Forest Canopy part 3

I saw many people making a few of these and I didn’t realize until I made my first one that I too would be making a few. They take no time at all once you remember the pattern and the pattern is easy to remember. It’s the perfect beginner’s lace project as well as the perfect brain candy project for those with a little more experience under their belts.

fcs_joshtreeww

I blocked it to be about 8 feet long at the top and about 4 feet at the center spine. It is the most comfy and warm shawl I have ever made. I’m totally in love with this worsted shawl. I have never used such thick yarn for a lacy shawl before but now I want to use worsted for every shawl. They are so comfy warm.

fcs_joshtreeww2

Details:
Pattern: Forest Canopy By Susan Pierce Lawrence
Yarn: Spunky 220 Classic in Joshua Tree and a bit of white
Needles: US 8
Mods: I made 3 extra repeats to the pattern and pretty much knew I would run out of yarn at some point. When I was close I knew it was the turning point – get another skein and make more repeats or get another yarn and use it for the last 2 rows. Which is what I chose. I like the contrasting end. I did the last row and the bind off in some white yarn I had in the stash.

I recommended this shawl to people before because it’s a really easy and nice lace pattern. Now I can say if you’re afraid of using thinner yarn for lace, use the worsted. It’s a fantastic shawl in worsted. I’m wearing it all the time. It’s so much warmer than any other shawl I have. Which usually get bunched up and used for scarves.

This entry was posted in Knitting. Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to Forest Canopy part 3

  1. Helen says:

    I’m a little unclear about how much of the hand-painted yarn you used. Was it just 1 skein and a little bit of white to finish? I’ve made this pattern in laceweight and will now be making an aran weight one seeing how beautiful yours looks. I NEED cosy this time of year.

  2. Donna says:

    I agree – this was my first lace project (I used hand spun with my Spunky Eclectic fiber!) and I will certainly make the shawl again. Very easy.

  3. wendy says:

    I loved making this shawl too!
    Sometime soon I’ll need to make it again with worsted.You’ve convinced me! It’s just looks too pretty not to that and I like shawls that are big almost blankie like.lol.

  4. Emily says:

    This is a beautiful shawl – I will keep it in mind when I finally venture into lace.

  5. ~Jo~ says:

    I just finished the exact shawl for my daughter and agree that another is in my near future, perhaps worsted too. ;-)

  6. Cheryl says:

    I’ve been wanting to try a worsted weight shawl for a while now. I love my light, laceweight ones, but I’d like something a little sturdier to wrap up in too sometimes.

    I love your version!

  7. Amy says:

    the white accent is just perfect to set off the colors in the rest of the shawl. I was looking for a triangular shawl pattern and this one sounds like so much fun!

  8. Heather says:

    Love it. Looks like one I might actually knit and wear. I desperately want to knit a triangular shawl for the experience, but don’t see it working into the wardrobe. A nice shawl for curling up on the couch I can go for, tho.

  9. Amy O' says:

    I love it! I actually started my first one (with the Cherry Tree Hill supersock that I dyed in the class on 4s last week) – so far so good, I only had to rip back to my lifeline once so far. (glad I put one in!) It may come out small, but I think I’ll still like it.

  10. Monika says:

    I quite like the white edge. I like using worsted weight or DK weight for lace shawls. I don’t like the very fine lace weight, it drives me mad.

  11. Jennifer says:

    Ooo, I worsted weight version sounds lovely! I may have to do this too.

  12. carrie says:

    Oooo, so pretty! It’s feminine and sweet, and I love the different colored yarn on the edge. I’m going to have to try this one. Just saying that you can memorize the pattern had me hooked!

  13. Julia says:

    Really pretty, and a great pattern for handspun!

  14. Jennifer says:

    Oh, another to add to my growing list of lace projects. I had forgotten about this one ~ thanks for the reminder!

    I like knitting shawls in worsted, too ~ though the two I already have planned are definitely not in worsted. Might have to stick a worsted one in between for a Rest. I do agree about the coziness factor.

    Jen

  15. Marlena says:

    Hmmm… my Grammy loves shawls, but likes them thick and warm. Thanks for the tip, I think this’ll be the perfect pattern for her!

  16. Arleta says:

    That is so pretty. I really need to finish LD’s shawl. Hmmm, maybe if I wasn’t on the computer all of the time. lol

  17. jqfutfvr says:

    You certainly deserve a round of applause for your post and more specifically, your blog in general. Very high quality material

Leave a Reply

