Books

Books are a good thing. I love books, all books. I cram books in all over the place.
bookshelf
I’ll be one of those old ladies that they’ll come to get when I can’t take care of myself anymore and all you’ll see in my house will be stacks of books topped with baskets of fiber and yarn…..

There is a special place in the living room for the fiber loving books. A bookshelf and then they’re still all over the place.
booksattable
You never know when you’re going to have to look something up. Not that I need to knit it right away but maybe I talked about it to someone, or maybe I needed to prove something to myself. Or sometimes I want to mentally knit with my stash.

I have a good stack of stitch reference books.
bookshelfknit1
All the Barbara Walkers, a few Harmonies and 2 old ones from my Gram. I find these to be invaluable. I look at all of them all the time. Sometimes I’m actually designing something and need a stitch and sometimes I just want to look and pretend I’m designing something. Do you catch a theme? I imagine myself knitting a lot. I do this because in my imagination it only takes a few minutes to knit a sweater. The closet in my brain is full of gorgeous finished sweaters.

And then there are the pattern books and magazines.
bookshelfknit2
A few are from Gram’s stash when she stopped knitting but most of them I’ve collected over time. You can see that I had a thing for socks, mittens, fair isle….. I run in spurts with my pattern collecting. I seem to be on a sweater spurt but I feel a lace one coming soon. And anyone that noticed my Ravelry queue last week can attest to the upcoming lace spurt. The lace spurt was spawned by my latest spindling crazy and pushed on further by Julia and her lace set up….

But back to books. I have a couple of spinning books in my library. A couple I keep at the shop because they’re good all around spinning books and I keep them at the store for people to use just in case I am out of stock. Some spinning books are good “how to’s”. Some are more about knitting than spinning and some are really pretty coffee table style books.

Soon on this shelf of spinning books, will be my book. Interweave signed me on at the beginning of the year and I’ve handed in half already. The book will be published in the spring of 2009 and will be a how to book that covers yarns from singles, to plies, to novelties. That makes it sound short but really, it’s going to be jam packed. The book will be a good collection of all the yarns I want to go on and on and on about. With lots of pictures and good how-to’s. My hope is that it will be a really good keeper. I have a feeling I’ll have to edit pages out, I’m a little wordy and want to include it all. I swear I could write a 500 page book and still miss yarns that I want to talk about.

Every time someone online is yearning for a good how to intermediate book I keep wanting to tell them to hang on, it’s coming. So now you know. Hang on, it’s coming!

This entry was posted in life. Bookmark the permalink.

62 Responses to Books

  1. Cindy/Snid says:

    That’s awesome! Many congrats and I can;t wait to see it!

  2. Amy O' says:

    YEAH! That is terrific, Amy! I can’t wait to get my hands on it! (oh, and are you going to have the shop open on Memorial Day Weekend at all? we’re headed up to West Gardner…)

  3. PuppyMomma says:

    Hooray! I knew you could do it! I’ll take 3 copies. One for upstairs, one for downstairs and one for by where I knit, ok?

    BTW, your shelves look like mine. Collapsing under the weight of all the books.

  4. Scott says:

    Books, books, look at all the books,
    Books on shelves and books in nooks,
    What would I do if I didn’t have books?

    I love books too, and have the sagging shelves to prove it. Sign me up right now for a signed copy. Mindy and I have only be knitting for 2 years and I’ve been spinning for just over 6 months, but we already have quite a collection of fiber related books.

  5. Faith says:

    I never pre-order anything, but as soon as this goes up on Amazon, I’m going for it! (i.e. let us know the title as soon as you know!!!)

  6. Karen says:

    Congratulations, Amy! What exciting news :-)

  7. nana nancy says:

    Its about time you let the world know. see you soon

  8. Jenny says:

    That is awesome! I will definitely be getting your book.

  9. Monika says:

    That’s fantastic news! What amazes me even more is, that you have time to do that and so much more! How many hours do you sleep? At all? I’m looking forward to your book, because, like you, I’ve them all around me. :o)

  10. P-la says:

    Congratulations!!! I look forward to adding your book to my library!

  11. Scott says:

    I’m beginning to suspect that Amy is something slightly more than human. It’s either that or there is more than one of her, and none of us have realized it yet. :)

  12. Amelia says:

    That’s terrific! I can’t wait to see the book! Love all the shots of your library … reminds me of my own.

  13. Leah says:

    We know it’ll be a keeper…We want it now! Okay, we will wait, but not very patiently.

    Thank you for doing this, it will be exciting to see and I definitely want a copy!

  14. Malin says:

    Congratulations! I love books too and I’m looking forward to yours :-)

  15. Lynne E. says:

    Absolutely fabulous! Your blog always has the best commentary on wheels and spinning, and you’ve signed with the best publisher, so we can expect a superlative book!

  16. Josiane says:

    Congratulations on the book deal with Interweave! I’m really looking forward to adding that one to my library!

  17. Cheryl says:

    That’s huge! Congratulations, that’s so exciting! I’ll be looking forward to it.

  18. Petunia says:

    Thank you. I will! (And Congrats!)

  19. Janis says:

    Ooooh, I will most eagerly acquire your book when it comes out. :)

  20. HollyEQQ says:

    Congrats!!! I am sure it will be awesome!

  21. Wendy says:

    Awesome news! I can’t wait to pre-order it! Then I won’t be able to wait to have it! Then I won’t be able to wait to do something from it! ;)

  22. Danielle says:

    Congratulations! This is exciting, and it will be a great book, I’m sure!

  23. Bridget says:

    Congrats! I forgive you for writing a spinning book before a knitting book. ;-)

  24. jillian says:

    Hooray!
    Congratulations I can’t wait to see it!

  25. Nonnahs says:

    How very exciting! Congratulations!!

  26. Lynn says:

    Woot, a book! Yay! I always want more good fiber books, I need a fix at least every two weeks.

    And I’m glad to know I’m not the only one who thinks it only takes a week, maybe two, tops, to knit a sweater. Ha! Very Ha!

  27. farm-witch says:

    Hey, hey – congratulations, boogie! I can’t wait to see your book!

    and, uh,I have a bit of a book addiction as well – it continues to astound me that we have so much in common- wanna play fiber games together sometime?

  28. Brittani says:

    Congratulations Boogie! I can’t wait to get my greedy little hands on it :)

  29. Chesley says:

    Fabulous news! I desperately need this book to figure out what the heck I’m doing on the wheel. In the meantime, I’ll keep playing with all the gorgeous Spunky fiber until it comes out. Congrats a million times over!

  30. Bad Hippie says:

    Ah-ha, so that’s what you’ve been keeping a secret!

    Congratulations. I’m still not a spinner, but you can bet I’ll buy your book!

  31. Juno says:

    Hey, that’s fantastic. Congratulations ! Can;t wait to add it to MY collection.

  32. ooooh
    i’d like to pre-order it NOW please!!!
    that’s awesome news!

  33. I’m as stoked for this book as I’d be if I were writing a book. More so, actually, because this way you do all the work.

    I demand you sign my copy, of course.

  34. Amy says:

    HOORAY!!!! I bet it will be the bestest book ever :D I think I might need two copies, one to keep all nice and neat and another to dog-ear and cover in post-its!

  35. maryse says:

    YES!!! i’m so happy for you! and i’m also happy for myself, because now i’m going to get myself a proper spinning book. of course it can’t come soon enough.

    feel free to leave a copy in my car ;)

  36. Jennifer says:

    Oh Wow! Congratulations! I can’t wait to peruse it.

  37. Hattie says:

    Sounds like a great book. One I need too. I’m sorta stuck on one basic type of yarn, in only slightly varying thicknesses, and want to branch out eventually!

  38. Congratulations! I’m looking forward to it. :)

  39. David says:

    WOW! Sign me up for a copy. It’ll be great to have your collected wisdom and advice available!

  40. Barb says:

    Hi Amy,
    Since you are the one who taught me to spin last year at MA Sheep and Wool, I am so excited that you will be publishing a book. I just got a Louet wheel and I love it. I will send you a picture of my first plied yarn. Can you tell I am so happy for you. Congratulations!!!

  41. Sara says:

    You know how freaking excited I am about your book already!!!!!

  42. Iko says:

    YAY!

    Congratulations! I can’t wait to get my hands on a first edition.

  43. Aileen says:

    CONGRATS!

    About Spring 2009 I should be reaching the intermediate level, so it will be right on time.

    I hope you are celebrating big. This is awesome!

  44. Brenda says:

    Congratulations! It will be right up my alley, now that I took that class from you and I’m not a beginner anymore ;-)

  45. Lisa says:

    How exciting! Congratulations. I’m always happy to see new fiber books!

  46. Manise says:

    Congratulations and how exciting! Looking forward to seeing it out in print!

  47. marissa says:

    Congratulations and Good For You!
    However, this my be the final impetus to get me into spinning…which I have managed to avoid ‘lo these many years….
    my hubby is NOT going to be in your fan club!

  48. Twigletqueen says:

    Oh my gosh,knitting and books,my twin obsessions. I am slightly drooling over your collection now. Mmm…yarnbooks…

  49. Mary C. says:

    Fantastic, fantastic, fantastic. And exactly what I’ve been looking for. Attempted singles for the club fibre this month, but zoned out for a minute and ended up with chunky 2-ply – the feet and the hands heading back to their preferred territory while the brain went somewhere else. A little guidance would be a very good thing. Congratulations.

  50. Wendy says:

    Can’t wait!!!

  51. Beth S. says:

    This is such fabulous news–and how did you ever keep this secret to yourself for so long? :-D

    I can’t wait for my copy. SO exciting! :-)

  52. Stephanie says:

    This sounds like a great book. I was dreaming my way through knitting land and thinking about this kind of book. Can’t wait to see it in its final form. I also want a signed copy…..

  53. elizabeth says:

    Congratulations! And thanks to your queue, I’ve just added several new lace patterns to mine!

  54. JessaLu says:

    Congratulations :o)

  55. wendy says:

    congratulations!!!!

  56. Gigi says:

    OMG, Amy. Congratulations on the book deal!!!

  57. Debbie says:

    This is awesome news! Congratulations! I love the pictures of your books in your house. It looks my my house. Yea!

  58. marta says:

    Wow wowie wow wow wow! You are such a tease! I can’t wait for the final book! That is sooooo awesome!

  59. Yipeeeee! I can’t wait until it comes out! That is so exciting!

  60. Andrea says:

    I don’t know how or why I missed this information until today, but congratulations – I love your patterns so I am sure your book on yarns and such will be incredible! Way to go!!

    Andrea

  61. Annalea says:

    So, when your book comes out, I hope I’ll need it. ;o) But, in the mean time, I need a good beginning spinning book. One that covers the absolute basics and then some, and isn’t part of the “For Dummies” series. Something that gets a new spinner going, and is a good springboard for more. Something written intelligently and engagingly. Something fun to read, as well as informative.

    lol Is this too much?

    I figured if anyone would know, it would be you. :o)

Leave a Reply

