New Cook

There’s a new cook in the house. Baby Boogie insisted on cooking her own eggs the other day. She didn’t do a bad job either.
bb_cooking
Both girls helped me with the pumpkins yesterday. Which was good because even with all their help it still took me all day to do all the cooking and canning I had planned. Because of all the cooking I did, I’m able to share 2 recipes with you today.
pumpkingutting

Cranberry Dressing (jelly, sauce, relish, whatever you want to call it)
cransauce
Makes 1.5 pints

1 – 12 ounce bag of Cranberries.
1/2 cup of water
1/4 cup sweetener (rice syrup, cane juice, not honey that changes the flavor)
1/2 orange pureed (skin and all)
1/2 cup of Apple sauce

Dump everything into a large sauce pan. Bring to a boil and then reduce the heat by half. Stir frequently for about 30 minutes. The cranberries pop as the cook, though it’s not wild popping so you don’t need to worry. You’ll be able to tell when the sauce is done because the cranberries will have popped and it’s an amazing red color. Remove from heat – the sauce will thicken as it cools.

I canned my sauce and I quadrupled this recipe so I’d have lots to can. This is a good way to bring it to Thanksgiving dinner and it can be a gift to the host or it can be eaten that day. It’s also good muffin filling. Remember this because I’ll give you a recipe for “surprise” muffins soon.

The Reason for the Pumpkins
Pumpkin Pie
pumpkingpie
Vegan, no soy, no gluten. And now that I’ve said what’s not in it:

3 cups of pureed cooked pumpkin
2 cups of Cashew milk
nutmeg, cloves, allspice, cinnamon (I only used a pinch of each but you know what you like)
a pinch of salt
3 flax eggs

I put everything but the “eggs” into the saucepan and reduced the pix just a bit. There was a lot of water in my pumpkin and I didn’t want it to take forever to set up. So I cooked it on med-low for a while until it started to thicken. If you use canned pumpkin you might not need to do this.

Then mixed in the “eggs” and I poured it all into 2 dishes. One dish was just greased, no crust and it came out more like a pudding. Because of the flax it was nutty to begin with and a really good pumpkin pudding. The other pan was a pie pan that I used a walnut crust. The crust is simple walnuts that I crushed into flour almost and moistened it with cashew butter so I could spread it over the bottom of the pan.

The pie came out a little too nutty with the walnut crust. When I make it again I’ll come up with a different less flavorful crust.

We canned a ton of pumpkin yesterday – we do a lot with pumpkin throughout the year. Finally my canning is done for the year. This is what the shelves look like:
rootcellar_full
Not too shabby. My Mom is storing all but a few jars of the stewed tomatoes. So all you see there is what I was able to can over the year. Oh, yesterday I also pureed a more oranges and canned those in the tiny little jelly jars. I didn’t know you could do that. It will be perfect for when I forget to get oranges at the store and I need one for a recipe.

And now, I got some spinning done.
I had ordered a massive box of feathers and I had to make this:
pheasantyarn
Falkland wool, Pheasant feathers, Crochet cotton in gold sparkle.
I’m in love with this yarn. It’s hanging at the shop right now, though I think it needs to be a hat.

The other bit of spinning I have done that I can show off is my Aftur sweater.
afturcolors
I still have about half of a pound of the main color (not shown up there). I don’t think I’ll need it though. I started the sleeve for the sweater only to really realize that I need to be finishing up deadline projects. It’s that time of year….

Speaking of which, my “what to buy” edition will be starting next week. I’ve been collecting links for weeks. There’s some cool stuff that you NEEEEEEeeeeeeed. Or that you need to have bought for you.

This entry was posted in recipes, spinning. Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to New Cook

  1. Adrian says:

    First, YUM.

    Second, your Aftur is going to be gorgeous!

  2. Sara says:

    The canning shelves look DELICIOUS! I think I might have to try canning next year.

    The feathers look so great!!!

  3. Bron says:

    I’m in awe of your canning prowess. It all looks so tasty! I’m using that cranberry relish recipe for my Xmas gift baskets. Thanks!

  4. Amy says:

    I bow to your canning prowess. That is an impressive display! I hope we can be that successful next year after we get the garden going

  5. Cynthia Caron says:

    Wow, your canning efforts are impressive! I’ll try your cranberry relish/sauce. I do something similar that includes grapefruit but not applesauce.

  6. Jennifer says:

    Delicious!

    I love the skein with the feathers. How fabulous!

  7. naomi says:

    Flax eggs?

    I envy your canned-goods storage space. But it’s full of really pretty things…

  8. Tonia says:

    Yummy. The yarn looks great. How cool that you put feathers into some of it.

  9. Janice in GA says:

    I’d never heard of flax eggs, so I looked them up. Interesting! And good for you, too! :)

  10. Zonda says:

    Thanks for the orange tip in the cranberry sauce! I’m going to try it this week! You sure filled up those shelves! Cool yarn with the feathers too!

  11. allena says:

    for the cranberry relish, how long does it keep? do you need to put any sure jell in it? i’m a new(er) canner. i’m sooo loving your canning!
    the yarn you have is beautiful!

  12. Arleta says:

    Wow! That’s a lot of canning. You sure make a lot of yummy looking stuff! Food, and yarn! The girls look adorable too, I love it when the kids help out!

  13. Cheryl says:

    I LOVE the feathers idea! How did you spin them in? Do they stay in the yarn? A hat with feathers in it will be so cool. I want one too.

  14. Rebekah says:

    Awww that is so cute, Baby Boogie cooking.

  15. Nicole says:

    Ooh, I like the idea of adding orange to cranberry sauce!

  16. Mary says:

    I think Baby Boogie has turned into Little Big Girl Boogie!

    It looks like you have some good eats in your pantry!

  17. Gina House says:

    Your canning shelves make me feel like a horrible housewife, but they are sooo amazing!

    Your rainbow of handspun skeins makes me dizzy with pleasure and I am dying to see what you’ll be doing with them.

    I am totally blown away by your sparkly/feather/golden goodness…whoa…I would LOVE to see that in person!

    Hope you have a wonderful Thanksgiving and please give the girls a big hug for me (and you, too!)

    We’re hoping to plan a trip to see you and the new store soon. I’d hate to wait until SPA to see you!

  18. Norma says:

    Oh, I LOVE your shelves full of home-canned goods! Gorgeous!

  19. Oohh, cool yarn! I love stuff like that.

    Do you think the cranberry relish would work with dried cranberries, given a little more liquid? I’ve got several packs of dried cranberries in the larder that I have no idea what to do with. (They were given out free with a quart of milk or something.) It would be good to use them up.

Leave a Reply

