Book of Yarn

By Clara Parkes of Knitter’s Review fame.

I’ve been trying to think of what I can write that will give this book justice. I’m not sure that I write well enough to really explain the love I feel for this book. Yes, I had a tiny part in the designing of a few things and that does certainly make it special but it is a wonderful book even if my designs were not there. The book had passed around to all the family and I was putting it onto the bookshelf for safe keeping (If I leave books out that I’m reading they often become coasters and that’s not a good thing). Anyway, as I put it on the bookshelf I was thinking this is my most prized book, and I have several OOP gems.

There have been other fantastic reports on this book
Crafting Jen
Adrian who has 2 awesome designs in there.
And Clara’s thoughts on THE Book

The book really is a gift to all knitters. It’s so well thought out and has so much information. I’m reading through it but it’s going to be one of those books that you can read several times and get more out of each time. It’s got invaluable information on yarn choices. In the patterns sections it gives you examples of patterns for the yarns you have.

The designs are fantastic too. Clara put together an amazing group of designers for her book. Of which, I’m humble to have been one of them. There were 2 designs that I have had yarn to make since the book wasn’t even in editing stage yet. I spun some yarn to make Adrian‘s double thick mittens (although now that I want to cast on, I can’t find it) and after finishing one sock in my pattern:
kboy_guernseysocks
The Guernsey socks, I bought the yarn so I could have a pair for myself. I never started them. I’m notorious for only making one of a pattern but eventually I will make this sock again. I so love it. This is the original “swatch” for it when I was coming up with the right cable pattern:
sockgurenseyswatch

I could go on about all the patterns in the book and I’d want to take photos of them all. Really there isn’t a stinker in it. I have just a couple more of my designs that I want to mention:
This one was a joy to work on with Clara. It was her vision that really was the driving force in this:
kboy_vinescardi
This one used my Spunky yarn:
kboy_swirlyo
And this vest is something I had in my head forever. It doesn’t show but the cabling goes around the back of the neck. I love the little design features like that:
kboy_xoxvest

I promise the next post will be about things like Rhinebeck and pretty spinning wheels.

This entry was posted in Knitting. Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to Book of Yarn

  1. nuttnbunny says:

    By the Shopping Cart of Amazon – it will be mine!!!

  2. Julie says:

    Must have this book!

  3. anj says:

    mwah

    many many congrats. It was a joy to see your stuff.

  4. Amy says:

    Yay patterns! They look fantastic! There is no other feeling better than seeing your things in a book :D

  5. michelle says:

    I was at the book authors tent at the totally wrong time – they we all out to lunch (story of my life :) but I did get a chance to flip through it and was totally surprised by the patterns. I had heard so much about the yarny part that I did not even realize there was patterns. Duh! I love the vest of yours.

    At the beginning of the new month this book is mine. I hate that darn word budget :)

  6. Chesley says:

    Love the cable socks and vest – definitely need to make both.
    I’ll be ordering this for the shop ASAP. Congrats!!

  7. Sara says:

    I so need to get this book!

  8. maryse says:

    i was lucky enough to get to the author’s tent early and to get a copy signed by clara parkes. (i may have to have you and adrian sign it some day too). i just started reading it (yes, i’ll be reading it cover to cover) but so far i love it. i have a slew of “knitting” books — but this book has so much info in it that it can’t help but make me a better knitter (and spinner). and your designs are great. congratulations!

  9. Danielle says:

    Ooh, I wasn’t going to buy this book, but now I think I might!

  10. Rebekah says:

    Well there’s another book to add to my bookshelf. any suggestions on where its available for purchase.

  11. Marlena says:

    I just read Adrian’s post about this book. Between the two of you, it’s taking all of my will power not to feign sick so I can go to the bookstore RIGHT NOW!

  12. Lynne E. says:

    My copy of THE BOOK OF YARN arrived two days ago. Agreed, it’s a wonderful book!

  13. Loopykd says:

    Congratulations! It’s all beautiful and I have added the book to my Amazon wishlist. I do the same thing with any flat thing in my house. Coaster!

  14. Lucia says:

    Oh, great, another book I can’t live without. And this one’s even in English.

    Wheel pix, please.

  15. Maggie says:

    Congrats! The book looks fantastic. :)

  16. heather says:

    i LOVE that vest! the only mod i’d make when i knit it (sorry, but i can’t help but make mods….) is have the cables alternate rather than line up. i even bought roving from Liberty Ridge with this vest in mind!!!!!!!!!

    show us the wheel, lady!

  17. DebbieB says:

    After you mentioned it the other day, I flipped through it at Barnes & Noble, and agree that it’s a really good resource. I have it on order now.

    Wheel, wheel, wheel. ;)

  18. Joan says:

    I bought it from Clara at Rhinebeck where she was wearing the pink angora sweater and loved both the book and the sweater seperately until I realized the sweater was from the book! All the patterns you did for it are wonderful, especially the XOXO vest which I’ve added to my must knit asap list [I even have the yarn!].

  19. Amy, that sounds like a good book to start for a knitter who doesn’t spin.

    And you have been tagged :) See my blog for the details ;)

Leave a Reply

