I Finished

a book.
I finished a book.
Not a book I was reading to the girls. Not a fiber related book. Not a book I needed to read to teach anything.

I read a book for fun. Sure it was a “beach” read but I read it. It took me a week when it should have taken a weekend but that’s life around here. It’s a big deal that I was able to find the time to read the book. The book was “Nobody’s Princess” by Freisner. Certainly no great piece of literature but it was a cute story. A story of Helen of Troy as a young girl and what a little rebel she was. Or at least, what the author imagined she’d be like. While I’m on a roll I’ve picked up “No Country for Old Men”. We’ll see if I actually get to finish another any time soon.

I also finished a sweater.
greenspirit
I got lazy and decided to leave the bottom hem as it is. I still may change it but right now, it’s what it is. The bell sleeves are my favorite part and the sweater fits great… Which you’ll have to take my word for. It’s a little damp still. Though, I can’t guarantee I’ll take a photo of me in it once it’s dry.

If I was following my usual mode of operation I would have cast on for at least 2 more things once that sweater was done. I thought about it but I worked on Sprout instead:
sprout_noro2
I have just 1.5 inches left and then I can separate the sleeves and body. I’m looking forward to having a new spring sweater.

Though, I may just be casting on soon enough. Both girls have requested sweaters. 7going-on20 wants a new short sleeve sweater or a Baby surprise Jacket, or a combination of the 2 and if it could be in pink that would be really good but maybe you could throw in some red or purple and then I really do like the short sleeve sweater from last year and something like that is nice and I think I want stripes or some other pattern but the surprise jacket is good if I can have some really cool buttons…. I won’t go on further. Let’s just say it was a long one sided conversation.

The little one just wants all the sweaters that come off my needles but lately she’s been in love with a BSJ that’s on display in the shop. I’m thinking of using this for one:
bsj_ellarae
It’s Ella Rae Amity left over from other sweaters. I’m going to dig around in the Cottonease stash before I start, just in case I want to change my mind.

This entry was posted in Knitting, life. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to I Finished

  1. naomi says:

    Ooh, that sounds like a fun book.

    And the green sweater is lovely.

  2. anj says:

    is that a sign of maturity? not casting 2 thigns on? if that is true then I say don’t grow up!

    ooh I can see both girls in BSJs but then older one might not like that. stick with no sleeves for her. seriously.. you don’t need any more heartbreak and she is SOOO picky!

  3. Cathy says:

    That was a good book! You also might like the “Chicks in Chainmail” anthologies she edited. (There are at least 3–Chicks in Chainmail, Chicks and Chained Males, and The Chick is in the Mail. I think there may have been one or two more, but can’t recall offhand.)

  4. Scott says:

    When I get home I’ll have to read the last three months of entries so I can see all the pictures I’ve missed out on. Between that and reading 3 months of the Harlot I figure I won’t be done before Christmas.

  5. Heather says:

    Love the green sweater! Congrats on the book. I just started reading The Lion, the Witch and the Wardrobe (sad, but I never read it as a kid) since the girl just finished it and we want to read the series together. I have barely gotten a couple hours in for reading this week. Sad. I can normally finish a book in a couple of days, given the chance. It just takes concentration I haven’t had these days.

  6. yvette says:

    I haven’t read a book for ages either, I am listening to the Yarn Harlot on my ipod but only for about 10mins just before I fall asleep every night :0)
    Your eldest sounds about as picky as mine, he wanted me to pick out fabric for a shirt for him, no fear, I am not that brave!!

  7. Amy O' says:

    Great work! Since I got the flu last week (and it is luckily no where near as bad as the hubby’s has been), I was finally able to finish a book I’ve been working on for 17 months! No knitting, but I did finish the final Diana Gabaldon book – it’s less than 1000 pages, and I absolutely love these books – I have a feeling I just didn’t want it to end…

  8. Amy says:

    I have been trying to get more reading in too. I have 3 shelves of unread books that are beginning to sag under the weight! I need to get on that.

Leave a Reply

