Two for Monday

I made 2 great new foods over the weekend but I don’t have any photos to share with you to go along with the recipes. Frankly I made the foods for the taste and they weren’t all that pretty photographed.

Rawfood cereal
Soak 1 cup each of Pumpkin seeds and Raw almonds overnight.
In the morning drain them and process them with the s blade on your food processor. This is enough for 2 meals so I returned half to the fridge for the following day (it only lasts that long anyway) and the other half I put in some dried fruit and a cup of cashew milk. It was surprisingly good.

Roasted Stuffed Eggplant.
1 Eggplant
1 onion – chopped
3-4 cloves of garlic – minced
2 cups of sliced mushrooms
fresh basil about 1/4 cup chopped.
2 large tomatoes chopped.
Olive oil

– Cut the eggplant in half lengthwise and cut out all but 1/4 inch of the meat – cube that meat.
– saute the onions and garlic, then add the eggplant and mushrooms. cook until it’s reduced and yummy. Remove from the heat and stir in the basil and tomato. Fill the eggplant halves with this mixture. Cover it and pop it in the oven at 350F for about 20 minutes. Uncover and cook for an additional 15 or until you can’t stand it anymore and have to eat it now because it smells too good.

Knitting and spinning:
I wish I could say that I’ve gotten a lot done. I haven’t. Lots of stuff happening here has prevented me from doing a lot of knitting or spinning. I’m hoping things will return to normal soon and I’ll have something to show for my efforts.

This entry was posted in recipes. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Two for Monday

  1. wendy says:

    So funny…we’re having raw cereal this morning.
    Have you tried raw walnut tacos?
    I liked them but I don’t think anyone else did.lol.

  2. Amy says:

    Once you figure out how to get things back to normal, can you let me know because I need to get back on track too!

  3. Heather says:

    mmm…the roasted eggplant sounds delicious. Oh, yeah and….SPAAAA!!!!! :) (I hope you aren’t going too bankers, but I know you are, but it will be fun!)

  4. Joni says:

    I hope things calm down nicely for you soon, whatever is going on. It’s challenging enough to be very busy, without being bereft of personal fiber time.

    So, I don’t have different blades with my food processor. What texture would I be going for with the cereal? That recipe was so timely–my husband just came home from a trip to NJ this weekend and brought lots of nuts from Trader Joe’s with him. The whole not actually using heat on the food thing sounds nice and safe these days while I’m more absent-minded. Another question: If I wanted to soak nuts but grind them at night for pulling out and eating cereal in the morning, how long is too long before the nuts start to turn from being soaked excessively?

  5. Arleta says:

    Mmmm That eggplant does sound yummy. Normal? I aim to be there again someday.

  6. Sara says:

    The eggplant sounds fantastic… I’m wicked hungry now!

    Let me know if you need more help, Amy… *huge hug*

  7. Amanda says:

    Ok, that eggplant sounds GOOD.

Leave a Reply

