Zucchini Pesto Pasta

This is really really good and an easy meal for one or however many people you have.
recipe_rawpestopasta

1 Zucchini per person – grate it the long ways through a Mandolin cheese grater. You are grating long strips that are spaghetti like. If you leave your produce in the fridge, you may want to set this out to get room temperature. It’s not bad cold but room temp it seems to have more flavor.
2 good plops of a good Pesto (see below)
a handful of chopped reconstituted sun dried tomatoes.

Pesto:
1 large handful of fresh Basil
Lots of minced or crushed garlic
A good swish of olive oil
a bit of salt and pepper
1/4 cup of Pine nuts or I’ve heard Brazil nuts are good too.
Using the S blade and the food processor – process until it’s smooth.

Knitting:
Mostly I’ve been working on a deadline project:
deadlineproject208

But I’ve also been playing with the scarf here and there:
ascarf!
I’ve been working on this a while and I couldn’t find where I got the pattern from. I know it was free and on a blog. It was one of those blog journeys that you started at a friend’s blog and traveled 5 or so blogs away and found the pattern.
CO 29. Row 1 and every row there after: S1, *K1, K2tog, YO, P1. Repeat from the * to the end. Basically you cast on a multipple of 4 sts plus 1. You’re good to go.

This entry was posted in Knitting, recipes. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Zucchini Pesto Pasta

  1. Amy says:

    The little red flecks in the deadline project are intriguing. And your Six degrees scarf is nice too :D

  2. Maggie says:

    The zucchini is eaten raw here, then? The way you cook is so extremely different from how I do. Growing up in a very meat-oriented house, I never learned a lot of ways to prepare veggies and eat lighter foods. I appreciate the ideas and recipes! I’m not interested in becoming a vegetarian but I am interested in changing the way we cook and eat at home, and having a more balanced diet.

  3. naomi says:

    I’ll have to remember to try that when it’s zucchini season again. :)

  4. Jennifer says:

    I love pesto! Sounds delicious.

  5. wendy says:

    Oh, yum!
    I wish I still had my Saladacco. It would the perfect tool for this recipe.

  6. Aren’t scarves so nice to go to for a “relief knitting” project? That, or kids toys. I was slightly freaking out over my lace and found that knitting something enjoyable and quick made ALL the difference for me. Is that your handspun? Really nice color and texture, too ; )

  7. Katie says:

    Thanks for the pesto recipe! I love pesto and collect recipes for it!

  8. That looks good! I’ll have to try that because I my 3 yr. old will eat pasta with pesto, and this would be a good way to get him to eat veggies.

Leave a Reply

