Dear Mom

This is one of the meals that Dad really liked and wanted me to make sure that you had the recipe for. My Mom was away doing shows for a few weeks and so we’d have my Dad over for a few meals. I cook lots of mushrooms which Dad likes.

recip_rosemarygarlicmushrooms
Stuffed Mushrooms (or Pork Chops if you like thos things)
Makes 4 Large Portabella caps or 2 caps and 3 chops.

Stuffing
1 large onion
8 ounces of Baby Bella’s cut up
Lots of Garlic
1.5 tsp of Rosemary (I put mine through the grinder but you can just crush it)
3 cups of cubed stale bread
4-6 ounces of Vegetable stock (you can do this with apple juice but it makes it a little too sweet for me)

Saute the onion with the garlic and the mushrooms – When they’ve cooked down, add in the Rosemary and the stock. Then add in the bread. Mix it all up well. I then transfer this to a bowl and I steam the large portabella mushroom caps to soften them up. The cooking time will be lessened if you do that.

I lay out the caps (and chops) then add the stuffing on to the top. So nothing is actually stuffed, more like the stuff is flopped on it. Then bake at 375 until the top is crispy and everything is cooked through.

On to knitting content.
I finished these last week but I don’t think I mentioned anything.
handspunsocks_bflalpaca
The pink is Alpaca and the turquoise is BFL. The yarn wasn’t spun with socks in mind so they definitely won’t be the hard wearing kind but more of the laze around the house and do nothing kind…. Which I rarely get to do so what will mostly happen with them is that they’ll sit here for a while waiting for the right day. The right day will be the day I can’t stand not wearing them anymore. They’ll wear out eventually and I’ll be ok with it. They were a quick knit and they do feel luxurious on.

Ellen tagged me for the 8 random things meme. I did do this a ways back so I’m just going to link to that now. There couldn’t really be 16 odd thing about me that I could fill it out again???

I’m working on getting ready for the Grand Opening party stuff. I’ll announce all the good stuff soon.

This entry was posted in Knitting, life, recipes. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Dear Mom

  1. Julie says:

    I’m so excited about the Grand Opening! What hours will you be open on Sunday?

    Love the socks; I can almost feel how soft they are right through the monitor screen. The colors are gorgeous.

    The Stuffed Mushroom looks YUMMY! Unfortunately, I’m on Phase 1 of South Beach for another week, so now bread for me. But, next week….

  2. Julie says:

    I meant “no” bread, not “now” bread; but I do want bread “now” ;-)

  3. Arleta says:

    mmm I love mushrooms. Those look so good.
    Cute socks, too. I need some more handknit socks!

  4. Amy says:

    great looking socks. Nothing wrong with a little bit of luxury when you are workin hard. You can feel extravigant as you dye :D

  5. elisa says:

    Y’know, I was just wondering what to do for dinner tonight…I think this just answered that question for me…

    Oh and I’m ridiculously jealous and envious of everyone who will get to be at your grand opening party. :) In a good way, of course.

  6. Tonia says:

    Yummmm that sounds so good.

    Love the socks. They are very cute.

    Good luck with your grand opening and party.

  7. Linda D says:

    Can’t wait for the Big Day. I’m saving up my pennies… I gotta get me some more of your wonderful roving!

  8. Sara says:

    I seriously just drooled on my keyboard… the mushrooms look so delicious!!

    Can’t wait to see you on Sunday!

  9. heather says:

    GRAND OPENING!!!! so exciting! can’t wait to come up and visit the now with more wool shop.

Leave a Reply

