Light Lunch

I’m guessing there are probably quite a few of you out there that made New Year’s Resolutions to lose some weight. Well, the spice mixes that I posted last week help make good snacks. Take nuts or pumpkin seeds, put a little coat of light oil on them, sprinkle a spice mix over and bake at 200F stirring and turning until they’re all roasty good. You can also use them to sprinkle over popcorn.

This week I made a light lunch that’s filling and really good. The recipe is for a salad dressing and hummus.
lightlunch_recipe

Roasted Red Pepper Hummus:
1 roasted red pepper
2 cups of prepared Chickpeas (soaked overnight and then cooked until soft)
1 small onion
4-8 cloves of garlic (all depends on how much garlic you like)
1/4 cup of lemon juice
3/4 cup of sesame tahini
2 tsp Cumin powder

Put it all in the food processor and process until smooth and yummy.

Spicy Honey Mustard Dressing
3 parts Spicy Dijon Mustard
3 parts honey
1 part Apple Cider Vinegar
2 parts good olive oil

The trick to this is to heat up the honey quickly in a double boiler or the micro for a few seconds. When it’s more liquid it will blend better. When I make the dressing I make a small jelly jar of it. I just cover it tightly and shake well. If you are just making enough to try out then whisk it together well.

SHOP:
The Shop has a new phone number you can call. 207-353-WOOL. Yup, my phone number is Wool! I can’t believe no one had that already. Really, wouldn’t everyone love to have that for a phone number?

FIBERY PURSUITS:
Knitting:
lump_forcanww
The shawl is nearing the end and looks like the typical drowned jelly fish as most of them do at this stage. I’m making 3 extra repeats than what the pattern calls for. Keep your fingers crossed that I don’t run out of yarn. I’m also hoping there is yarn left so I can make a swatch and show you the short row tips.

Spinning:
kidblend_blue
The special blend I’m calling he “Kid blend” is on the wheel but I’ve been without time lately. Only 1 bobbin is done. 2 more and then I can make my three ply and the final project I have in mind. I’m already itching to knit with it and I’m about a week away from doing so.

Weaving:
tabletweavingsetup
I have plans to talk at length about how I made this and all about tablet weaving. I actually started to write it here but it was so long that I clipped it out and I’ll write it another day. Gather some playing cards (about 10 will do for now) and I’ll be back later in the week to tell you what to do with them.

This entry was posted in Knitting. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Light Lunch

  1. Sara says:

    *drools* I love hummus… I used to eat a veggie wrap with hummus everyday when I was at the university. I wonder how much convincing it would take to get the husband to try it…

    Love the new phone number!!!!

  2. Amy says:

    what a great phone number. Love all the fibery pursuits, that blue is so pretty! I got my cards all ready.

  3. Janice in GA says:

    Can’t wait to hear about the table weaving. I’ve only dabbled in it a tiny bit, but I’d love to do more.

  4. Loopykd says:

    Light lunch is perfect! I do a hummus with roasted garlic that’s little more mellow. People get so tense with my raw garlic stuff (I tend to overdo the garlic). Congratulations on the WOOL! Yippee!

  5. Shannon says:

    How do you manage to do all the things you do and be a mother as well. I am amazed and jealous of your skills. Where did you learn spinning, knitting, weaving, etc? And you also have time to cook healthy food for your family. Are you really several people pretending to be just one?

  6. The kid blend looks wonderful….so shimmery. And I love the color. I feel the same as you….I have one bobbin of llama done and, although I am dying to finish it, I haven’t made a bit of time to spin. Can’t wait for Spa. That always gets me spin-motivated!

  7. Jennifer says:

    Playing cards… I’m intrigued.

  8. Erynn says:

    Yay tablet weaving! I’m going to be ordering an inkle loom soon so I can learn inkle and tablet weaving. Can’t wait to read your post!

  9. Juno says:

    I’ve never soaked and cooked chickpeas – use the tinned ones. I’ve been wanting to ask someone for ages if there’s a big flavor difference (mostly, with most things, I would never use canned if there was fresh. But legumes?) or is it more a matter using the closest to nature as a healthier choice?

Leave a Reply

