Short rows without wraps

I’m sure this isn’t innovative. I have no doubt that lots of people already do it this way. There seemed to be some interest a few weeks ago when I mentioned that I do my short rows without wraps so I planned to show you how I do it exactly. When I had to do the short rows finishing up Sprout, I took some photos of how I handle short rows on right and wrong sides.

sprout_teal4

First – when the directions say wrap and turn. Turn and then slip the next stitch. The fancy stuff comes in when you need to work the stitches back in.

RS rows:
When we need to work and work in the stitches, work up to the space including the st that you slipped, you’re now at the break.
sr_rs_whichst
That stitch I’m pointing to is the one that you need to pick up and place on the LHN
sr_rs_picking
Then K2tog:
sr_rs_k2tog

WS rows:
Once again, work to the break and purl the slipped stitch as well.
sr_ws_whichst
I picked that stitch up and placed it on the LHN
sr_ws_scoopedplaced
Then p2tog:
sr_ws_p2tog

This is a piece of the finished fabric that has 2 of the short row pick ups. You can pick out where they are if you blow up the picture (click to see it bigger). Otherwise as a full sweater, it’s not a noticeable short row pick up at all.
sr_final

This entry was posted in Knitting, short row tutorial. Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Short rows without wraps

  1. Mary says:

    Thank you for such clear instructions!

  2. Heather says:

    Thanks for that, Amy! I’ve been struggling with my wraps.

  3. Weaver says:

    You are the BEST!!! Thank you!

  4. Loopykd says:

    Short rows are my arch nemesis. Need I say thank you? Absolutely!

  5. Amy says:

    looks cool. I like YO short rows, but this looks like it might be even easier.

  6. Annalea says:

    Cool . . . thanks so much for the tip. I don’t mind doing wraps so much, but I always have a loose stitch in there somewhere, and I think this might take care of it. I’m going to try it the next time I’m knitting short rows. (I’m past the ones on the new Sprout, so we’ll see when that is. ;o)

  7. Lucia says:

    Very nice! I’ll have to try it with and without wraps sometime. I think on socks I’ll stick to wraps: those sts are getting smaller every day. (Age-related vision loss? Moi? Surely you jest.)

  8. Sara says:

    What a fabulous idea!! I should try that on Sprout and see how I like it.

  9. Joni says:

    Hey, that’s great! I have wondered, why not just slip stitches instead of wrapping? I never took the time to work it out though. Your way looks better too–I’ll definitely be trying that out. On my Sprout. ;)

  10. DebbieB says:

    Yay! I’m printing this off right now to put in my references.

  11. Lella says:

    Thank you so much for this tutorial. Very clear and easy to follow. I’m copying it too

  12. Lisa says:

    Awesome instructions! Can’t wait to try this technique.

  13. Nyxxie says:

    Great instructions.

    The way I have always done this and like it better because it closes up the gap even better is using the same idea but go over one more stitch when picking up the extra stitch before the k2tog.

  14. Arleta says:

    I’m going to have to try that. W&T isn’t my favorite thing to do when knitting, so maybe this will feel better to me. Thanks! ;)

Leave a Reply

