Crochet love

I don’t actually get to work on crochet much since I usually have a ton of other projects going. Lately those projects have been giving me no love and making me feel scattered. I’ve turned to crochet to give me something different to do. I have a long suffering project from Happy Hooker. It’s the project “Short and Sweet”.
shortandsweet
Unfortunately I think I’ll need to frog it. The way the sizing is, I fit somewhere in between. I can’t really fake it because the motifs are huge. I’m going to frog this and find a different yarn with a different gauge so I can make the top fit better.

With that project out, I picked up all my crochet books and finally my IK Crochet from this past fall. I found just the project that I needed to do. The Mesh Peplum Cardi Blouse. I went to the stash for the right yarn. I think what I like about crochet the most is that I’m happy using cotton in crochet where I’m not in knitting. I can have a good spring cardi if I crochet it in cotton.
meshpeplumcardiblouse
I didn’t let the Peplum bother me on this sweater. I guarantee it won’t have one unless I miraculously become a stick like the model. Right, so this sweater will have no peplum. I think crochet is even easier to modify than knitting. But not doing a peplum is really easy, I just keep crocheting straight. Right now I’m only through 1/3rd of the collar. My hands started to hurt with the hook I was using. I used this as an excuse to get some nice hand made ones from Etsy.

The hooks came in and as a test, I crocheted a little square the other night for Elisa‘s Dad.
elisasquare
You can see one of the new hooks too. They really do help keep me from having hand aches. I plan to buy more. If any of you crocheters out there have another good source for hooks, let me know.

This entry was posted in crochet. Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Crochet love

  1. Maggie says:

    I love that Short and Sweet design! I know the designer, she used to come to our SNB but we haven’t seen her in a while. Her work is great. :)

  2. anj says:

    ooh pretty. see I think I just need to bite the bullet and crochet a garment.. one like that (without the peplum) is a nice idea….

  3. maryse says:

    yay! another square!

  4. Amy says:

    I have been thinking of getting some of those hooks with the big handles. I still use the old aluminum hooks and my hands get so sore.

  5. Suzie says:

    Hi Amy–
    I actually stick whatever hook is called for into the um…..penguin figure that has a company logo that I think is supposed to be a stress reliever at your desk–you know? like they have cows of this material that advertise chocolate milk? Kinda squishy? Anyway, didn’t want to have to own more than the thousand hooks I already do and was hurting myself crocheting (son *can’t* want a blanket in knit–oh no) so came up with that. And, since it’s a penguin, I can switch fat sides to give my hands another perspective/way to cramp and hurt.

    Does it say somewhere where I send my hats? Is there any restriction about animals? Mine are gonna have some hairs; four cats and a big butt golden’ll do that to (every)things.

  6. Sara says:

    I need to get some new hooks, too… I don’t like using metal knitting needles because they hurt my hands and my metal crochet hooks have the same problem.

  7. Julie says:

    I have that Short and Sweet pattern in my queue; I think it’s adorable. Hopefully, you’ll find the perfect yarn for yours; I haven’t even looked close enough at the pattern to think about the sizing yet. I do like the sweater you’ve chosen to crochet.

    I find that my hands hurt when I crochet too; which etsy shop did you find your new hooks at?

  8. Katie says:

    I learned to crochet before knitting so I love crocheting and I’m happy to see so many new patterns. Have fun!

  9. Emily says:

    Hi Amy!
    Which Etsy shop did you purchase the hooks from? They look nice. I have some crocheting in my future, too. Looking forward to seeing how your Cardi turns out.

  10. Tina says:

    I’ve also started to feel an urge for crochet – I blame it all on Ravlery, where I’ve found so many lovley baby blankets. I’ll use it as an excuse to get better at crocheting.

  11. Jennifer says:

    Crochet! I like crochet but it always hurts my hands. Haven’t tried that kind of hook though.

  12. Arleta says:

    I used to crochet a lot, but then I started knitting again, and the crochet fell way behind. My sister crochets awesome stuff, but can’t (or won’t) knit. Weird, huh? I think that ‘Short and Sweet’ jacket is so cute. Can’t wait to see the other cardi without the peplum. It’ll look way better without it. :)

  13. How funny! I just picked up the hooks a couple of days ago because the knitting was leading to fitting. And you’re right; it is so much easier to tweak the crochet to your liking. This is probably what I need right now! I really like that hook! I’ve never seen one like that…

Leave a Reply

