Porridge

Not like you need a recipe for rice porridge. It’s been one of my choice breakfasts of late. Sometimes I have a Kale smoothie and sometimes I have porridge. Basically for dinners we will use one cup of rice (uncooked measurement). I will make 2 cups though. When supper is done, I’ll add 2 more cups of water to the rice left in the cooker and turn it on low for another 30 minutes to an hour. Until all the rice has gotten fat, split and starts to break down into what looks like porridge. This will be breakfast for a few days. It keeps well and reheats just fine.  If you’re looking for a quick breakfast, this is a good candidate.
porridge
I take a bit of the porridge, add some syrup or honey and a few cranberries or strawberries if I have them. There we go. Simple yummy breakfast.

Speaking of yummy….
enchantedswallowtail1
That’s the Enchanted yarn I’ve been spinning from Enchanted Knoll’s Batt club. The real name of the batts I think were Wood elves… Don’t quote me on that, I never get it right. The shawl pattern s swallowtail. I have 450 yards spindle spun up and plied, I have another 100 or so of singles that are waiting for the last 100 so I can ply them. My spindling time was low when club was shipping (I work in the morning instead of walking on the treadmill). Hopefully I’ll finish up spinning this week, though I probably won’t need them since the shawl calls for less yarn. I might actually get 2 projects out of it or maybe modify the shawl to make it larger…..

And for those celebrating – Have a Happy Cinco de Mayo!

This entry was posted in Knitting, recipes, spinning. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Porridge

  1. Scott says:

    Rice porridge hot,
    Rice porridge cold,
    Rice porridge in the pot,
    Nine days old;
    Some like it hot,
    Some like it cold,
    Some like it in the pot,
    Nine days old.

    Sorry couldn’t resist the opening. I too like rice porridge, but I make mine with milk and cinnamon.

  2. Amy says:

    My dad always called it rice treat and I remember begging him to make it for breakfast when I was little.

    That shawl is looking great so far! I love the colors

  3. Monika says:

    Good idea for rice left overs! Lovely colors for your shawl. It’s one of my favorites.

  4. The colors in your swallowtail are absolutely beautiful.

    I like rice pudding, so I might like rice porridge…

  5. Jennifer says:

    I love how that batt spun up! Gorgeous.

  6. OOH, I love your shawl with your spindle spun. (I’ve put my spindle spinning on hold for now….I’m so impatient that I need the fast wheel results.) Just love the colors of your handspun ; )

Leave a Reply

