmama says:

    Thanks for the heads up – I had been wondering about her. Just sent a little something, and would be happy to donate something for an auction – I have some cool shawl kits I’ll never get to and/or handspun.

  19. Shelly says:

    Please send our love to her! She has been such an inspiration to many of us newbies (maybe not so new too). It really stinks about her situation…been there, done that, never want to be there again! One thing I’ve learned is that stuff is just that, stuff…family is all that matters. Be strong, bad times don’t last forever!

    I’ll be looking for more info on the auction!

  20. Norma says:

    I, too, have been wondering about her and worrying about her. Thanks for this.

  21. thanks for giving us that update.
    I have been wondering what was going on with her, but since I don’t “know her” thought it rude to ask.
    I hope to be able to give give give as her roving was the first that I bought as a new spinner.
    :)

  22. miss violet says:

    Right now I’m out of yarn for the next couple weeks, but I would be thrilled to help out however I can. If you get me the information about the auctions, Lime & Violet would be happy to spread the word and get as many eyeballs over to ebay as we can.

    I love Pippi; I hope this helps in some small way.

    If any base yarn gets here beforehand, too, I’d like to donate some physical goods for the auction. Can you let me know how to do that?

  23. Amy, I’ll contribute 3 signed copies of The Pillow Book (or any of my other books, if the person’s not into pillows)… Paypal’ing Symeon now.

  24. countryelvis4 says:

    I’d love to contribute somehow but don’t have her email address to do the paypal thing. So, if you can email the address I’d send something right along. Also, let her know that I have a small trailer in my field in central VT that they can use if they want/need to.

  25. I’d like to donate some crochet patterns.. they work with just about any heavy worsted yarn, so let me know.

  26. Coconuthead says:

    THANK YOU for saying something. I’ll try and scrape together a little something to send her way. I only met her once (mamagathering), but I’ve sure been missing her online presence a lot. She’s a lovely person.

  27. Helen says:

    On the cop problem. I find that winding the yarn once or twice tightly at the bottom of the cone before taking it up to the hook will usually keep it from tangling under the hook.

  28. Ah yes! Just like we discussed at Spa. I’m SOOOOO glad you are doing this, because I think of her often. I’m pretty sure I have her gmail so I’ll send something. Also, let me know if there’s anything I can do for the auction. Sock WIP bags? Stash? If I don’t hear from you, I’ll find you on Saturday.

  29. Cheryl says:

    Oh no, what a situation! I’ll be watching for the auctions, and do let me know if you want any handspun or anything to flesh out the donations. . .

  30. Mama-E says:

    Hey Amy…
    I can donate anything that you may need.
    E

  31. Theo says:

    I too would like a paypal address to send her something. Thanks for your big heart!

  32. Can we PayPal you to pass on to her? Please advise.

    Thanks, Amy, for doing this.

  33. Wanda says:

    I would love to donate by PayPal, but I do not have her email address. Is it possible to PayPal you? Thanks.

  34. Dianne says:

    Thanks for the update. I’m a lurker and had also been wondering where Pippi has been. Please send the paypal addy so I can send along some moolah and please let us know who (user id) will be doing the eBay auctions. I’ll keep an eye out for them

    Thanks for doing this,
    Dianne

  35. michelle says:

    I know it’s probably to late to send anything for the auction – but I would love to contribute to her directly. I’m guessing it’s her business name (pippikneesocks) at gmail? Please let me know.

  36. shannon says:

    heya…
    is it possible i can contribute an item to be auctioned off? that would be the easiest way for me to help right now. please let me know.
    thanks!
    shannon

  37. Becky says:

    Hi. I have no idea who Pippi is but we should always take care of our own when we can. I’d be happy to give some of my handdyed roving for the auction. Email me the information of what I need to do. Take care.

  38. kelli ann says:

    i would really like to send something too
    i have enjoyed reading pippi from time to time but have not checked her site in forever:: if you send me a mailing address i’ll send a money order — my own gmail address starts with ferrigan.kelli

    best luck

  39. Kay says:

    Hi, I can’t find the auctions but would rather just have the gmail address anyway, if you could send it to me.

    Thanks,
    Kay

  40. I have been wondering for a long while where Pippi got to. I emailed her months ago to see if everything was okay but got no reply. I’m glad you filled in some of the blanks, Amy. I’d be happy to donate rovings or whatever to help out. The gmail address would be nice to have, too. Thanks.

Leave a Reply

