Give away

Do you remember a while ago I mentioned I wanted to talk about a give away. I haven’t done one in a while and I wanted to make this one a good thing for charity as well.

Here’s the scoop:
1.You knit or crochet hats or slippers for the Ship’s Project. They mainly need manly colors of things in manly sizes. You can use your own patterns but try to stay within the size and color guidelines on the Ship’s Project Page

2.Mail them to me and I will deliver them to the Ships project. If you want to deliver them to me at the shop that works too.

3.The one that sends me the most will get a $40 gift certificate to the shop. All other people (even if you send just one hat – every hat helps) will get put into a number generator and at random, I’ll draw 3 more names and each of those will get a $20 certificate.

4.The one catch is that I’m delivering the items at SPA which is the 22 of February. I need the items to be here around the 20th so I have time to count them. The item guidelines can be found on the page I referenced. Oh, and a pair of slippers will count as 2 since there is as much work knitting or crocheting 1 slipper as there is in 1 hat.

If you want you can string all your items on a thread and write a note to the Ship’s project people. I won’t be taking credit for all the good work that you guys do, I just want to see that they get more stuff this year if I can help it.

What do you say? Wanna knit and crochet hats with me?
knithat

This entry was posted in Knitting. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Give away

  1. Weaver says:

    Great timing. I’m headed to the post office today to mail a package to one of the husband’s co-worker’s son (wow, that sounds convoluted) in Iraq. We’re also dropping the husband off at the airport for a trip to Jersey to see the new job, so I’ll be needing something to distract me from the silence once the kids are asleep :) I guess I’ll just have to stop at the yarn store today, darn ;) Thanks for keeping me busy!!!

  2. Suzie says:

    Hi dear–
    Do you have a ‘worsted weight’ pattern? I (being a girl and selfish and only knitting mostly for myself because I know what goes into the things and appreciate them like others don’t (not that I have an issue–ha)(or excel at run-on parenthetical interjections)) don’t do too much manly stuff and I think if I try to wing it, my perfectionist thingy will crop up and you won’t get any hat(s).

    ‘Course, now that I’ve written all that, I’m thinking that the ship’s thingy website probably has patterns…….she’s quick, she is……

  3. Katie says:

    That’s a great idea! (gift certificates nonwithstanding) I’ve been looking for some sort of charity knitting.

  4. Amy says:

    having come from a Navy family, I am all in! What a great project :D

  5. Emily says:

    This is so cool – I think I can knit at least one hat in time and I have some extra brown yarn kickin’ around in the stash. No promises, but I’ll see if I can do it. Thank you for sponsering something like this!

  6. alice says:

    there you go with the timing… about an hour before i read your post, my baby cousin told me he’d be shipping off to iraq on february 8th. i think i’ve FINALLY found my charity knitting project. i have a bit of a competitive streak in me, too, so i’ll be sending you a whole whack-load!

    hey, if i knit one or two for robert before he ships out, and send you pics of them… does that count? :)

Leave a Reply

