They call me….

lots of things, actually. But today you can call me “the finisher”.

I’m proud to report a bevy of finished projects. I know, its more common for me to be saying, “Woohoo! I started 12 new things”. But I’m finishing some and I have yet to cast on for the usual 12 new things! That’s not to say that I haven’t cast on for at least one new thing…

Last Friday I finished the Forest Canopy Shawl:
fo07_forestcan_soylent
And a close up:
fo07_forestcan_soylent_det
Spunky Eclectic SuperNova in Soylent colorway, size 5 needles. I bought the kit from my shop. I did one extra leaf repeat. I totally could have done more but I wanted it as a shop sample and for it to be close to the original. I did have plenty of yarn left over which will become socks at some point. I’m already planning the next one, which will be for me. This pattern really is easy. I had it memorized after the first repeat. It is the perfect beginner lace project. But even if you’re experienced, it’s nice to have some easy knitting. Talk about instant gratification.

Saturday I finished the Gulls wings socks.
fo07_hvbgullswingssocks
The pattern is from the book Socks Socks Socks. The yarn is Spunky Eclectic SuperNova in the How Very Berry Colorway. I love these socks. They are the perfect height and just right for my feet.

Monday I finished the RPM socks for myself
fo07_socks_slushrpm
That’s right – another pair of socks for me. I think more monumental than finishing all these projects is that I got 2 new pairs of socks. My feet are going to be happy to be warm. The pattern is RPM from Knitty and the yarn is Cherry Slush fingering weight with nylon (I probably got the name wrong yet again, sorry Joni, I promise to stop losing ball bands) from Union Center Knits.

I also started a new project of socks for me:
wip_handspunsock_albfl
The teally brown color is BFL in colorway Navajo Gems, the pink is Alpaca in the colorway Mandy. Neither material is something I generally would use for socks. The BFL is spun lofty and soft and Alpaca tends to stretch out. Still, I wanted a new pair of handspun socks and these 2 yarns were wound up and in my knitting basket. I wasn’t feeling well enough to keep running around looking for the right yarn so I used the thought; “the right yarn is the one in my hand”. I can’t remember what project I had planned on using them for, but they’re socks now.

Thank you all for the well wishes. I’m working on getting better. I’ve donned my mask and I’m working diligently at making sure all packages ordered by now are on their way before I head out to Rhinebeck. This is my last post (I think) until I get back. There is lots to do. But before I sign off, I do want to mention this book:
bigbookyarn
My copy just arrived last night. It’s downright magnificent. And not just because Adrian and I have patterns in it. There are lots of patterns from amazing designers and so much wisdom. I haven’t had a chance to read all of it so I’ll leave it at that and just tell you to get a copy, you won’t regret it. I’ll blab on more about it next week.

This entry was posted in Knitting. Bookmark the permalink.

23 Responses to They call me….

  1. Sara says:

    I am over the moon for the shawl… it is gorgeous!

  2. ErickaJo says:

    …Tater Salad. Sorry, you’d have to see the stand up routine, I guess :D

    I love the shawl! And guess what? I have your Soylent colorway on my feet RIGHT NOW! Spooky, huh?

  3. Jennifer says:

    Lovely shawl and socks! I haven’t heard of the book, but now I’m intrigued.

  4. Linda D says:

    Lovely work and lovely yarns. I’m saving my pennies for your big Grand Opening. Have fun at Rhinebeck!

  5. Cheryl says:

    Wow, that shawl looks fantastic! I love the little flecks of variegation, they add a lot of interest!

  6. Danielle says:

    Your green is perfect for the shawl, especially with the name “Forest Canopy”. And yay for new socks — just in time for cool weather.

  7. Tanya says:

    Congrats on the book! You’ve got quite an exciting couple of months happening right now. Have fun at Rhinebeck!

  8. Amy says:

    Yay for the book! I will have to hunt it down.

    So as I understand it, I will have to get a nasty cold in order to get any of my UFO’s done? I guess I will have to start licking pre schoolers. I NEED to get a bunch of stuff done.

  9. Marnie says:

    Amy, everything is gorgeous. I love when things are getting finished. I don’t feel it happens nearly often enough, but with FOs like those, it’s got to be particularly nice. I love that shawl and in that colorway…oh, to die for.

    I’ve been hearing a lot of buzz about that book. I’m going to need to hit the bookstore soon.

  10. Lynne E. says:

    Fabulous shawl, even more fabulous blocking!

  11. Susan says:

    Oh, I like the shawl in Soylent. I wasn’t sure that was the right color for a lace shawl when you started the shawl, but the finished project has completely changed my mind. The color and the lace go together well, and when you consider the name of the shawl, it’s just a perfect match.

    And if I buy that book, what are the chances I could get you to autograph your pattern in it????

  12. Nonnahs says:

    Wow- look at all your FOs! Congratulations on those, and especially on the book- I look forward to checking it out!

  13. Karen says:

    The shawl is just stunning in that colorway! Congratulations on the book! I will definitely check it out. I hope you are feeling better soon!

  14. Brenda says:

    The shawl is beautiful. I love the color and can’t wait to fondle it when I come to your shop. Have fun at Rhinebeck!

  15. sarebear says:

    Amy, you are evil. Just. Plain. Evil.

    THAT is THE most PERFECT Forest Canopy Shawl I’ve ever seen (well, I wouldn’t know about technique, so that’s not what I’m saying, although I’m sure yours is excellent!). It is such a beautiful pairing of pattern, yarn, and ease of stitching.

    Guess what my second shawl is going to be? Yup, this one, in THAT colorway. Plus, I get the added sci-fi geek factor techyness of the Soylent Green thing. A private giggle to myself as I wear the piece out in public! (See, I’m wearing it already, if only in my mind!)

    A while back I’d had a question about some roving in that color, and it’s nice to know my color instinct was spot-on.

    I’m going on and on but really, how could I not? This is going to be my desktop wallpaper for a while, if you say that is okay.

    Oh, and after reading my friend Crafting Jen’s THOROUGH review of this book, it’s a MUST have for me, or any knitter, I’d say.

    Mmmm mm mmm. I saw that my October SAL Roving I ordered has shipped – I’ll be looking forward to it, and finishing up the last of my Sept. roving while I wait! I just found my MIA digicamera, so now I’ll be posting pics too.

    Anyway, LOVE the shawl, the book, and everything!

  16. DebbieB says:

    How have I missed this book??? I’ll definitely need a copy.

    Love your shawl – the variegation in the greens is perfect. “Soylent Green is PEOPLE!!!!” Heh.

    I keep looking for “Riverwalk” listed as a colorway I can order in BFL in the shop, but so far no dice. You sent it as a sample with my new spindle, and naturally I was hooked, you evil fibercrack dealer, you. C’mon – can’t you dye me some? I need it, I need it! *whines and scratches arm*

  17. carrie says:

    Wow, you really ARE the finisher! Your projects look great – the shawl is so beautiful. I’m happily thinking about starting the pattern, since you say it’s easy to memorize. Have a great time at Rhinebeck, lucky girl!

  18. Nikki says:

    I love all the socks, but the shawl… WOW that’s beautiful!

  19. That’s a whole lotta finishing! It is inspiring me to maybe finish something. Maybe…

    Have a great time at Rhinebeck!

  20. Gina House says:

    Holy Moly! Look at all those FOs!! I absolutely LOVE the shawl….the color is amazing. And all the socks….well, if I can get myself knitting more than one of each pair, I might have some new pairs, too. LOL!

    Great job as always, Amy!

  21. Monika says:

    Congrats on finishing so many WIP’s! THe shawl is beautiful, must be that it’s my favorite color! So sad it’s only a shop sample. Of course, now I want this new book as well, have heard lots of good things about it. ;o)

  22. Nicole says:

    Beautiful socks and shawl!

  23. Nancy says:

    Gak! Its gorgeous,,,, I think I’m gonna have to frog mine up and start from stitch one!

    Wasnt Rhinebeck awesome,,, just sorry I didnt run into you at all. So many people that I just didnt get a chance to meet up with. Oh well, theres next year!

Leave a Reply

