Potato Pancakes

These aren’t hard at all and I’m sure most everyone knows how to make some version. Mine are loaded with Garlic.

Mashed potatoes for supper.
Wash a bunch of potatoes really well, chop, boil. Then I mash them with sour cream and garlic. Instead of sour cream you can use a little lemon and tofu or that Tofuti Sour Cream for Vegetarians stuff. Eat hearty but save some for breakfast. Sure you can make this the same day you’re making the pancakes but it works much better if it’s cold.
recipe_potatopancake
Now comes the hard part (which isn’t very hard at all). Form it into a patty (this is why it’s easier when it’s cold). Put into a pan of hot oil. you don’t need a lot of oil, but you need a skim of it so the potato doesn’t stick. I usually saute the onions and mushrooms next to the pancake. I also like it with spinach or chard (I just happen to be out right now). I remove the pancake when it’s done and then add a touch of soy with the veggies that are cooking still. And then put it on top of the potato and eat.

Fibery pursuits.
I finished spinning this for mittens:
shetsampler
2 ounces and about 120 yards of each of four colors in Shetland. I devised a mitten pattern to work with this. As soon as I get it wound I’ll be working on it…. well. I’d like to finish this mitten first:
mitonesivenosdec07
It’s the Mitones Ivenos mitten in handspun BFL. I have to kitchener the top and finish the thumb. I’m not sure if I’ll do the second one. The loose cuff bugs me. I know it’s designed to go over the sweater or jacket but … I’ll wait and see what I think before I pass judgement. Of course I do have plans to make gloves with January’s fiber of the month colors. Yes, I’m already thinking of January. I finished December’s fiber and knit a hat:
fiberclub_dec07hat
You didn’t think I would really show you the color’s did you? But this is a pretty good hint. Check out the stripes!

I did finish 2 other things:
quant_fruitstripesgum
Quant in a handspun Navajo 3 ply – the colorway is “Fruit Stripe Gum”. I had originally made the yarn to make mittens for the girls but I had to make a Quant so I did. I think Miss 7 going on 20 will like it. I’m hoping she also likes her new vest
mvest4
I need to still block it, weave ends and put in the zipper. The pattern is from “Soft and Simple Knits for Little Ones”. I altered the pattern a little because I always do and I was using a different yarn. I used Ella Rae which is gorgeous for being mostly acrylic. I really recommend this yarn as far as washable goes. I like it enough that I’m thinking I need a sweater in it.

This entry was posted in Knitting, recipes, spinning. Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Potato Pancakes

  1. wendy says:

    Such pretty knits!

    Oh, I never tought of doing potato pancakes that way…must try it out someday soon.

    Thanks for the tip on the Ella yarn I’ll keep my eye out for it when I’m shopping.

  2. PuppyMomma says:

    Trader Joes makes a purty good potato pancake if I do say so myself. And that’s a good Jewish endorsement. I’ll have to give your recipe a try tho, see if we can get you a Jewish endorsement too.

  3. Amy says:

    evil does not even begin to describe you :P Ella must be special if you are thinking of making a full sweater with it. I might have to track some down.

  4. Amy O' says:

    here I am, looking at this nice grey & grey striped hat – duh! when will you be shipping? (like I have time to get to it – I still have my Aspen, the Lincoln and my Berries to get to!

  5. Rhonda says:

    I love the vest. I have a Miss 7 going on 20 also. She would love a vest like that. With all the weather we have been getting in Oklahoma I really need to do some winter knits.

  6. LaBean says:

    Mmm. Potato. Pancakes. Will do.

    The Mitones Ivones is pretty! Too bad you aren’t really feeling making the mate. I know exactly how you feel, with hubby’s socks, and I haven’t even finished the FIRST one.

    Wanna know how much attention I pay half the time? I didn’t realize the picture was black and white. I just looked and said OOH COOL grayscale. I’m a wreck.

  7. Monika says:

    Love your Shetland spun yarn. The Quant looks great. I hope the Fiber of the month December is NOT green/red/and white! :o)

  8. Jennifer says:

    That is such a cute vest! I think she’ll like the Quant too.

  9. Chesley says:

    The vest looks great!

    How does Quant fit? I’ve been thinking of making it, but worried it was too wide.

  10. Maggie says:

    I jumped over here as soon as I saw your post that you posted the hat photo on your blog, and it’s greyed out! SNEAKY. ;)

  11. Gina House says:

    I love Anything with potatoes…mmmm!

    All your handspun and knitterly things are wonderful. You sure can get a lot done this time of year…me…I’m hopeless!

  12. marta says:

    yummy!! potato pancakes! latkes! The chili looked wonderful, too – enough to add it to the menu this week :-)

    I can’t believe how beautiful your spinning and knitting is – it’s all very inspirational.

    The Ladybug is happy and being used a lot! I really REALLY love her. Thanks for getting her here in record time.

  13. Bad Hippie says:

    Those pancakes look yummy! And so much easier than buying the hash browns or shredding potatoes for hash browns. We’re going to try that for dinner next week!

    Happy holidays to you and yours.

    sue

Leave a Reply

