First yarns

Not everyone is able to come out of the gate and spin like a pro. It takes practice and time. To prove that, I thought I’d show off some of my first yarns. I cleaned out a cabinet in the livingroom a few weeks ago and threw all the yarn into one box. In that one box there were some of my first yarns.

This one is my first ever yarn:

my_first_yarn_ever
It’s hard to tell how not wonderful it is. Notice that it’s 2 different colors. Plying 2 different colors together is easier than one color because you can see the twist better. Which you can see the twist was way better in my first yarn than in the next one:

ohmy_bad_plying
Honestly, this plying stinks. There are a few small perfect sections in there and the rest is woefully under plied. So under plied in fact that some of the yarns are just neighbors instead of being any resemblance to plied yarn.

And this one you can see it’s evening out and the plying is better.
firstyarns_franken-skeins
I’m not sure what is up with the strange multicolors. I’m guessing I was trying to use up ends while I was trying to perfect what I was doing.

And here – I was trying to make low twist singles. I achieved low twist…so low in sections that I don’t know the yarn has stayed together. It certainly isn’t usable for knitting or crocheting. Not that I’d use it.
my_first_attempt_at lowtwists
I achieved low twist…so low in sections that I don’t know the yarn has stayed together. It certainly isn’t usable for knitting or crocheting.

There were a couple of plain brown skeins in the bag with these but I just couldn’t get them to photograph well at all. They had underplied and overplied, undertwisted and overtwisted sections and some just plain bad yarn. Still it was all my first and I love it all. The green and white sits in my regular stash where I can see it often. The rest will go into a bag again to serve as a sort of time capsule for myself.

This entry was posted in spinning. Bookmark the permalink.

21 Responses to First yarns

  1. Julie says:

    Very encouraging :)

    I like that your very first yarn sits with your stash so you can see it.

  2. aimeed says:

    Thanks! Perfect timing. My 8yo daughter just finished out her first skein the other day (I plyed it for her) and she was obsessing on the “blumps” and skinny parts. I told her that that’s how it looks for first yarn, but it was great to show her yours. She’s already starting to even out her drafting-it’s amazing to watch her figure it out.

  3. Shannon says:

    I’m looking forward to the day I can do this too!thanks for sharing those skeins.

  4. Amy says:

    Isn’t it interesting to go back and look at where you started and how far you have come

  5. naomi says:

    I need to work on getting past that stage with the low-twist singles.

    Posts like this kinda make me wish I’d saved my first yarns instead of knitting with them–it’s hard to see how uneven (or how even, for that matter) they are now that they’re knit up.

  6. Karen says:

    It’s awesome to see the progress made with practice. How long have you been spinning? I cracked up at your description of the yarn being just neighbors rather than plied. haha

  7. Julia says:

    This was really fun to see. My first yarns look similar. I’m still not sure of myself and have made some funky things, but it’s fun and practicing definitely helps!

  8. maryse says:

    i’m not real good with the plying yet, but it’s good to see that we all started that way.

  9. Katie says:

    Those are great! Did you spin them on a spindle or wheel?

  10. Becky says:

    Thanks so much for sharing that first yarn. Having just wrapped my first plied, it is encouraging to know there is hope, if I stick with it. Actually, it was fairly good plying of really poorly spun yarn. It will make a good ‘here’s how far I’ve come’ photo!
    What is it they say? Practice practice practice!!

  11. Sara says:

    Honestly… I adore the green and white one- I think it would make a fabulous hat! It doesn’t look like first yarn… just yarn that’s meant to be thick and thin.

  12. Annalea says:

    So is there a way to unply really under-twisted/under-plied yarn? I’ve got a little that’s seriously underplied . . . I think I just took the singles and let them untwist around each other until they were at rest as I pulled them off of the bobbins. (It’s a 2-ply.) The fiber is really pretty, and there’s not much yarn, so maybe someday I’ll pull it apart and try again. . . .

  13. Kristy says:

    Thanks for sharing your first attempts. My daughter got a spinning wheel for Christmas and has been doubting her ‘abilities’. I think she’s doing great, but I’m not a spinner. It helps to see what others have done in the past compared to what they do now – it’s very inspiring.

  14. Donna says:

    Those are great to save to show your little girls when you teach them how to spin – if you haven’t already done that!

  15. Loopykd says:

    Isn’t this awesome! Thanks for posting these. I see you as such a pro and so helpful and experienced. It’s great to see that we all start out the same. How long ago were these spun?

  16. Wow! I really loved seeing your first handspuns. I’ve either kept mine or used them for stuff. I’ve never underplied, but I do tend to overply. The tiny ounce of buffalo gold I bought last year was horribly overplied and felt slightly like hard rope. Definitely unknittable….but I really like trying new fibers to see what I like don’t like. Thanks for the spinning inspiration! (I’ll definitely be bringing my wheel to SPA!)

  17. When I first started spinning, I read somewhere that I should cherish the first few skeins I cranked out. The writer said that I’d never be able to repeat anything like it again after a while. She was right! I’m a good spinner now. But there was certainly something fun about those early yarns…

  18. Jennifer says:

    Thank you for showing your first yarn. I’ve got several skeins that look similar. It’s encouraging to see that we all start at the same place. :-)

  19. Lisa says:

    Thanks for this post. It’s very timely for me as I’m a new spinner. I see all the pictures of people’s lovely handspun yarns and feel a bit frustrated by my lumpy bumpy spinning attempts. It’s encouraging to see an accomplished spinner started out much like me. I feel so much better now! Think I’ll go spin.

  20. Cheryl says:

    Just the other day I came across one of my first handspun skeins. It’s so underplied! And I remember how proud I was of it.

  21. earthchick says:

    This is soooooo encouraging.

Leave a Reply

