Chili

It’s snowing again.
snowyday
Glorious isn’t it? I knew it was coming and it just made me really want some chili. I’m sure I blogged a recipe for chili before but it changes every time I make it so I don’t think it’s all that redundant to blog about the one I’m making for today.

chilirecipe

Soak 16 ounces of Black beans overnight. Drain and rinse.

In a large stock pot – saute 1 large onion. Then add the beans and enough water to cover. Boil on medium until they’re soft. At the same time in your crock pot (Or wait if you are using just one pot on the stove) put in 2 quarts of tomatoes. I used the ones that my Mom had canned at the end of the summer. I add in garlic (amounts will vary to your taste, I add in a lot) and let it simmer for the same time as the beans are cooking.

I took out 1.5 cups from each pot to make other things. Beans will be used in tacos or on salads the rest of the week and the tomatoes I’ll use in a small soup for lunch.

Combine the beans and the tomatoes. Add in about 3/4 cup of TVP, Red Pepper flakes, Cilantro and Chili powder
to taste. Crock pot or low simmer for 5-8 hours. Mine will probably be there for 8 hours. Chili can sit there for more time as long as it’s not burning.

Fiber stuff.
Because we all know beans aren’t enough fiber talk for any of us.

I think the weekends are getting shorter. I seem to be accomplishing less “me” stuff. I did a bit of spinning but the rest of the time was spent daydreaming about new designs and working on the vest for Miss 7 going on 20:
mvest3
If only I hadn’t fallen asleep on the couch while knitting….

This entry was posted in Knitting, recipes. Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Chili

  1. Linda D says:

    Ah, but did you stop knitting *before* falling asleep? I’ve done some very interesting knitting when my eyes fell asleep before my fingers did… ;-)

  2. Bridget says:

    The chili sounds yummy. I need to make some too.
    I love the wreath from your last post – I gave away all my FF a while ago, but I might actually go buy some . . .

  3. Tonia says:

    The snow is so pretty. Our snow is already gone and we have been having days and days of rain. I want snow, not rain.

    I took a nap yeaterday and that is very unlike me. I am not a napper. Must be the weather, the dark days are getting to me. Give me some snow to bounce the light off of. ;)

  4. Heidi says:

    Guess we have the same idea. It’s not snowing here, nor will it probably anytime this year, but it’s cold. I made a nice red bean soup with sausage for dinner Saturday night and it’s even better the following night!:-)

  5. wendy says:

    I’m loving the snow where I live now. We’re getting it every week but hardly any is sticking but I don’t care I just love watching it falling.lol.

    I alway just stick my beans in a crock pot unsoaked and cook on high for about 6-8 hours…works great.

  6. Sara says:

    For crying out loud… stop posting such delicious food unless you’re on your way to deliver some to me post haste! *grin*

    It looks wonderful… I should make some chili over the weekend.

  7. Artful Dodger says:

    That chili looks and sounds delicious. I’m off to the grocery!

  8. Amy says:

    That will teach me to go to the store before I read your blog! I have everything but the beans. I might need to take a special trip to the outer world this week for some.

    Sleep sounds wonderful, I think I might go get some right now.

  9. Arleta says:

    At least your progress photo shows progress. :)

    Chili sounds good! It’s getting cold here.

  10. Doug Sapper says:

    Another great add-on, I really could not have stated the idea much better by myself.

  11. cheapJelp says:

    can any one give me advise on how to keep a fish fed while am on holiday for about a month or so i might have an idea on how to keep my parrots fed but to be on the safe side plz can u also help me on that best answer recieve 10 poins and will be appriciteted by me and my happy pet ‘so far’!!!!!!!!

Leave a Reply

