Yogurt

In talking to many people about going Vegan, the one thing that many have a hard time giving up, surprisingly (to me anyway) is not cheese, ice cream or eggs, it’s yogurt. I’ve never been a huge fan of the stuff. I like it well enough but it certainly wasn’t the thing that made it hard being a vegan (of course I’m a bad vegan but we won’t go there right now).

I thought I’d mention my recipe for Yogurt and make some at the same time. This is my jar sitting in the cupboard. (I knew you were all dying to see the messy cupboards and just love all these high flash 6 am photos)
yogurt

I made 2 jars of Cashew milk. One was really rich and creamy with very little water, it was quite thick and almost could be described as Cashew butter. The other was the normal milk that I make. The Normal milk version is what I made kefir with and use normally over Granola or what not. I think I’ve mentioned it before that Kefir is something that is generally mammalian milk. My kefir grains were trained to be vegans. They’re happy and they’re multiplying. Mightily slow in their multiplication but they are growing. Kefir feeds off sugar and I feed mine honey (not alot, but enough to survive).

I kefired the milk, strained out my kefir babies and gave them some fresh cashew milk to their magic with. Into the kefired milk I add in the thick cream of cashews to thicken it all up. I stirred it up, added in some vanilla and some stevia and set it into a warm dark place (the cupboard) to thicken and gather more tang. In a couple of days the yogurt is done. It’s not usually super thick but it has that tangy taste and is really good. Sometimes I don’t flavor it at the cupboard stage. Sometimes I leave it alone and add fruit later. This stuff also freezes well. It freezes pretty solid but by scraping a fork, you can get a nice mound of a treat that seems like ice cream.

KNITTING
I finished the body to the green top down thing….I think…
tdraglan3
I did a turned hem and was lazy about not sewing it, I did a different bind off that may or may not work. I need to block it and see if it uncurls or I may be redoing the hem.

I’ve started sprout.
sprout_noro1
People are finding little oopsies in the newest pattern because it wasn’t tested, wasn’t edited and I basically just threw it out there. The mistakes are little and I’m fixing them as needed. So if you see one, let me know. And no, it’s not a mistake that this is Noro and not the handspun I announced I’d be using. I just don’t love peach and I couldn’t bring myself to use it. I want to wear this sweater alot. I’ll save the peach for a vest or maybe something for the girls that isn’t likely to get thrown into the wash by mistake.

This entry was posted in Knitting, recipes. Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Yogurt

  1. Scott says:

    I may have to try this kefir you speak of so often. The cashew milk version sounds particularly interesting, though I am far from vegan, and routinely comsume vast quantities of milk.

  2. Amy says:

    That Noro sweater will be cool with all the stripes! It will keep the knitting interesting

  3. Leslie says:

    I would bet that if you put that kafir in an actual ice-cream maker, it would come out exactly like icecream :P You might have to add a bit of fat, or it would be more sherbert-y, but hey, sherbert is good too!!

    I only say it because if you just straight up freeze regular ice-cream batter (yeah, it’s called batter sometimes, it’s weird) it’ll come out as a brick, too. It’s all about ice-crystal formation. Constant agitation leads to tiny crystals, so its scoopable, whereas leaving it to freeze en masse leads to crystal matrices, which means its basically just a block of ice, which, if anybody has tried to de-ice a car, isn’t terribly malleable :)

  4. Ann says:

    One word. Yum. I used to blend the kefir with some fresh or frozen fruit and have it as a smoothie for breakfast. Sweet and tangy.

    Scott — if you are not a strict vegan, you might want to try the regular milk kefir. The grains are more readily available and you don’t need to add anything in it, except kefir grains, during the fermentation stage.

  5. Loopykd says:

    I could not go vegan at all. I love my meat and dairy way too much. However, I didn’t think I would go organic either and now I am almost entirely organic. So never say never.

  6. Sara says:

    Oh man, the Noro looks fantastic in the sweater… maybe I haven’t picked out the right yarn after all. *lol*

  7. Suzie says:

    There’s like that whole paragraph about the kefir grains that I can’t string together to make sense.

    Like when you first “read” a line of pattern? Or are seeing it anew thru a noob’s eyes?

    Hopefully the link you have so wonderfully provided will clear it up so I can grok it………otherwise it’s a semi-random string of words that don’t appear to go together…….

    Everybody—-buy Supernova sock yarn. Even if you don’t make socks. It’s lovely and pettable…….and lovely.

  8. OOh…the yogurt sounds delicious. I’ve actually been making yogurt cheese, though with cow’s milk yogurt. I’m not quite at the vegan stage. I give you a lot of credit for doing that. I tried and it was so hard…not quite for me, I think. You really impress me with how healthy you eat! I’m afraid I gotta have a turkey burger now and then!

  9. Amanda says:

    the sweater is going to be so great!

    as for the yogurt thing, i just started making my own regular yogurt, never mind the vegan stuff! it sounds really interesting… i’d be curious to learn more about it.

  10. alexandra says:

    Peach makes me puke a little, too. It reminds me of the smell of Aquanet hairspray. I think I wore it involutarily too much in the late 80s and early 90s.

    Your little girls’ hair would look lovely in any shade of it, though.

    I thought your yarn was nice, more apricot. I can handle apricot because my grandmother never made me wear it with a poufy aqua skirt.

  11. suzanne says:

    I never got into kefir, because I never had a thing for yogurt. Or ice cream, really. (I make a mean sorbet, though.)

    My hitch…my hang-up…the ONE thing that keeps me from being the good vegan I do so want to be is…Ranch dressing. I freaking love that stuff, and I have not found a good vegan substitute.

    Stick to your guns, though! Even with it gets annoying, you are doing something good for your body and the planet and your family with all the fun, weirdo vegan foods!

Leave a Reply

