Spicy

I’m giving up my spice mixes today.

Taco Mix
1/2 C Garlic powder
2T sea salt
1/4 cup paprika
1/2 cup chili powder
1/4 cup Ground Coriander
1/4 cup onion powder
Optional 2T Cayenne

If you currently use those Packets of Taco mix – this is really very close. Use it to season beans, rice, or the Meat/meat substitute for your tacos. I use it the same way that I would those packets. I don’t just sprinkle it on as is. I mix about 2T with 1 cup of water and mix it in to whatever I’m making. If it’s something like the rice, I use the flavored water to replace 1 cup of the regular water. Voila – Mex flavor.

Breakfast Potato Mix
1/2 C Chili powder
1/4 C Roasted Garlic
1/4 C dried Cilantro
1/4 C dried parsley
1/4 C dried Chives
2T Fine ground Mustard

This mix is good as a final sprinkle on those breakfast potatoes. It’s also good to mix 1T with a 1/2 cup sour cream or soured Kefir to use as a dip for veggies or a spread for “burgers”. I usually add salt and pepper to the final product thus leaving it out of the mix.

Apple Sprinkle
1 cup organic Cane sugar
2T Cinnamon
1t ginger
1/2 t nutmeg

As it says, this is good to sprinkle over apples. It’s a good mix for baking but equally good if you just slice up some apples in a bowl and sprinkle this on top.

Knitwise
The time off has been good. The house isn’t any cleaner but I did get time to knit. I finished the Worsted socks for my girl
encore_socks
And then I finished those wretched Jiffy ones.
jiffy_socks

Then I worked on an old shrug to get it finished but I need to rip. It’s a self designed one and I need to redo the collar, it’s not exactly how I envisioned it. Actually, it’s one of those times that I thought fancy is better than plain and I was wrong. Sometimes plain is just as good. I’ll use the fancy somewhere else. But since it’s in the frog pond, I don’t have any pictures.

I did cast on for 3 new projects though….
I have to make you wait. I need to go shovel out the shop and get a load of shipping done. I hope those of you that are celebrating the New Year tonight, that you are safe and happy.

I raise my tea mug and wish everyone a happy and fiber filled New Year!

This entry was posted in Knitting, recipes. Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Spicy

  1. Manise says:

    Happy New Year Amy! Thanks for the recipes.

  2. Rebekah says:

    I just loooove taco spices. When we got married my husband showed me the error of my ways with spice mixes you buy pre-mixed, they have so much salt!

    Of course my favorite mexican flavor is not a spice but an herb, cilantro.

  3. Josiane says:

    Happy New Year, Amy! Also, I’m a bit late for the birthday wishes, but still, happy birthday too! (I had a quick look in Ravelry’s forum last night, and I saw the little birthday cake by your avatar…) Best wishes for the coming year!

  4. Amanda says:

    heh – don’t bother cleaning… just put the kiddo(s) in those nice, thick house socks and tell them to run/ slide around a lot and then shake their feet off over the garbage can… instant vacuum job, and better for the environtment than running the vacuum cleaner!

    happy new year… and by the way, i knit socks AND a cute dolly sweater with some sock yarn I got from you. It’s adorable!
    "Boston" Blythe meet, the Blythes
    it’s the one in the middle! :)

  5. Heather says:

    hey sweetie! Happy belated Birthday!!! Waiting not-so-patiently for spa ans Pom martini’s…

  6. Amy says:

    happy birthday and happy new year!!!

  7. Happy New Year (and belated birthday, of course)! Thanks for the spicy new recipe. Sounds yummy!

  8. The breakfast potato spice mix sounds yummy – thanks for sharing. Happy New Year!

  9. Ann says:

    Thanks for the taco mix recipe. I just found out my favorite taco spice pack (Taco Dust — http://www.bluecal-ingredients.com/productsandservices/powder.php) has been discontinued. I’ll keep your ratios in mind as I try to create my own mix. I just have to get my hands on some lime juice powder.

    Have a great New Year!

  10. Jennifer says:

    Raising my tea mug to you too! Happy New Year.

  11. Gina House says:

    Happy New Year, Amy!! And a very happy (but belated) birthday! (i wish you a bloggish birthday on my latest post) Those socks are so colorful and cute!

  12. Lora says:

    Happy New Year Amy!!! We talked about you on your birthday at Gina’s house and hope you felt a little twinge of knitting birthday wishes sent your way from all of us in Manch!! Hope your birthday was great!

  13. sandy says:

    You are brilliant! Just when I needed a recipe for taco mix! :) I knew there would be a great alternative with WAY less sodium!
    Happy New Year, Amy!
    xo

  14. Arleta says:

    Mmmmmmmm-mmmm-mmmm. Your recipes always sound so good.

    Love the socks! I need to knit more!

    Hope your new year is great!!

  15. Loopykd says:

    Wow Amy! You Rock and thanks for the recipes. I will definitely use them. Happy New Year to you and your beautiful family.

  16. Nicole says:

    Thanks for the recipes, Amy, and happy new year!

Leave a Reply

