Roasted

I think I’ve probably talked about Roasted Veggies before. I don’t think I mentioned adding beets to the mix. It’s good. You don’t need to add much for extra flavor because the beets bring it all for you. And the beets do one more really cool thing. It turns everything PINK!
beetsroastveg

Choose equal amounts of root vegetables. I chose Carrots, White Maine potatoes, Sweet potatoes, Beets and Turnip. I had about 2 cups of each and then I added in 2 cups of mushrooms, 1 cup of onions, 1 head of garlic (peeled and minced, I don’t need to tell you to peel it though do I?)

I put it in the oven late so I added 1/2 cup of water to the bottom of the pan and covered it so everything would steam first to cook through at 400F and then I uncovered it for 15 minutes to get a little more roasty flavor. If you have yourself “together” then you can just roast at 350 for about 3 hours (depending on the amount you put in of course).

It’s all really easy and you can set it up in the oven and spend the rest of the time knitting….

I finished Baby Boogie’s new winter bonnet:
bb_bonnet_07
I used Hello Yarn‘s Top Down bonnet pattern and the yarn is handspun from a month of the Hello Yarn club.

And I’m almost done with her Christmas present that I started this past Wednesday:
lumplace_fcs_yelo

That’s right, she’s getting a yellow blob. It’s a Forest Canopy done in Worsted Superwash in the Colorway “Walking on the Sun”. Yellow and Pink are the 2 colors she knows well right now. She goes around the house pointing out YELLLLLOOOOO. So it had to be yellow for her. I have one more wrong side row and then I’m binding off. If I hadn’t fallen asleep on the couch at 8:30 last night, I’d have gotten it done. I’ll finish it and then block it at the shop after club is shipped out.

Once that is done I’ll get working on “7 going on 20″s Christmas present. She changed her mind about the sweater, well she still wants it. There just happens to be something she wants more:
jiffysocksyarn

Super chunky bedsocks. Yes it’s acrylic. It’s because she leaves her clothes on the floor and then scoops them all up indiscriminately and throws then in the wash. There is often doll clothes or the dolls themselves that end up in the wash. Acrylic it is.

Then I want to make Dad a pair of socks. Not necessarily for the holidays because I don’t like to get too stressed out about holiday knitting. But I came up with a new colorway this past weekend and because of it’s name, my Dad has to have socks in it. I’ll unveil the new colorway on Thursday with the update. It will be December’s color of the month.

And that’s it for the holiday knitting. Both girls could use a new sweater but with other gifts in the box, I’ll be able to knit sweaters without feeling like I have to get it done “in time”. I have other holiday projects up my sleeve but I’ll talk about that another day, it could get long.

This entry was posted in Knitting, recipes. Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Roasted

  1. Jennifer says:

    Very cute bonnet! And the forest canopy is so pretty in that yellow. I’m fullin the holiday knitting too. You have a good point about completing a couple small projects for Christmas. It eases the guilt on the knowledge that the bigger projects just aren’t going to get done.

  2. I love your recipes – thanks for sharing! I’m an omnivore but I do try to focus on veggies/grains over meat. And roasted beets – yum.

  3. Amy says:

    cute little bonnet! I might have to make one of those too. I will be starting to think about Christmas knits next week. Just small things this year.

  4. Danielle says:

    Such a cute bonnet, and the shawl will be lovely too. I’m very impressed that Ms. 7-going-on-20 does her own laundry!

  5. Tonia says:

    The bonnet is adorable. You have been a busy woman.

  6. Chris says:

    The veggies sound yummy. Sounds like the 7 going on 20 is quite the character. Love your blog and thx for access to all the great sock patterns.

  7. Gina House says:

    I LOVE the yellow Forest Canopy! What a super present! And the bonnet is adorable. I adore little knitted items for kids! Pink veggies, huh? Wow!

  8. Norma says:

    Sandy once commented on my blog that she does believe that you could coat anything in olive oil, including a rusty car bumper, and roast it, and it would taste DELICIOUS. And I agree.

  9. Bad Hippie says:

    Cute! I’m hoping to do a forest canopy for myself after the holidays…with yarn from you, of course!

    Why does no one understand that “yarn money” is a legitimate Xmas present request?

    I hope the socks are wonderful!

  10. Kathryn says:

    I think I gain weight just by reading your blog. Both physically and yarn wise! ;)

  11. wendy says:

    oh, that yellow is so pretty!

Leave a Reply

