Simplicity

Sometimes the simplest things are the best.

We’ve come to the end of the harvest and I have tomatoes. A lot of tomatoes. We plucked all the green ones that are ripening on a mat in my garage awaiting. The ones that were already ripe, we’ve been trying to eat them. One of my favorite ways to gobble up tomatoes is in a simple salad.

simpletomatosalad

3 large tomatoes – diced
1/4 cup olive oil
2 TBS Lemon Juice
one good handful of finely chopped basil
3-4 cloves of crushed minced garlic.

Mix it all together and there you go. It’s simple and tasty. If there is sauce left over, I put it in a jar and dice up more tomatoes the next meal.

As for simple in the rest of what I’ve been doing. Well, I can’t say the rest is actually simple but there are simple things. The Forest Canopy Shawl is simple. It really is as Susan says, it’s a great beginner lace shawl. The repeats are easy to remember. I had it memorized after the first repeat. It’s gorgeously simple. Not that you can tell by this:
forcan_soylent_mid
That’s where we’re at now, the mashed lump of green lace. Pretty. But you all know the potential.

Knitting lace has reminded me how much I actually like to do it. I’ve dyed up some yarn to make 2 more shawls and I might actually finish the 2 that are marinating in the WIP pile. One is self designed and I need to find my notes before I continue. I suppose that wouldn’t be so simple. Now I simply need to get to the shop and start my day.

This entry was posted in Knitting, recipes. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Simplicity

  1. Marlena says:

    Oh, man, those tomatoes look good! I love that shade of green you’re using for the shawl, too. I found some sock yarn similar in color at the Fryeburg Fair last weekend.

  2. Lucia says:

    Averting my eyes from the yummy-looking tomatoes… I don’t know which is better, the hypnotic rhythm of lace or the metamorphosis at the end.

  3. Rebekah says:

    We do something very similar, but with some red onion as well, and sometimes mozarella. I just love a tomatoe salad.

  4. I put a bunch of tomatoes in the food dehydrator over the summer for soups and salads later on. I especially love dried tomatoes and basil as a flavoring for butter. So does my dad…I have to make it for him every time I come to visit!

  5. Amy says:

    love tomato salad with Mozzarella mmmmmmm.

    I have so many lace patterns on my Ravelry list. This is near the top of it. It is so simple and yet elegant at the same time.

  6. Jennifer says:

    A simple tomato salad is so tasty! Add an avodaco in there, and I’m in heaven.

  7. julia fc says:

    So little time left for the good ones. We eat them like that too, plus some cheese, all over some hot pasta.

  8. Amanda says:

    so true about the lace… a ridiculous blob of weirdness until ‘blocking day’… and then… all that hard work blossoms into wispy, fluttery leaves, flowers and flower baskets. (or whatever shape)

Leave a Reply

