A is for….

ABC_2008_button

I was thinking A is for Alpaca of course. Then as I took a quick stroll around blogland and saw other A posts having to do with medical things, I realized there is an “A” in my life that figures more prominently than the Alpaca…..Asthma. Most importantly my Arsenal Against Asthma.

a_is_for

I drink 2-3 cups of a special herbal tea each day. Each ingredient is suppose to help Alleviate some of the Asthma symptoms in some way. Also part of my special diet is in place to fight my Asthma. I’ve had it since I was a teen and I used to take 2-3 meds each day on top of the rescue inhaler. When I’m at my healthiest (which I haven’t been since I had my second child), I don’t even need the rescue inhaler. I’ve had several good years and that’s when I’m running daily and eating properly. I’ll be in that place again some day. Until then, my inhaler goes where I go.

In Knitting news – I finished my Forest Canopy Shawl. It’s blocking on the rug at the shop. I figured that was the safest place for it. Hopefully I’ll get photos today.

This entry was posted in ABC-along. Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to A is for….

  1. Adrian says:

    Bah, I was just puffing on the little white inhaler this morning. Do you have one of these? They’re really great. I have the smallest one pictured and it’s still kind of big, hence the large Lady Purse I’m never without.

  2. Amy says:

    I have had asthma for as long as I can remember. It used to take two full sized adults to hold me down and give me that liquid Slophilin when I was small. Then I got my first inhailer when I was 12. I don’t have to use it very often here in the desert, but I always have one with me anyways.

  3. LaBean says:

    Wow I had no idea. I have had asthma since I was 10. I didn’t really need an inhaler until 10th grade. Then I stopped needing it until I started having babies.. Strange. I’d like to know more about this tea. If I can get off those preventive meds, it would be better for my body and my pocket too! Maybe I can get the kids to drink it; two of them have asthma as well.

  4. Annalea says:

    I wondered what had spurred you on to making such amazing efforts to be so careful with what you eat, Amy. I was just wondering if you drink lots and lots of seriously filtered water each day? (Like an ounce per pound of body weight, topping out at about a gallon?) When your hydration is low, histamine levels rise, and they can contribute to an asthma attack (just as they can make allergies worse–Benadryl is an anti-histamine).

    The other thing is SuperFood. It’s amazing . . . the best nutrient-dense, organic food you’ve ever seen. I’ve been having a lot of health trouble lately (fifth baby on the way, and a long, long story), and I feel amazingly good when I drink it.

    Anyway . . . good on you for taking charge of your own health! :o)

  5. wendy says:

    My MIL has asthma that gets triggered by foods among other things. It’s always scary when we go out and eat some where and try to explain that she’ll die if there’s corn, carrot, etc. in the food. Lots of places act like they don’t care/understand that is until she starts whipping out 3 different inhalers turning blue and needing be taken away.Then they act all sorry. Oh well, anyway if you could tell us more about your tea I’ll pass it along to her.Thanks.

  6. Loopykd says:

    Bella has asthma too. It’s quite scary I have to say. One year around the holidays we had some paramedics out to the house for tea (not really) and my husband was wearing his Santa jammy pants. He didn’t realize that was the case until they were gone and we laughed pretty hard about it. We haven’t had to use rescue or maintenance inhalers since June or so. Gosh could I blog about asthma! We should start a group on Ravelry!

  7. kate says:

    Oh! Do tell what kind of tea you drink!

  8. naomi says:

    Huh. I completely failed to think of alpaca.

  9. Ann says:

    Yes. I, too, am interested in the tea blend. I see chamomile or chrysanthemum blossoms. What else was in it?

    I was on this Chinese herbal concoction that was pure nastiness in a cup. I’ve since given that up. However, my latest chest cold has the asthma rearing its ugly head again. Now, I’m looking for something that is not quite so vile.

  10. funny how things get normalized in our lives if we live with them long enough—I guess sometimes that’s a good thing. take care–

    Laurie
    (also blessed juno)

  11. lanea says:

    Ugh, asthma. I didn’t realize I had it until a few years ago, and suddenly so many horrid, scary wheezing collapses finally made sense. Stupid asthma.

Leave a Reply

