Grinch or Monkey Farts

I have 2 new colorways and I can’t decide which one I like best. In case you aren’t on the Notify list – the update has been done.

We got nuts for bananas around here. The littlest one especially is monkey crazy for them. Making a Monkey fart, banana colored yarn and fiber was just natural. I think I’ll make something out of this for the baby monkey child.
ss_monkeyfarts

And of course, ’tis the season for the Grinch. This was inspired by the cartoon and my Dad. He’s not really a Grinch but he plays one on Christmas. I need to make socks for Dad so it just seemed natural that I had to make some Grinchy colorway. I started these for him:
grinchysocks

Not that I have a whole lot of time. I have some awful socks to finish. I’m procrastinating on buying another skein. I weighed the yarn out and there is no way I’m getting another sock out of what’s left. I did buy some more of the worsted weight version – it’s only slightly less painful.

And then I realized that with all my mittens in the shop as samples, I have none. Zero. Zilch. I have one pair of fingerless mitts and that doesn’t always cut it. so I’m making some out of the same handspun I used for Baby Boogie’s bonnet.
mymitts07
They’re convertible mitts. I’ll finish the mitt part then make the little cap. In case you’re wondering why there are no fingers and it’s just a tube, the fingers in fingerless mitts, bug me. I find it restricting for some reason and mush prefer them without.

I’m so gleeful when I come to the green sections and the red orange sections of this yarn. I think I’ll be making a new set after the holidays. A pair that is all greens and orange reds. In fact I’ve been spindling that yarn in my spare moments.

This entry was posted in Knitting, spinning. Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Grinch or Monkey Farts

  1. PuppyMomma says:

    Plus, you knew that if you named ANYTHING Monkey Farts I was going to buy up as much of it as I could afford. Dammit.

  2. Rachel says:

    love the mitts. Are you going to make both convertable or just the dominate hand? I have been thinking I need a pair of mitts or gloves, this idea just tipped it in the mitts favor. Now if I can figure out how to make the chevron mitts from knitters almanac to convert I’ll cast on today.

  3. Tanya says:

    Heh heh heh. Monkey farts. Would have never imagined the yellow and brown.

  4. amy says:

    the monkey farts yarn is so yummy yellow. i really love homespunny (ha!) goodness of the colors of your handspun. i’m they same way on fingers in mitts. i’ve long known i have a hard time with things being comfortable between my fingers. i don’t like thicker rings for the same reason. it even took me weeks to get used to my wedding ring, but i persevered on that one. ;]

  5. naomi says:

    I love the banana-y colorway.

  6. carrie says:

    Wow, that colorway looks beautiful with those mitts – very festive. And I like the new colorways =) I’m thinking mittens with the Grinch colorway, too

  7. Amy says:

    Great mitts! It would be hard to not smile when you hit a green or orange place. You will have the brightest hands in town :D

  8. Monika says:

    Love the Monkey Farts colorway!

  9. Arleta says:

    Love the new colorways. I didn’t know monkey farts could be so pretty. Hehe
    Great mittens, too. I love that they’re handspun!

  10. Chesley says:

    Can’t wait to get my grinchy yarn. I’m going to make both boys grinchy socks.

    Love the mitts – your pattern?

  11. Bad Hippie says:

    Hey, love the mitts idea. Do you use a pattern, or could you share the adjustments to an already established pattern? I need to make some of those. :) And grinchy is awesome…just how I get to feeling this time of year. Although I bet your dad will be a lot less grinchy with those on his feet.

  12. Manise says:

    My kids all said “Lello” for yellow when they were small. She’s going to love the shawl. I’m on the update list, but don’t seem to be receiving them.

  13. Gina House says:

    Hmmm…monkey farts for me. I love the shade of yellow you picked!

Leave a Reply

