Fried

Food here isn’t always super healthy. Sometimes we like to go for somehting a little naughtier. With Superbowl weekend coming up, I wanted to try out a fried mushroom. I had a bit of batter left so I threw in some onions too. While I think it’s a good batter for mushrooms, the onions weren’t quite right.

1/2 cup Corn flour
1/2 cup Rice flour
salt (to taste)
garlic powder (to taste)
1/2 tsp Baking Powder
6 ounces Beer or cold water
Small mushrooms – washed and dried – if you don’t have small ones, cut up the big ones so they’ll cook through well.

Heat some oil to 375F – about 2-3 inches in a pan will work.
Mix the batter ingredients until smooth. Drop in the mushrooms and stir to make sure they’re coated completely. Gently drop the coated mushrooms into the oil – turn once to make sure all sides are brown. Drain and serve hot with ranch dressing.

If you’re vegan you know ranch isn’t exactly on the menu. To make a vegan ranch dip. Plop a package of silken tofu in the blender. Add a couple of teaspoons of soy milk and a packet of ranch dip mix. Blend thoroughly. It’s good stuff and Vegan.

I need to come up with a few more Football snacks. These days we don’t have a big party but it’s still nice to have the food as if we were having a bunch of guests (so long as I remember not to make enough for an army).

KNITTING:
I can’t show you anything just yet. I spent the weekend finishing up some socks for a local version of Sock wars, “Battle of the Soxes”. I didn’t feel like I’d be able to participate with all the dealines I have in February so I volunteered to create a pattern. I have a sample done in 2 weights now. The game starts this Friday and then I’ll be able to show off the socks.

SPINNING:
I need to work up a larger sample of some energized singles for a posting here. I got way laid by making boucles. I took a picture of an old Boucle I did….
funboucle
And now I want to make a ton more. I’ve been dyeing up special for some funky boucle type yarns. I’m not sure what I want to make with the final product. All I know is that I want a ton of this boucle. It’s not a full boucle either. I should get out some of the others that are loopy and fluffy the whole length. This one is fluffy and loopy in spots. Which means it has just enough plain spots that I can knit with it without wanting to gouge my vital organs with my needles.

This entry was posted in Knitting, recipes, spinning. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Fried

  1. Sara says:

    I’m visiting your house for munchies on Superbowl Sunday…

    And I think you should show the sock. Because… I’m nosy and stuff. You going to be at the kick off party Friday night?

  2. Katie says:

    You are making me hungry! I guess I never thought about what boucle yarn really was. Thanks.

  3. Sandy says:

    Thank you for the batter recipe! I’ve just been diagnosed with Celiac Disease and am snapping up every gluten free recipe I can fine! Yummmm!

    Love the boucle.

  4. Amy says:

    Nice Boucle. I understand the organ gouging. Boucle is so nice to look at, but I just hate having to use it. OR worse yet, rip it back

  5. Bridget says:

    You are so tricky with the multiple weight patterns for the war! How about one in super-bulky? ;)
    I am going to try a new guacamole recipe for the Superbowl. A friend of mine got it from someone in Texas and it’s supposed to be awesome. Let me know if you want it!

  6. Katie says:

    Oh lord, fried mushrooms! Do you know how long it’s been since I’ve had fried mushrooms?! Where is your Super Bowl party again? ;)

  7. Arleta says:

    Mmmm fried mushrooms. I love mushrooms. That’s some pretty yarn, and I am glad it won’t make you injure yourself with your needles. ;)

  8. KaKi says:

    I LOVE fried mushrooms. I can’t wait to try this recipe!!!!

  9. Bad Hippie says:

    The…corn…flour…is…killing…me….whaaaaaaaaaa….

    But the boucle is awesome!

  10. Lin says:

    I can’t believe how helpful the wordpress community is. Thanks for the wonderful information.

Leave a Reply

