Crazy Pants

Some of you may think that I’m the one that wears the crazy pants in my family. You would be wrong.
crazyboots
The pants themselves may not be crazy on Baby Boogie but the feet are. She’s had a thing about wearing her boots almost constantly. They are the first thing she puts on in the morning and the last thing she wants off at night. She scrambles and gets frantic if she can’t find a pair to put on. This is not the crazy part.

I’ve been sick of her wearing the boots on the couch. I pulled them off the other day and within minutes a fight ensued. Not a fight with me, but a fight of the feet. That’s right. When her shoes are off, left foot and right foot have an all out drag out argument included kicking.

Put the boots on and the fighting stops!

I would have thought this to be a silly one time game. Something the girl did just to occupy her bootless feet. Nope. Those little feet get near each other and they’re having an argument. How many people have feet that can’t get along with one another?

I feel for her having such a problem with her feet. I decided to cast on for her sweater. We sat down yesterday (boots on, so we wouldn’t be interrupted) and discussed what she wanted. Blue with Buttons. Then we sat with a few patterns and she chose the Baby Surprise.
bsj_blue

I’m worried that summer sandals won’t be enough to keep the feet from fighting….

This entry was posted in family, Knitting. Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to Crazy Pants

  1. Scott says:

    ROFLMAO! Your family provides no end of entertainment. I can see why you would want to work at home.

  2. Joni says:

    Ha ha ha! you might have to cut vents in an older pair of boots. Or find her some little desert boots.

  3. anj says:

    that is a hoot! I would worry about summer too!!! perhaps baby crocs? (not that I even know if they exist)

  4. PuppyMomma says:

    Fightey feet. Definite problem. I only worry about fightey thighs. But fightey feet? That could prevent walking.

  5. Amy says:

    my sister wore a pair of boots for an entire year. When she out grew those ones, she insisted on getting the exact same boots in a bigger size! I don’t know if it was to keep her feet from fighting or if it was the pink fringe on the back. I wonder if she remembers that? I think I feel some family entertainment :D

  6. Faith says:

    That is hilarious! I’ve never heard of such a thing. The colors of the sweater look gorgeous.

  7. nana nancy says:

    What size is she she needs more varity i know were I can get baby crocs

  8. Adrian says:

    I have a feeling her toes will be able to talk smack to each other with only sandals on.

  9. heather says:

    Hmmm, maybe it is an interaction between the gravitational forces between her feet (think moon + earth) and the boots some how shield this interaction…sandals may not be enough! Bring on the clogs!

  10. Oh, I LOVE those boots! Always wanted to get some of those cute ones.

    My Ben has the opposite problem that Baby Boogie has….he hates having shoes on at any time and goes barefoot even in the winter! (well, around the house anyway) He’s somewhat opposed to socks, too, but has consented a few times to wear the ones that I knit for him…and maybe Diego socks.

    Kids sure are kooky! (especially if their Mamas are, too…he he)

  11. Betsy says:

    How does she sleep? boots on or boots off?
    The boots int he summer may bring on a whole new problem…………….stinky mcstinkerton feet!!!!

  12. Ronni says:

    Clearly what she needs is some Fuzzy Feet (that’s a Knitty pattern isn’t it?) or similar for couch foot control. Or there’s always the foot pillow from Ikea. http://www.ikea.com/us/en/catalog/products/80129914

  13. Jennifer says:

    Oh dear. I wonder how the feud got started?

  14. Twigletqueen says:

    Oh my God the purple boots! I want those purple boots! Damn my adult sized feet.

  15. yvette says:

    Oh that is so funny, no3 wore welly boots for a long time, including with pyjamas, he had quite a collection, action man camo for out to play, green to wear while walking the dog, black or navy to go to pre-school, green frog for home and red to match his helmet for riding his bike, which he didn’t actually ride he just sat on in the garden ;0) Thanks for the reminder that kids are definitely kooky ;0)

  16. PuppyMomma says:

    OMG. Adrian’s comment almost made me pee I was laughing so hard.

  17. Sara says:

    She is so freaking adorable!!

    I think crocs will be needed for summertime!!

  18. Lucia says:

    She’s got some cool boots — I don’t know that I’d want to take them off either. But fighting feet? That’s a new one.

  19. farm-witch says:

    Oh my, that’s funny!

    Thing 2’s feet didn’t fight but they apparently felt very sad without his mud boots on from about age 2-4. Literally! We lived in N. Maine on a small farm and the kid wore his mud boots with shorts all summer long. I tried to be firm and take them away from him – ONCE. But, he cried. And cried. And I felt like a rigid, mean mama – so I gave them back and rode out the raised eyebrows from the neighbors!

  20. Monika says:

    That’s sooo cute!

  21. dana says:

    thats really cute

Leave a Reply

