H is for…..

ABC_2008_button

HOCKEY!
The only big market hockey being played at the moment are the playoffs. My Bruins just saved their butts last night with a win. They are one game away from being eliminated.

It’s near the end of the season. After June, there will be no hockey until October. That’s a hard time for the husbeast. He’s such a big hockey fanatic that he used to tape the entire play off series and watch them again over the summer. We have some really old series in a box somewhere around here.

Part of hockey fandom is having jerseys. Husbeast has quite a few but his favorite team is the Buffalo Sabres and the hometown AHL team is the Portland Pirates.
hockey_sabrespirates
Both of his jerseys are now out of date. The Sabres have had 2 logo changes since, and the Pirates had a logo change just after I bought this jersey for Husbeast’s birthday one year.

hockey_bruinsmarners
The first hockey game I ever went was the Maine Mariners. For any hockey fan out there, you may remember how long ago it was that the Mariners played. Jerseys were really hard to find and this one is one that Husbeast bought me for Christmas a couple of years ago. And as mentioned above, the Bruins are the team I root for.

Not everyone loves their teams logo and jersey. Many fans of the Sabres are calling the new logo, the Buffalo Slug. Still, it’s the team and the game that is foremost and we’ll all still sport the jersey in support of our favorite teams.

Go BRUINS!

This entry was posted in ABC-along. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to H is for…..

  1. Amy says:

    I didn’t know the hockey season went so late into spring. Go Team!

  2. JenCW says:

    Holy christmas!! I remember the Mainers! I think they went out while I was still in High School. And that would be…. years ago!!!

  3. Mel says:

    I love Hockey, even though I usually just catch bits and pieces of games on TV. I’m rooting for the Red Wings though. GO Wings!

  4. JenCW says:

    That should have read MARINERS, not the “mainers”… course I remember them too. Crazy lot they are!

  5. I hadn’t thought of the Mariners in years! I used to go to the games with my dad. I wasn’t a huge fan of hockey, but I really liked hanging out with my father. Thanks for the neat memory!

  6. Danielle says:

    I went to a college with no football team, and the hockey team was the go-to sport. Perfectly fine with me!

  7. Anne says:

    I will wish your boys well – until and if they had to play my Avs, at which point, NO MORE! ; ) I’m with your husband though.. once hockey season is over it’s like.. um.. kay… now what?

Leave a Reply

