Get your drink on.

Drinks are the recipe this week. Not the type of drinks for those trying to behave. But drinks for those that are celebrating on New Years or those that are “dealing with relatives”. No, these aren’t healthy. We can take a break from that routine for a day here and there. All in the pursuit of fun or trying not to kill that rotten uncle. Don’t tell me you don’t know what I mean. 90% of the families out there have “that uncle”.

Easy Pina colada
pinacolada
Bacardi Rum
Pineapple and coconut juice
French vanilla stevia – or vanilla extract (1 drop per drink)

I’d tell you how much to put in but really it’s a “to taste” kind of drink. I’m a lightweight so I have 1 cup of juice to one shot of rum. You can serve it with a few cubes of ice or blend it up with ice for the frothy type of umbrella drink you’d get on a beach someplace.

Pomegranate Martini
Orangecello
Good Vodka (don’t get the cheap stuff, you’ll regret it)
Pomegranate juice

1 part vodka, 1.5 parts Orangecello, 3 parts juice
It’s just yummy. It really is. I could drink these until they find me under the table. Relatives? I have Relatives?

Incognito Cocoa

Your favorite hot cocoa or any chocolate that you can find that you can liquify (this is when you know you’re getting desperate)
Add in Some Kahlua (the coffee flavored stuff)
Voila! You have a slightly alcoholic Mocha
If that most annoying relative is really getting on your nerves, add some vodka to it as well. It helps take the edge off and it might actually prevent you from saying those things that everyone wants to say to them but never does only when you say it your Mom gets embarrassed and all upset and you don’t really want to do that. If you’re drinking though, you have the added excuse of, “I”m sorry, I was drinking” and most families will forgive you and you got to say what you wanted to anyway so it’s all good.

My PSA
I’m just teasing about the relatives. I know you and I all have fantastic relatives and none of them ever make us bite our tongues in silence. And drinking is not always a good idea. No underage drinking and certainly no drinking and driving.

KNITTING CONTENT:
I’ve been working at finishing up a few things. I finished one of the Shetland mittens but it’s blocking at the shop so I couldn’t take a photo. I did however finally finish the sample sweater for the Big Ball worsted yarn
bbw_jack_sweater
I’m wearing it today and maybe I’ll get a decent photo in action.

SHOP NEWS: I’m taking a shipping break and a break from the shop to visit with family and have a real holiday. I’ll be shipping today and then not again until the 31st. Be safe and have a fantastic holiday.

This entry was posted in Knitting, recipes, Spunky Eclectic. Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to Get your drink on.

  1. Monika says:

    The sweater looks wonderful. I like it already. You go and take a well deserved break! Have a wonderful time with your family!

  2. DebbieB says:

    LOL. I do believe everyone has that uncle/SIL/cousin. It’s possible some of us have all three. *rollseyes*

    Merry Christmas to you and your little Boogies, Amy. Thanks for the enjoyment your fiber brings me each and every day.

  3. Amy says:

    Merry Christmas!!! Thanks for the drink ideas. I was on my way to the store today to get some more rum, because it is always gone when you need it most. That is a great looking sweater too!

  4. Karen says:

    Merry Christmas Amy!

  5. Jennifer says:

    The sweater is gorgeous!

    Have a peaceful and joyous Christmas.

  6. Loopykd says:

    Merry merry (looks like you have that covered) Christmas! Wooo hooo!

  7. Heather says:

    mmmmmmmmmmm…pomegranate martinis………Merry Christmas, sweetie!

  8. LaBean says:

    Yep I have relatives and other familial sorts that work my nerves. All year long in fact. But the Holidays mean I can get a little drink on and just breeze through. Thanx for the recipes. Happy and Safe and Happy Christmas!

  9. suzanne says:

    I usually add whiskey to my hot chocolate. It’s a good warm kick.

  10. Bridget says:

    “Trying to behave” is my middle name . . . Have a great Christmas!

  11. Mary says:

    Also remember, don’t drink and knit! (Unless you like frogging, that is.)

    Have a happy and merry one!

  12. Merry Christmas! And enjoy a well-earned rest with family and friends.

  13. Norma says:

    What kidding? I certainly have “that sister-in-law” and “that brother.” The tongue gets positively bloody sometimes from the biting of it! Have lovely holidays!

  14. Gina House says:

    MUST. KNIT. WORSTED. SWEATER! I have the yarn! Please share it!!!

    And, btw, my favorite drink of all time in Pina Colada. YUM-MY!!!

  15. Lisa says:

    I had to chuckle when I read this – it’s not like I have noticed myself drinking more when I visit the relatives – oh no, not me :)! But thanks for the yummy recipes. I’ll probably be trying some.

    Have a wonderfully relaxing holiday!

  16. Lorena says:

    Delurking to hail the Pomegranate Martini! I’m so popping in the liquor store after work tomorrow.

    Hope the rest of your week is relaxing and easy!

  17. Christine says:

    Norma and I must have the same SIL.

    Glug, glug, glug…

  18. Christine says:

    PS…and Happy Birthday! (Yeah, a little early, but otherwise I’d forget to say it.)

  19. Arleta says:

    Hehehe, of course I don’t need to drink to deal with relatives, they’re all great. *wink

    Those recipes sound yummy! I’ll have to give ’em a try sometime.

    Hope your Christmas was great and the New Year is too!!

  20. Michelle says:

    I have that uncle. Big thanks for the recipe.

    Happy New Year!

Leave a Reply

