Breakfast Cereal

I love cereal. There is just something about it. I love it any time of the day. I really could eat cereal for 3 meals each day plus snacks. Have you looked at boxes of cereal and made it down to the ingredients only to be discouraged with all the crap that is in it. Caramel color? Tocopherols? Calcium Carbonate? Not to mention all the sugars. Making your own cereal may seem time consuming and it is a bit. But the cereal you make is healthier and in my opinion it tastes better. For those of you that can’t eat wheat, you can have cereal again.

breakfast1
Granola
3 cups of oats (You can get gluten free ones)
.5 cup of local Honey
1 cup of nuts of your choosing (I like walnuts, pecans, and almonds)
1 tsp Cinnamon

Preheat the oven to 200F. I mix the dry ingredients in one bowl. I warm the honey in a cup (it distributes easier when warm and thin), then add it to the dry ingredients and mix it up well. I lightly grease a baking sheet and then spread this mix out on it. If you are on the raw food diet you can dehydrate this. It won’t have the same roasty taste but it’s still good. In either method I stir up the granola once every 30-45 minutes. After about 3 hours, it’s all done. Do a taste test, you will know when it’s all done.

I add in the raisins later, or not. You don’t want to bake raisins, they burn in granola.

Cashew milk
1 cup of cashews
4 cups of filtered water
1 tsp honey
Optional – 1/2 tsp salt

In the jar you see above, I place my cashews and milk. Let it sit in the fridge overnight. In the morning I strain off all but one cup of the water. I blend what’s left with the cashews. I blend it for a long long time until there is no bits of cashews left. I think this is something you will learn about. You’ll know when it’s smooth. Then I add the rest of the water back in with the honey (I don’t add in salt, I don’t think it needs it) and blend it just a bit to mix it all together.

This is what I also use for making my Kefir. I love cashew milk. Once the little kefir grains are trained to the cashew milk, they thrive really well. I know there are some reports that they don’t do well in non mamalian milk but mine have been doing very well, making kefir and growing. They don’t grow much but they are growing.

Fiber goodness….
I’m working on a review for the Ladybug. I even got it working in double drive. I’ll post that later today or tomorrow. For now I need to get my day going so I can be at the shop on time.

This entry was posted in recipes. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Breakfast Cereal

  1. Tonia says:

    Yumm sounds good. I love granola cereals.

  2. Melissa says:

    The granola sounds yummy – I am going to try it! Not sure about the cashew milk…what does it taste like? I don’t care for soy milk at all, though I will use rice milk for smoothies. Do you need raw cashews?

  3. Donna B says:

    I love cashew milk…oh so yummy. I didn’t know you could make kefir with it!

  4. Amy says:

    mmmmm granola. I love it with dried berries in it.

  5. Necia says:

    Hi Boogie,
    You want me to delurk, just post up a yummy recipe like this! Thank You! I will be trying this before the week ends. I love granola, and I love cereal. The cashew milk sounds great too, so I’m gonna make that too!

    Necia

  6. Joni says:

    That’s the easiest milk recipe I’ve seen. You really don’t strain it? That’s the part of making milks at home that I have a hard time with, the straining. I also can see that you must get more protein in the milk, without removing part of the nut. I’m going to get some raw cashews when I go to the store tomorrow, so I can try it out. And the granola? I will be trying that today! Thanks. :)

  7. Arleta says:

    Ooh, that sounds good. I do love cashews! Homemade cereal and milk mmmmmmmm.

  8. yvette says:

    Thanks Amy, that sounds yum, I am going to try it tomorrow.

Leave a Reply

