The scarf

You know I’ve been busy if casting on for a scarf sounds like a good idea.
thescarf

I think I might be able to blame Norma a little for it. Her friend in This Post looks so cute with the scarf on and Norma made it sound like an easy knit and she posted a link to the pattern. What’s a gal to do when faced with all of that? That’s right. The gal casts on.

The scarf and I have an understanding. She knows that as soon as I have more time and can work on a more complicated pattern, she’ll be cast into the UFO heap. She is made with handspun but still that may not be enough to get me to finish it. We’re all ok with that.

In fact what I need to pick up when I have a brain is this:
pinkacrylic_for_7-20
Yes, it’s acrylic. My girls need something washable and there is a specific sweater that belongs to “7 going on 20” that I need to replace. It’s something that she got as a gift last year and it started to fall apart after the first washing. Now it’s in shambles and the only way I can throw it away (in a nice way, we could of course do this with lots of screaming and tears) is to replicate it. This is the yarn that was chosen to replicate it. I’m pretty sure the yarn will hold up well. Lets hope I hold up to the acrylic knitting.

I’m leaving you for the weekend with a picture from Halloween.
gypsyhalloween
My sneaker wearing Gypsies. And in case you can’t see what is on their “crystal” ball – the future foretold a couple of girls with massive bags of candy and more candy floating all about them. That was quite true. They both overfilled their bags.

This entry was posted in family, Knitting. Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to The scarf

  1. Suzanne deSalme says:

    I do believe you must have the cutest girls in the world! They are simply adorable. Their smiles warm my heart.

    Suzanne

  2. Cheryl says:

    See you tomorrow!

  3. Danielle says:

    Aww, such cuties! I remember dressing as a gypsy in second grade. My mom made me a purple satin skirt that I just ADORED. I wanted to wear it to school every day.

  4. Julie says:

    Those are the cutest Gypsies ever! I used to love dressing up as a Gypsy; I did it several years if I remember correctly.

    Looking forward to seeing you on Sunday!

  5. Maggie says:

    Adorable progeny!

    I knit my first scarf since I learned how to knit a couple of months ago. Handspun definitely makes it more worthwhile!

  6. Jennifer says:

    What cute little trick or treaters!

  7. Arleta says:

    Aww ~ What cute little gypsies! Great idea for the crystal ball, too!

  8. Amy says:

    Those are the cutest Gypsies! You are braver than I am, venturing into acrylic. I tried to go back to acrylic last week and had to frog it after about 15 minutes. It just got to tight and squeaky.

  9. Linda D says:

    If the weather doesn’t cooperate tomorrow, expect us on Sunday. I wouldn’t miss it!

  10. Donna B says:

    Wow. You really love your children. :-)

  11. If those little gypsies showed up at my door, I would be just overwhelmed with the cuteness. I would probably give them all my candy, the keys to my truck and my microwave. I am a sucker for cute little kids all dressed up and smiling like that!

    Fortunately, no one trick or treats at my house. I’d be without food and have no transportation to get more!

  12. Alexandra says:

    Thank you for flaunting that acrylic, girl. I use it for my girls (almost as cute as yours) and it’s nice to see a fiber goddess fessing up to it.

    Seriously, I love you 1000x more now!

  13. susan says:

    Those girls are just adorable!

  14. Marlena says:

    What a cute idea for costumes! I love the crystal ball.

    Is the favorite sweater a handmade one, or store bought?

  15. Loopykd says:

    Beautiful babies! I didn’t know we had girls the same age! I think the acrylic won’t kill you. Sometimes it’s very soft. I am knitting with some right now too. Good luck!

Leave a Reply

