300miles vs. Daffodil

For Mother’s Day the family took me to NH Sheep and Wool. On the way out of town we stopped at Jay’s Mom’s to wish my MIL a happy Mother’s Day and 7goingon20 picked a Daffodil. Our car was obviously in need of decorating so she tied it to the antenna. 300 miles later and it’s still attached, though not as pretty as it started out.
daffodilvs300mi

We Watched dog trials and pet sheep and alpaca. I begged Husbeast to let me take home this little tiny Shetland lamb. It totally would have fit in my bag and it was adorable. If only my Mom had come with me, we’d have come home with a sheep because he really was almost too much to leave behind. Especially when he stuck his nose out of the pen to get at Baby Boogie and 7goingon20. Alas, we really need to get a decent barn built first (no surprise sheep aunt Nancy).

We spent most of our time walking outside of the vending areas. The kids didn’t want to be in there and I wanted the day to be good for them too. I think the day was fun because who would have a bad time petting animals and watching the dogs herd. These are things I don’t usually get to do when I’m vending. It was good. Hopefully those that I ran into and didn’t get a chance to talk to, they’ll be at another festival this summer where I can catch up with them then.

I did get a chance to say hi to a few people and to stop in and see Sheila Bosworth, who helped me pick out the pair of Bossies and a ply spindle that I posted about last week. She was busy chatting so I decided I needed to look at the spindles a bit while waiting. Who could resist? They were all lovely but I knew I wanted a Tulipwood and was just going to wait and then I saw a spindle someone else was holding…and then she put it back….. in my hand….and once it was there….. it was mine.
boss_min_amboyna
It’s a 21 gram Amboyna Whorl with a long Bloodwood shaft. Simply gorgeous. And I’ll wait until MA then pick out a match.  I had planned on one more pair for doing some lighter weight spinning.  Then the only pair I don’t have is a pair for lace spinning…

I made another spindle related purchase last week. Related as in, not a spindle. Joann’s had all these wonderful wine gifting containers. Perfect transport for a spindle, they’re really quite sturdy and they’re not bad looking. I chose this one because my tattoo says “live, laugh, love”. It was meant to be.
spindlecase
I used to just carry around my spindle in a bag and make every effort to be careful with it. But let’s face it, I’m a clutz. In all seriousness, it seems like the harder I try to be graceful, the less I am. The case is a good thing.

I can fit in a fair amount of wool and all but the big Mjolinor will fit in there.
spindlecasein
I packed in my Lotus project and away we went. Though some may think I am traveling everywhere I go with a bottle of wine.

This entry was posted in family, spinning. Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to 300miles vs. Daffodil

  1. Scott says:

    Daffi-O-Dil sitting on the hill,
    Yellow, white and green.
    He pokes his head out,
    Looks all about,
    Just waiting to be seen.

    Daffodils and Jonquils are some of my favorite flowers. They always make me think of spring.

    You’re making me jealous with all these spindles. I fully intend to get a new one myself when I get home next month.

  2. PuppyMomma says:

    Bah, who cares if you go everywhere with a bottle of wine? Theres days I’d like to.

    I almost bought a Bosworth spindle at MDS&W this year, but none of them really spoke to me, so I’ll wait. Glad to hear you had a good mommy’s day.

  3. LaBean says:

    I love the wine container idea though. It definitely keeps you from smashing the contents.. Too bad they don’t come a bit shorter, they’d be great for circular needle projects too. Or maybe I could fit a bigger item like a shawl in there.

    I’m glad you had a great mother’s day. Mine was not so hot. I gotta give it to that Daffodil though, she was holding on for dear life. That’s a trooper, if I ever saw one. lol

  4. Amy O' says:

    OK, you almost took home a little lamb, but did you see those 2 OMG-they-are-so-precious 3 week old goats? Aww… they were just too cute! And even their little horns were coming in. Nice to see you yesterday!

  5. nana nancy says:

    I need to talk with the girls 2 tiny shetland lambs or 2 OMG goats you don’t need Mom I can help you if its in() i don’t read it see you soon

  6. Jennifer says:

    What a gorgeous spindle!

    I’m surprised the daffodil stayed so well put!

  7. Amy says:

    poor little flower. those babies sound so cute!

  8. Lucia says:

    That is brilliant! It was lovely to see you, however briefly. I’ll get Miss B busy considering her color options.

  9. marta says:

    What a lovely spindle carrier! They always make the little sheepies, goaties and bunnies adorable when you go to wool festivals. That’s exactly how I got sucked into the angora bunny bit..two turned into 12 in a lovely shaded bun-run out in the back. I do miss them them now that they’re all gone. The sheep dog trials are the best – it’s amazing what those dogs can do! Sounds like you (and MIL) had a great Mother’s Day. Sheila and I have had a nice email/post friendship over several years..feel like I know her as I do about you – some day I’ll make it out there for the Sheep and Wool fest and put faces to the names and wonderful sites/messages. Enjoy your new Bosworth – they’re the best!

  10. cheryl says:

    Oh. My. You are a _genius_! I’ve been trying to come up with a nice way of transporting my spindles for a few months and came up with absolutely nothing. This is such a masterstroke!! And I love that fact that you can cram some fiber in there as well. Woot!

    And I’m also such a sucker for cute little sweet baby animals! When I first told my husband that I wanted a spinning wheel his first response was “We are not getting any sheep.” How did he know?

  11. Expatknits says:

    Love that Bossie! I’m thinking of getting a wine gift box for my spindles as well, it looks like the best way to make sure I don’t bend a hook or break a spindle shaft. I’m another one of those for whom grace is an unattainable dream ;-)

  12. Terry says:

    Oooh! your spindles are soooo beautiful. I understand how that one from Sheila’s booth “spoke” to you. Maybe the Pope will also say it’s “okay” that spinners believe spindles can talk to us :)

  13. Sara Malmquist says:

    Just wanted to say that it is great that i have found a way to keep up with what you are doing.
    Luv Ya , the swede

Leave a Reply

