Wreath?

A couple of weeks ago I decided the shop needed a wreath. I had an idea to make one out of fun fur. But then the thought o knitting with fun fur…. well. Most of you probably understand that feeling.

So I thought of a scarf that my sweet Aunt made me. It’s a prefectly green fun fur scarf. Well, it just had to become a wreath. I took a hay wreath (a styrofoam one would be jsut as good) and I pinned and stretched the scarf all around the wreath. Then I tied a bow over the spot where the scarf met ends.
wreath
Cute no? I have a desire to make more. So I’m going to take a couple of commercially knit scarves and make another for my home.

I actually have knitting done too:
mvest2
I’m 2 inches away from starting the arm holes. Hopefully I’ll have this done soon. Though I’m itching to get some spinning done so I might end up setting this aside for a few days so I can get a pound or so of fiber spun up.

Have a great weekend – stay warm.

This entry was posted in Knitting. Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Wreath?

  1. LaBean says:

    That is pure genius. Using fun fur to make a wreath is unbelievably clever. I saw the picture but didn’t even THINK fun fur until I read the post!! I’ll remember that for next year, that’s for sure.

  2. Amy says:

    There is a battle going on in my brain between the cool wreath and the idea of knitting with fun fur.

  3. nana nancy says:

    I love it What a great use of the scarf I done mind knitting as long as the rows are short Should I be knitting another? What are you planing to do with the hat?

  4. Alexandra says:

    It looks so adorable and fiber-y. Could you just wrap the yarn around a form to make another one? (Like fly-tying or floral stem wrapping.)

    I can’t think of anything more perfect for a fiber shop. You really are a genius and inspiration, Amy!

  5. Gina House says:

    GREAT wreath! It almost looks real!

  6. Julie says:

    What a great wreath!

  7. michelle says:

    Very cool :) Now you need one of Maryse’s
    fun fur trees to complete the ensemble :)

  8. Tonia says:

    What a wonderful idea! It is so cute!!

  9. Jennifer says:

    I love what you’ve done with that scarf!

  10. What a great idea for a wreath!!! And I’m thinking maybe some miniature versions would make great tree ornaments or package toppers…

  11. jane says:

    That is brilliant! And looks great. I love it!

  12. Marlena says:

    What a great idea! Kinda makes me want to find some green fun fur. (Do they still make fun fur?)

  13. Arleta says:

    That is so cute. I want to go find some fun fur scarves to make some, because I don’t really want to knit with the stuff, either, but as cute as that is I just might. lol

  14. Sara says:

    I love it!! What a fantastic idea!

Leave a Reply

