Armenian knitting

I’ve been trying to think of how to describe this book without giving away all of the info that makes it worth while and it’s hard. The history and information is interesting. But more interesting is the technique used.
book_armenianknitting

It started with the Schiaparelli sweater. You know the one. The one with the bow tie:
book_armenian_bow

Basically the technique is a way to knit intarsia in the round without it being actually intarsia. You are carrying both colors all the time. It’s so interesting because it’s not technically fair isle and it’s not technically intarsia. It’s an interesting technique that I plan to use as soon as I get some time.

I want to make this:
book_armenian_cossackvest
That vest is the main reason I got the book. That because it was co written by Meg Swansen and Joyce Williams. It has to be good, right? It is. I had thought I could get the pattern and rework the vest in such a way that I didn’t have to do the intarsia because it was so obviously intarsia. Now I’m looking at all things “so obviously intarsia” in a completely new light.

Oh and the club is half out the door and the rest will go out today.
If you want to ruin the surprise and peek….. The yarn and the hat.

This entry was posted in Knitting. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Armenian knitting

  1. Jennifer says:

    Intarsia without the intarsia? I’m very intrigued.

  2. Amy says:

    that bow is too cute. It reminds me of those tuxedo t-shirts. And I had to ruin the surprise because I am just like that :D I can’t wait!

  3. Chesley says:

    ooooohhhh… the vest… love the vest.

  4. Wendy says:

    Shall I peek? I’m leaving on Sunday so I won’t see it till I get back…unless I peek…

  5. Tonia says:

    Ooo that book looks interesting.

    Can’t wait to get the new club.

  6. heather says:

    off-topic: i gots my club fiber (whee!), but no info tag! what it is? what’s the exclusive colorway?

    i’m thinking of trying another four-ply, but this time playing with the color some. :-)

  7. Arleta says:

    I love those colors!! Lucky clubbers.

    Happy Holidays to you and yours!

  8. Gina House says:

    Oh, those are so beautiful!! Gonna copy that book for me??? (he he)

Leave a Reply

