SPA aaaaaahhhh

Fiber, friends, laughter…what could be better? It really was a fantastic weekend. I want to thank everyone for making it a great weekend for me. I thought I’d feel silly staying there since I lived only 20 minutes away but I enjoyed spending time with my friends. I don’t get to see my friends from out of state that often so it worked out well that I got to stay there and chat it up with all of them.

I didn’t bring my camera but plenty of other people did. I need to steal some pictures somewhere. Julia got a particularly lovely one of me though she did say it was only going into her “personal” collection.

I am not without any photos.
I turned in 28 hats from the contest. You guys rock.
13 from Suzanne
13hats
and 10 from Jessica
10hats
and 5 from Amy
5hats
Sorry about the lack of linkage ladies. For some reason my brain isn’t working right and remembering which blog is yours. Anyone else notice that sometimes it’s hard to place the right “real” name with a blog name? I need to get organized and then the prizes will be distributed.

I also have in new products. I have Tracy Eichem spindles.
tracy1
tracy2
tracy3

I got in a new stock of Merlin tree spindles.
merlintreespindles
I think I have 6 left and will get them on the website as soon as I can.

Dave tried to get me to take home a Great wheel. I resisted though I fear I soon may buckle under the weight and end up with a pendulum wheel this year. Still, I did take home a couple of new Hitchikers for the shop. I particularly like this one:
sweethitchhiker
It has oak, black walnut, pine, tulip wood, paduk, and cherry woods. I think it’s a charming and very original wheel. I don’t imagine Dave will make many if any more like it.

I picked up some pretty orifice hooks made by Judy of Ball and Skein:
orificehooks
This week I need to get out club but I’ll also be working on getting all the new goodies online. There are even more goodies than I showed here.

With all of that, I didn’t leave without a few goodies for myself.
spaloot2008

It’s a small stack but still lovely and especially lovelier thanks to my fantastic roomies / friends.
I have a Forrester spindle, a Hello yarn mitten kit, a Split Yarn needle bag, a bit of fiber from Kim at the Woolen Rabbit, a pretty ball of Merino/angora/silk from The Spinning Bunny, a cool glass that Dagny gave me and a little Merino Alpaca bump from White Barn Meadows. It’s a nice modest size haul. Not as big as it usually is but it’s usually the fleeces that make the pile look excessive and there won’t be new fleeces for me until Cummington.

I also picked up a little order from The Irish Ewe.
quillspindlefortraddy
I got a quill for the old Ashford Traddy. I was disappointed that I lost an Ebay auction for an antique treadled quill wheel. Then playing around I realized I could buy a quill for the Traddy I own. It took a little of the sting out of the loss. I’ll surely report back as to how I like the new attachment to the wheel.

Last but not least my new favorite pub glass which held beer on Friday and a smoothie this morning:
merlinglass

This entry was posted in Knitting, Shopping, spinning, Spunky Eclectic. Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to SPA aaaaaahhhh

  1. Loopykd says:

    That smoothie looks fantastic! I am so hungry! I love the hooks and the hats. I’m glad you had fun.

  2. Wendy says:

    Nice haul! That treadle on the hitchhiker is awesome, love that streaky grain.

  3. Amy says:

    That sounds like so much fun! You got some awesome treasures :D

  4. Lucia says:

    It was great to see you! I bought one of those orifice hooks from Judy, and Miss B is having a wonderful time spinning her new fiber. (Before I made her clean up it looked like a rainbow had exploded in our living room.)

  5. Danielle says:

    I have a similar photo on my camera. Except that my haul has some of YOUR fiber. And yarn. And a mug.

  6. Joni says:

    Ah, you’re back! I know I’ve been quiet on the comments for a while, but it’s totally weird not to see you post for a whole week. ;) I wish you an easy time getting the club out (Hi to your mom!) and hope that you have some peaceful knitty-spinny moments coming to you soon.

  7. Joni says:

    Did I say moments? I meant hours. Consecutive ones even. :P

  8. Ronni says:

    Oh boy does that sound like fun. I just did Stitches West this weekend. Also fun but not in the relaxing way for sure.

    I want some of those spindles. The fact that I can’t spindle spin to save my life appears to be immaterial. I guess I’ll have to start haunting the store (I just checked and they don’t seem to be there yet – or else I missed them.)

  9. Suzie says:

    Yay, loot!!

    I really like the spinning bunny sock yarn I got. I just read your post and I can’t remember what kind you got; mine was tencel wool and silk, I think. Lovely smushy stuff…….

    Glad you’re back; been missing you……

  10. wendy says:

    Great haul!

    Man, those Merlin tree spindles look awesome!

    I love Dave’s wheel too…so unique!

  11. Jennifer says:

    Sounds like it was a lot of fun! The spindles are gorgeous.

  12. Sara says:

    I need to get my pictures all up and a SPA rundown done on my blog, too…

    You know, I wasn’t drooling over the Hello Yarn mitten kit until today. It would figure.

  13. It was so great to see you, Amy! I bought some of your Thin Ice fiber and love the way it’s coming out so far. I was thrilled to be able to try out the LadyBug wheel and wish I had enough money right now to get it. Very glad you brought it! Wish you’d had time to sit and spin with us, but I’m sure we’ll be up to see you and the new shop sometime in the spring ; )

  14. Chesley says:

    Thanks for a GREAT weekend!

  15. Chris H says:

    Now, I’m soooo tempted….

Leave a comment