All you sneaks

For the sneaks it was hard to pick just one.

There is the hide it under the horse blanket trick and keep the package in the stall until you can safely bring it into the house. Then there is the ingenious idea of making the other person’s eyes glaze over with the gushing about the yarn to the point where all they want you to do is to go away and stop talking about yarn. So that may not really be a sneak but it’s ingenious. Then there are a bunch of you that rush to get home before they do, or schedule deliveries so they won’t see it. That takes some real planning. Then there are the sneaks that lampoon themselves in their sneaky ways (such as losing their keys for a week because they were sneaking yarn and hid it quickly along with the keys or not being able to use it because you weren’t supposed to be in the yarn store). Priceless.

There is a yarn store that is collecting empty tampon boxes so some women can sneak their yarn into the house. There is the “someone else bought it for me” method of sneaking. That one is just classic. There is another story of a woman who died, her kids were cleaning out her house and found a loose board in the closet, hidden back there was a ton of yarn. She was a sneaker too.

I feel for those of you that have gotten caught too. It’s never a good thing to be caught mid sneak.

In case anyone was wondering. There were 4 times as many self proclaimed non sneakers. Not a ton of people entered the contest but if this is any indication of the population, there are way more of us that don’t have to sneak.

Without further ado lets announce some winners.

The best sneaking story goes to Brianna with her horse. She wins 2 skeins of Super DK.

Out of the rest of the sneak stories there was a name drawn… Tanya you get to chose some SuperNova.

Finally, all of you non-sneakers got put in a hat and the name drawn was Nicole (she didn’t reference a blog). Nicole gets some Skinny Sock.

Thank you everyone for playing along. It was a blast reading all of your stories. I don’t do nearly enough contests. I love hearing all your answers. I’ll try to come up with something just as good for the next one.

I’ll be heading out to the shop today and hopefully working on my wheel. My fingers are crossed that my Dad read my note and left me more sand paper and maybe some instructions. I think I’ve figured out a color too. I think….

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to All you sneaks

  1. Hi Amy, I’m glad I won even if it was “luck of the draw” will you be posting the sneak stories so we all can enjoy them?

  2. Hi Amy!
    Thanks so much! I’m not sure if I should be happy (WHICH I AM!) or ashamed. ; )

  3. Amy says:

    Congrats to all the winners! Now how will you be getting your prizes into the house?

  4. heather says:

    omg, the tampon box ploy is fucking GENIUS. shame i use a diva cup…

  5. Lynne E. says:

    Even though I don’t have to sneak, I always find the sneak stories to be a hoot! Thanks for collecting some more, especially the horse blanket and tampon box tricks.

  6. Yarn diet is over baby I’m parading around the apartment with this yarn on my head while singing “I won this for sneaking, I won this for sneaking” until I’m bored.

  7. Tola says:

    congrats to the winners!!!

  8. naomi says:

    I missed the contest, but I don’t need to sneak…Mel doesn’t care one way or the other about fiber or yarn unless it’s dangling in front of him or just waiting to be batted off a low shelf…

  9. Jennifer says:

    Now using the horse is fantastic! If only more of us had that option.

  10. Nicole says:

    Thank you so much, Amy!

  11. carrie says:

    Yeah, that blog contest was TOTALLY inspired. Very fun. =) Gratz to all the winners!

  12. Those are great!!! It almost makes me wish that I had to sneak yarn…it’s kind of no fun when there’s no challenge. I could hide it from myself, I suppose. But, then I’d just forget about it and go buy the same thing a month later. That’s just a bit silly. And expensive!

  13. loribird says:

    The tampon box idea is great (wouldn’t work as well for the male or post-menapause knitters, I suppose…) Lots of good ideas there, should I need them though :)
    By the way, Amy, events have conspired so I won’t be making it to Rhinebeck this year :( But my friend from Alaska is still coming to visit for a couple weeks, and we may come see you!

  14. Lucia says:

    Congrats to the winners! I love the tampon box… wouldn’t work too well for me, though.

Leave a Reply

