new mug

I had to get a new mug for my desk. Or rather, you could call it an old mug. It’s from my stoneware days as a potter.
newmug
It’s not to drink out of though. I had one jar that held pens, DP’s and the spindles. The Spindles had started to take over so I had to get a new mug.
mugofspindles
In case you haven’t been paying attention lately, I’ve been on a big spindle binge. Well, I’ve been on a spinning binge in general and I don’t want to drag wheels around. So I’ve really latched onto the spindles a bit more. I take them wherever I go and I spin spin spin. I keep a bunch at my desk because some programs take a while so I spin while waiting. Sometimes I spin while readiing blogs or Rav (that is when I get a chance to do either).

The latest (and last until I get to fiber shows) are the Bosworths I just got in. I decided that if I’m spinning so much, I need spindles in pairs. It was a real revelation for me. What I do is make singles, pull fiber off to make another set of singles and then ply them. I’m ok with it, but I thought wouldn’t it be cool to have 2 spindles that were the same weight and spun the same and then I could ply from that. It was a real “aha” moment for me.

So I contacted Sheila and she helped me out. This is my new set of Bosworths:
bos_set
Midi Red Cedar and Sapele Mahogany (22g) to make singles and a Maxi Tulipwood (58g) for plying. They are without fiber at the moment because I can’t decide what I want to put on them. Or rather what the outcome I want is.

I’ve decided I want more shawls so that’s what all this spindling is going towards. And I prefer to spindle spin from batts. And I prefer to have shawls that are at least fingering weight. Any thinner and they feel too delicate for me. I wear a shawl for warmth more so than fashion. Anything lace weight just doesn’t do anything for me…. This all led to me deciding I had to make the Lotus Blossom.

Which led to this fiber:
lotusbegins
And I had to sample it with the spindle at hand which is a fantastic Greensleeves Katherine’s Cup. You can see the yarn isn’t extremely even:
lotusbegins_closeup
Which is what I was going for with the layered batt. I wanted it to be mostly greeny/grey with sparks of black, pink, burgundy, and a touch of blue in it. The way that the Lotus shawl is, I think it will lend itself quite well to this. And it will be a thicker one too. I’m spinning up a sport weight or so.

I’ve been carding like crazy lately so it shouldn’t take long for me to find something else for the Bossies to do….

Speaking of carding, there will be an update this afternoon. Keep your eye out for it. There are batts from me, Batts from Franquemont Fibers, More top, and of course the colorway sale of the month color goes up.

oh, and if you want to see more of my spindles, check out my new SPINDLE GROUP on flickr. I’m trying to be organized.

This entry was posted in spinning. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to new mug

  1. Scott says:

    I have finally started to really appreciate spindling thanks to the loaner you sent me Amy. I will have to get a mjolinar when I get home. The single I have started on my turkish is SO fine that it may take a LONG time for me to get around to finishing the whole 4 oz.

  2. nana nancy says:

    Please finish the shawl gray with colorful specks So I can invite it to go on my vacation need to be done by middle of July

  3. Loopykd says:

    I love the look of your spindles and your spinning on them. I think you have inspired me to buy some more spindles when I go to Black Sheep in June. God knows I have enough fiber to spin more than on my wheel!

  4. Amy says:

    I love that fiber for that shawl. It will be beautiful. I think spindling is starting to grow on me.

  5. Jennifer says:

    Oooo, Bossies… I love my Bosworth spindles! I like the idea of a set too. That would make plying a bit easier.

  6. Scott says:

    Those are some great batts. I can’t wait to get home so I can do some batting of my own. I’m gonna have to rent a drum carder from you so I can make some fibery goodness too.

  7. Julia says:

    I just spent about 45 minutes wandering dreamily through your spindle collection – so pretty! I need a natalie, a forrester, and some bosworths now, damn you! I have been doing a lot of wheel spinning, but may need to just spindle today. Your shawl plan sounds lovely, too. Have a great weekend!

Leave a Reply

