E is for….

ABC_2008_button

E is for Eichhem. As in Tracy Eichhem.
tracy2
Tracy is the man that makes the amazing spindles all individually cut on a scroll saw. I first saw them in 2005 but didn’t end up with one until 2006 when I started carrying them in my shop.
eis_te_spider3
My own spindle from Tracy Eichhem is this pretty little spider
eis_te_spider
It’s one of the ultra lights weighing in at .4 ounces.
eis_te_spider2
I’ve been spinning some silk in lace weight.An ultra light spindle with spiders just screams to be using silk.

While we’re on the subject of Tracy Eichhem and his amazing spindles, he has asked me for feedback on his spindles. Good or bad. Shaft lengths? Weights? Whorl sizes? If you have any feedback, please let me know and I’ll pass it along.

This entry was posted in ABC-along, spinning. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to E is for….

  1. Jennifer says:

    Gorgeous, gorgeous spindles!

  2. margene says:

    I have one with hummingbirds. Met Tracy at Estes last year. What a nice man and the spindles are heavenly.

  3. Amy says:

    swoon! Look at how delicate those spider legs are!

  4. Katie says:

    Those are great! I used to know a guy who did that kind of woodwork. How big are the whorl sizes on those? I’ve found I like a bigger one. My first CD spindle is still my favorite to spin with.

  5. PuppyMomma says:

    These newer ones are beautiful. I’m doing my best not to become the owner of one. I need the money for Sydney right now…pretty spindles…pretty….

  6. wendy says:

    Those spiders look eerily like they are delicately picking their feet through fibery goodness…so cool!

  7. Saffron says:

    I have one that I bought directly from Tracy. I did send him feedback directly, but I just wanna say here that I love it. Mine is Kokopelli, half-overlay weighing about .9 oz. . It’s my second spindle (I only have two) and I love it. It literally flies when I start it spinning.

    If you’d like to see what mine looks like it’s here:
    http://www.saffronknits.net/?p=249

  8. Erin says:

    Those are gorgeous spindles!

  9. Laurin says:

    Hi Amy! I had such a hard time deciding which spindle to buy at Spa- these Eichem spindles were stunning. Came so close to picking up the kokipelli or the spider – but then I saw the other spindles, and the one called Purple Heart just spoke to me.

    No, haven’t actually used it yet – working up the courage to give it a go. Looking forward to spinning up some Monkey Farts!!!

    Hopefully will be able to show you some first-timer homespun at NH Sheep and Wool!

    -Laurin

  10. CE says:

    I own one of these spindles! Actually, it’s my only spindle – my girlfriend bought me one for Christmas, and it’s the one I learned to spin with. I fear I’m spoiled forever. The spindle is lovely, deceptively sturdy, and spins like a dream.

    Mine has a dragon carved into the whorl, and makes me smile every time I look at it. It was the best Christmas present I’ve ever gotten – gorgeous, functional, and made with obvious care and pride. Swoon.

Leave a Reply

