Squash…

Normally this would be an autumn dish but I just had to have some now. On our weekend away I had a dish of roasted squash soup that was just incredible so I really wanted to reproduce it. I think I got it pretty close. This makes a big batch so you can cut it in half or make it all and freeze some.

Roasted Squash Soup
roastedsquashsoup
1 Butternut squash
2 acorn squash
Garlic minced
onions minced
Parsley
olive Oil
2 cups of Veggie Stock

Wash then cut in half the squashes. Scoop out the seeds. Drizzle the cut side with olive oil then liberally sprinkle on the onions and garlic. Cover and put into the oven at 250F for about 3 hours or until it’s soft when you pierce it with a fork. Let it cool a bit. Scoop it out of the shell. Throw it in the blender with the Veggie stock – blend smooth. Serve hot with a sprinkle of parsley. If you want it to be a little more rich, you can add sour cream or regular cream. Though, I think regular cream makes it a little more sweet and desert like.

I’ve been eating small bowls of it with a large salad. It makes a great lunch.

Knitting and Spinning
I’ve been wanting to spin far more than knit lately. I suppose my block is the ten million swatches I need to do. Ok, maybe not ten million. I’m just not a swatch gal. I swear I can do a pair of mittens in the time it takes me to one swatch. Especially if you count in the procrastinating.

I’ve got 4 bobbins full of the Merino Bamboo I showed off a little while ago:
sosr_mb

I also took time repairing and rearranged my wheels. The shop and the living room were feeling crowded with my wheels. So I moved the big Jensen home and the Indian Head spinner downstairs. The Indian head was broken and I had some work to do to make it work right and I’m pleased with the fix I did even though it’s not the prettiest. The Ashford that was living down there in a corner got pulled out and got her new quill head. That thing is a blast to use. This is the space I cleared out for them all.
newsetupdownstairs
If you go to the flickr picture you’ll see a bunch of notes. We don’t wind yarn here anymore so the wheels were able to take that space. Eventually husbeast will take over this area of the basement when I get my dye shop moved. Then the wheels will either have to go in some sort of storage situation or I’ll have to make some room in sewing room.

All the while I’m working on an update. And I”ll have batts in the update. If you use my rolag tutorial from last week, you’ll be able to get a self striping yarn from the new triple play batts. I wound my yarn on the shaft so you could see the color changes.
spndleofstripebatts
I had hoped to have the update done last week because I’m working on club now. So I may not get it all done until next week now. I know that’s cruel to tease you and leave you hanging….

This entry was posted in recipes, spinning, Spunky Eclectic. Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Squash…

  1. Scott says:

    That squash soup sounds really good, and I’m not really a squash person. I bet it would be good with some Kefir rather than cream or sour cream.

    Also, I can’t wait to see the triple layer batts.

  2. Amy says:

    Beautiful bunches of fiber! What is a group of spinning wheels called? Are they a herd of wheels, a pod of wheels, a pack of wheels? Which one is the alpha wheel?

  3. Loopykd says:

    Wow, look at you! What you won’t do to swatch! I love the photo of the squash, but personally, I can’t stand squash. Looks beautiful and lucious and makes me interested to try it though. That’s the first step to eating it in my experience. Thanks a lot!

  4. suzanne says:

    ::ears perk up:: Triple Play Batts? Did you say the magic words? Why yes, yes you did!

    Glee!

  5. Sonya says:

    I will be saving that squash recipe, it sounds wonderful.

  6. Knittacia says:

    Thank you so much for that recipe. It is all gluten free and dairy free, so it is perfect for my complicated diet. I will just have to ask someone what does ingredients is called in Norwegian, and I am ready to cook!

  7. 4 Bobbins of merino/bamboo….cool! I’ve actually felt the spinning fever more lately, which seems odd with it being spring and not fall, but I’m just going with it! That picture of your spinning wheels is great. The sight of my wheels in the living room always cheers me up, even if they’re full of unfinished spinning : P

  8. Jennifer says:

    Mmmm, squash soup! Yummy!

  9. alke says:

    You know it’s cruel, but you can’t resist, can you?
    Oh boy, you know it works!
    lol

  10. Lucia says:

    Hey, you know what? I can eat everything in that recipe. And it looks so yummy.

    You are a tease of the worst description.

  11. tanya says:

    Not only does the soup look yummy but the fiber looks like delicious caramel. Must be time to eat lunch :)

Leave a Reply

