Batts

Every now and then I get questioned – How do you spin from a batt?
My answer: It depends on the batt.

Is the batt completely blended like this?:
rolagging_purplebatt
Or more of a layered type batt like this?:
rolagging_batt
There are 2 main methods I use, stripping or rolagging (yes that’s my made up word, I’ve turned the noun rolag into a verb). For the blended batts, I use the method I feel like at the moment. For layered batts I usually rolag it.

You probably know how to strip batts, it’s the same as you would for top or roving. Just strip it. For rolagging the easiest way is to place a ruler or a piece of tile (something with a straight edge) about 3-4 inches down a batt that’s been opened up. Grab it and tear:
rollagging
Ok, so here I’m not using a straight edge but it was hard enough to take this photo myself let alone try to control a straight edge.

Roll into pretty little rolags.
rollagging_flower

Then you spin from the end as if it was a real little rolag that you made on a set of hand cards.
rolagging_baker

**notes – The blended batt was from my own shop which I have at the physical location but have yet to list online. The Layered batt is from Enchanted Knolls Happy Hooves Batt club. They are a joy to spin. The spindle is a Cascade Baker.

Businessy note: I’m away from the shop this weekend. Emails will be answered and packages will be shipped on Monday. Have a great weekend everyone!

This entry was posted in spinning, Spunky Eclectic. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Batts

  1. Joni says:

    Hope your weekend is happy wherever you are. :)

  2. Rebekkah says:

    Oh, interesting! I’d never thought of trying to just roll rolags without carders. (Not that I’ve done it with carders, either. I am a rolag and batt virgin.) I may have to try that before I decide whether I want to buy cards…

  3. Amy says:

    pretty pretty!

  4. Great tips! I do love batts (I think they’re prettier…like cotton candy), but I sometimes end up buying rovings or tops instead, just because I had a hard time stripping the batts and rovings/tops are a cinch. This helps alot! Thanks ; )

  5. Loopykd says:

    Excellent information, as usual. Enjoy your weekend away!

  6. Maggie says:

    Thanks! Now I actually feel like I can buy all those gorgeous batts I see on Etsy constantly :)

  7. Sara says:

    How was your vacation??

  8. Wendy says:

    I’m going to try the rolag thing with my next batt. I did the first one split and then I can ply them together. Thanks!

  9. Scott says:

    Amy makes some beautiful batts as well. She often has more in the shop than what is on the website.

  10. Nirelle says:

    Very useful information about rolags. How do you split (is that the same as strip) batts evenly so you do not end up with a very thin end and uneven stripps? I open the batts and then try to split them into stripps somewhat wider than a pencil and end up with very uneven results – frustrating bits pulling from sides, and wherever you please, making holes in the batts. Thanks for your advice.
    Nirelle

Leave a Reply

