Rhinebeck Wrap-up

Now with wheels!

But, first I want to give a big shout out to the husbeast. Without him I would not have been at Rhinebeck. He spent the weekend still ill from the cold we caught and he was managed to keep himself, the 2 kids and the dog alive. Not just alive though, they all seemed pretty happy. I think this means I can do this again. ahh the sweet failure of success.

I know it seems late to be finally making a wrap up, but I’m getting out club shipments and I didn’t have photos of the wheels and other goodies. I do now. The wheel I want to introduce you to first is Miss Hyacinth. She has nothing to do with Rhinebeck. I thought buying her would stop a Rhinebeck wheel purchase but I was wrong. She is my most favoritest wheel.
hyacinthstained
She was taken completely apart then stained, waxed, and oiled all over. I put her back together before I left for Rhinebeck even though she wasn’t completely done. I put the final coats of finishe on her just before leaving. This wheel just purrs when it’s used. It’s a dream to spin on. If you can’t remember what she looked like when I got her you can click HERE. If you ever have a chance to get one of these, do it!

The Tripe Picker. I picked this one up used from another Ravelry member early on Saturday Morning. If you do a lot of fleece, you NEED one of these. Holy cow is it making my life easier. I didn’t know just how much I’d appreciate it. Now I don’t know how I lived without it.
pgpicker_yay

The rest of the day at Rhinebeck is a little blurry. I felt like everything was just wooshing by. I saw so many people I hadn’t met before and got to see many people that I knew and really wanted to see. If I tried to name you all, I’d forget someone and then I’d feel really bad. So I’m just going to say that all of you that I knew and saw again, it was awesome seeing you. All of those that I met for the first time, it was so good to meet you, I really enjoyed talking to you all. I hope I get to see each of you again soon. You all are coming up for SPA in February right?

The first equipment purchases at Rhinebeck were these little guys:
purplheart_lucetspindle
The spindle is a little Purpleheart guy from Golding Spindle and the Lucet is also Purpleheart and is from The Lucette Lady. I had such a hard time picking each of these and didn’t exactly have Purpleheart in mind for either. I didn’t even realize until I took the photo that I even managed to pick both of them up in the same wood.

The next purchase started earlier in the day with a little help from Deb. Sweet Ella stood with me in the long long fleece line (we got their first so you can imagine we had to wait longer than anyone). Then there was the mad dash inside. I ended up with 6 fleeces out of the 8 that I had originally chose. It’s ok, the 6 I got are luscious and I’ll make up for the other 2 when I hit up the farms in Maine for more fleece in a few weeks. There was the little BFL, the Black Romney, the Blue Lamb‘s fleece, the CVM, the Black Wennsleydale that had one second place, and finally the one that everyone drooled over (Adrian, you had your chance), the first place CVM. If you want to know what CVM is, click HERE.

I know some of you are wondering what I’m going to do with the tonnage of fleece I’ve acquired this year. Well, I’ve gone through 2 Romneys, 1 Border Leicester, the BFL and I’m working on a CVM today. (that leaves only 9 fleeces to go) I’ll have the washed and dyed locks in the shop. There is no way I’ll use it all and I had planned on making it all into batts. I’ve lately had requests for washed and dyed locks. So it will all get washed and dyed, if you don’t get to it first, I’ll make it into batts.

The shopping didn’t stop there. On the ‘high’ from the batt purchase I found myself in front of the Philosopher’s wool booth. I’d always wanted a kit of theirs. No special reason, I just have always wanted one. I almost ordered one to have it shipped and then on the advice of Ella that it would clash with my hair (we can’t have that), I went for this one:
philosopherskit
I’ve been able to resist winding so far, I have to finish a couple of things and then it will be on the needles.

Then the next thing I knew I was talking to Sheila who is my wheel hero. And we both walked over to the Merlin Tree booth together talking about the 2 cousin chair wheels he had sitting there. She wanted one, I wanted the other. And through a little buzzing and thinking, we both told him to hold the wheels for us.
chairwheel_front
This wheel wasn’t entirely a surprise (I played with her in VT and I knew I liked her). She’ll be living at the shop for now. The speed with which she spins, makes me giggle like a little school boy. The only wheel that would have been better would have been one of the pendulum wheels. Oh my did those make my heart flutter. That wheel however is a space suck and unless I build an addition onto the house, I won’t be getting one.

Just before I picked up the wheel I stopped at Foxhill Farm. I love Alice’s stuff and Alice. I first picked up 2 fleeces from her at Cummington Sheep and wool. After going through half of one of them, I realized that I would be getting many many more fleeces from Alice. She was next door to me at VT sheep and wool but I didn’t get a chance to purchase anything. I figured I needed something to spin on the new wheel so I got these:
foxhillfiber
Each is 4 ounces. One is all Cormo and the other is Cormo and Alpaca. Luscious stuff. If you ever see Alice at a show, you need to get something.

I never did get to spin because I went to the awesome Ravelry party. I don’t think I’ve ever been to an event like that. I remember years ago talking to Jess on another online board about this idea she had. I had no comprehension of what was to come. I’m glad she followed through and Ravelry is succeeding beyond anyone’s imagination.

I think that’s it. I did haul home quite the car full of stuff. But really the memories are worth far more than if I had completely emptied my personal and business bank accounts getting loot. To everyone I went with, to all my friends and to all that I met, and to husbeast for taking care of the girls so I could do this – THANK YOU for a great fibery fun weekend.

Oh, and if you want more photos there are some great ones on Purlewe’s Flickr.

This entry was posted in life, spinning. Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Rhinebeck Wrap-up

  1. Jennifer says:

    Purpleheart is such a gorgeous wood! I have a Philosopher’s wool kit that I picked up from Stitches West a couple of years ago. I want to start it, but I’m scared of the steeks. I like the one you picked out.

  2. anj says:

    awesome wrap up babe! glad you had as much fun as I did.. And you’re darn tootin’ I’ll see you at SPA!!!

  3. Weaver says:

    I can’t believe that is the same wheel I saw up on the table at the shop! She was beautiful then, but she is GORGEOUS now!!!!

  4. Lynn says:

    I love Philosopher’s Wool – the concept, the books, the colors! – but I had never seen their sweaters or kits till Rhinebeck. Unfortunately, the scratchiness of the wool turned me off, and I’m one who likes your basic Bartlett-type yarn. Oh, well, I guess I’ll just have to use their patterns with softer yarn, since I’m such a wimp!

  5. heather says:

    man, that chair wheel is sweet. may i try it when i visit? *pretty please*

  6. Beckie says:

    Nice to meet you in person at Rhinebeck. You made quite a haul!

    Good job husbeast!

  7. Amy says:

    Woohoo! You got all that in one car?! How did you decide what to play with first?

  8. Tonia says:

    Looks like you got a ton of nice things. I have some CVM my friend got it for me at MS&W, but it is no where as nice as the 2 you have.

  9. Sara says:

    Both wheels are GORGEOUS!!

  10. juno says:

    Can you tell me more about the finishing – I really want to do some of that with the Quebec wheel, but wood finishing is new for me.
    Steps, products?

    Looks fantastic.

  11. heather says:

    Glad you had such a great time. (You deserve it!) Maybe next year I’ll get to join y’all.

  12. Forgive me if this is a silly question, but why are the CVM’s wearing jackets in that picture? Are they newly shorn or is that to protect the fleece from the elements?
    I’m working on convincing my husband that he wants to go to Rhinebeck next year. It may actually be working… :)

  13. Dianna says:

    She is a beautiful wheel – both of them, actually. May I touch them one day at the shop? You came away with some awesome stuff, Amy. One day….

  14. Manise says:

    On Sunday I was admiring the lucets and unable to choose- foolishly walked away without one. The Purpleheart one was right in front of me too! Great aquisitions across the board! Very drool worthy! So glad to see you!

  15. Marlena says:

    How the hell did I miss the Philosopher’s Wool booth?! I thought I hit the whole festival, but I must have missed a big chunk, because I keep hearing about stuff I didn’t see.

    I’d never felt Cormo yarn before Rhinebeck. It’s so soft and squishy, I’m in love!

  16. indigomuse says:

    I still hope to get to Rhinebeck one year. Sounds like you made off with quite a haul. I’ve only recently been lured by the call of CVM and I.AM.IN.LOVE. Can’t wait to see if any of that ends up in your store.

Leave a Reply

