It's snowing!

I’ve been waiting for this. I can’t wait to go sledding. I’ll have some pictures for you the next time I post. It’s not all winter wonderland white yet.

I do have a recipe for you today. A great breakfast for a snowy day. Pumpkin Pancakes.
Imagine picture here – we ate them ALL before I could remember to take a picture

1.5 cups of brown rice flour
1 flax egg
1/4 cup of crushed walnuts (I grind them up finer than you get them in the package)
1/2 cup pumpkin (cooked and pureed)
cinnamon, nutmeg, and ginger to taste.

Cook like you would any other pancake. I always make a double batch. We eat one batch and the second batch I partially cook it and then I put them in the freezer or the fridge. The next time we want pancakes and I don’t have the time to make them, I can pull them out and heat them up in the pan. They finish cooking and they don’t get soggy like they do in the micro.

On to knitting.
Finally I have a picture of Baby Boogie’s “Lello” shawl:
bb_fcshawl_lello
It’s the Forest Canopy Shawl using worsted weight superwash. I used 7 repeats instead of the usual. I was afraid of running out of yarn. I would have if I had done another repeat. As it is, it’s just slightly smaller than the original shawl I did in the correct yarn. I’m going to do another one in worsted weight. I figure using Big Ball at 450 yards per skein – I’ll be able to make a pretty good sized and warm shawl.

I also finished my mitts.
newmitts07
And I’ve worn them plenty too. The yarn is a 2ply handspun – the colorway is from Hello Yarn’s fiber club. I didn’t use a pattern, I just made them. But I have some notes that you can see on Ravelry

This entry was posted in Knitting, recipes. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to It's snowing!

  1. nana nancy says:

    You need to make a batch of pancakes for your father. hfe is not happy today and we all know why

  2. Leigh Ann says:

    The pumpkin pancakes sound really good– do you have to use pumpkin scooped straight out of the pumpkin, or could you use the canned pumpkin like you use in those pumpkin muffins you posted… forever ago. I still make those a lot.

    Also, the shawl looks really appealing. I think it’s part of this whole orange kick I’ve been on lately.

  3. Tonia says:

    I so want snow. They are calling for 1/2″ in Wed. then more for Friday. I hope that there is enough to go sledding this weekend. Here’s hoping for a good sledding snow for you.

    The shawl and the mitts look great.

  4. Amy says:

    Love the lellow :D It looks like a great snuggly shawl and those mitts are fantastic! They look so warm and at the same time so very usefull

  5. Heather says:

    Great knits! Loving the mitts. I have to get some made for myself, but I am mired in Christmas knits right now. Hope you had fun sledding!

  6. Emily says:

    The pancakes sound interesting. What is a flax egg?
    Nice lellow.

  7. Donna B says:

    The shawl is darling!

  8. Bron says:

    Love the lello!

    Your recipes are always just different enough to be intriguing!

  9. Doreen says:

    Another idea is to cook the second batch all the way then freeze. When you want to use them just pop them in the toaster – just like toaster waffles.

  10. Gina House says:

    OH, the “Lello” shawl is awesome!! I wish I had a daughter! (Can boys wear shawls?) And the mittens are excellent!

Leave a Reply

