20 days

Some of you might remember that I’m a potter. That I worked professionally as one for something like 10 years. I don’t think I’ll ever not be a potter even if I’m not making much pottery these days. I always feel more calm when my hands are in a lump of clay. I just love it. When I can’t be working I take pleasure in using the pottery of mine and others. So today I dug up some knit/sheep related Pottery:

Sheep and knitting mug!
Kendig Cottage Very pretty sheep pottery
Knitting Needle Jar
Little Ceramic Sheep So sweet!
Caroline Smith Pottery Really pretty landscapes with sheep.
Knitwear pottery This is a must see, it looks like Aran vases and such. Very pretty indeed.
Ebay has some really nice McCoy spinning wheel planters. There seems to be a ton of them. They are wicked cute though.

This one isn’t exactly pottery but I have to mention it. It’s the most beautiful hand knit “pottery”. It’s all knit and it’s certainly very cool.

If you are looking for some other spinning collectible – something like a photo,a lamp or a charm…. There are a ton on EBAY.
I have one of those really cute lamps.
xmaslamp
I got it as an early Xmas present from my friends Scott and Mindy. Thank you again guys, it’s super cute.

What have I been doing?
I’ve been avoiding that awful chunky jiffy sock with:
worstedsock
A worsted weight sock for Miss 7 going on 20

mvest
A vest for Miss 7 going on 20. Trying to make as many projects for her that are not those awful socks. Ok, I’ll still probably finish one pair of socks but certainly not both in that awful yarn. Don’t think I’m bashing all acrylic – the other 2 projects for her are mostly acrylic. I am bashing Jiffy. It has to be my least favorite acrylic ever. I’d rather knit with Red Heart that everyone else bashes. I’ll have more info about the vest on my Ravelry for those that are curious.

And I’ve been spinning:
c_tstorm2ply
Darn flash made it look brighter than it is. It’s Corriedale in the colorway Thunderstorm. Just a 2 ply that will be nice for socks or some such. We’ll see what I actually end up doing with it.

This entry was posted in Knitting, Shopping, spinning. Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to 20 days

  1. Monika says:

    Thanks for the links. Knit Wear is an amazing idea. I love the vases.

  2. Janis says:

    This brought to mind some really cute sheep/spinning pottery I saw at the Iowa Sheep and Wool. You might like. http://www.jenniethepotter.com/store.asp

  3. Tonia says:

    We got snow!!!! Yay!!! Sadly it won’t be around for long. It is supposed to be 60 on Friday. Where is winter?

    The encore sock looks so fun. The hand spun is so pretty.

  4. Gina House says:

    Hanspun looks wonderful, Amy! And I am IN LURVE with that lamp!!! OMG, is it fantastic or what? I keep thinking, where would I put one???…..

  5. Amy O' says:

    For Acrylic I just love Ella Rae too!

    And your Thunderstorm is one of my favorite colorways! Looks great!

  6. Rebekah says:

    OH my goodness Amy! I have the exact same lamp. I always wondered if it was one of a kind, or if it had any companions.

    Nick bought it for me at an antique store and fixed it up for our 11th anniversary this last August.

  7. Amy says:

    I love those aran vases! They are stunning. Jiffy must be pretty bad if it makes Red Heart look good.

  8. Jennifer says:

    I’m using practically the same acrylic yarn for a hat and mitten set for my daughter, only instead of black, picture white with the mulit-color ply. I don’t mind working with the Encore as much as other acrylic yarns. I just finished a hat and mitten set out of Bernat Camoflage (all acrylic)… *shudder*

    I love the spinning wheel lamp!

  9. theLady says:

    Pretty handspun, and I love those sheep figurines!

  10. Arleta says:

    I love all of the links you share! Pretty knitting, your girls are so lucky. Great spinning, too! :)

  11. Alexandra says:

    Jiffy is putrid. It also washes like crap. It comes out with more pills than a pharmacy. I knit a lot of Lion Brand before the internet became popular. I feel your pain!

    The sock looked super cute, though.

    Red Heart isn’t all bad…my grandmother and mother crocheted a bunch of afghans for our family with it. It feels like home and I have wonderful memories of poking my toes through those blankets.

Leave a Reply

