Pink towels

The warp I put on the loom Saturday was pink. I had plans to use a variegated yarn for the weft.
inprocessweaving
Ok, I fess up, I didn’t weave them. Boogie Baby did.
bbweavingaway
This was about the point in the weaving when I realized that when I calculated the warp for length and waste, I forgot to calculate the shrinkage. The towels ended up smaller than I wanted but they’ll still do their job.

While Boogie Baby and I were weaving, the big one worked on math practice problems.
schoolwork907
Those things on her cheeks are old tattoos. They won’t wash off entirely. They just wash off enough so you can’t tell what they were. She still thinks they look cool.

I hemmed the edges and they were the right size
woventowels1
But then I gave them a run through the washer and dryer
towelswashed
They’re smaller but I’m ok with it. Like I said, they’ll work ok and it’s a learning experience. I’m sure that it won’t be the last time I forget to calculate the shrinkage. I did calculate it into the next warp. My memory is at least that good that I can remember for the immediate following warp:
cotton_nightorchid

This will be more towels. One waffle weave all in variegated and one zig zag in variegated and solid again.  I realy like both of those patterns.

This entry was posted in weaving. Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to Pink towels

  1. susan says:

    You can get the tattoos off in a flash with a little bit of baby oil. Once upon a time I had a small daughter who loved tattoos.

  2. Jessica says:

    How much shrinkage do you allow for waffle weave? I’ve heard that they pull in lots and lots but have yet to try them.

    I love the weaving babe! My little one (just a few months younger than Boogie Babe) had to “help” with sewing today. My pin cushion turned into her pin cushion! At least she was willing to hand me pins when needed and put the used ones back into the cushion!

  3. Amy says:

    Little helpers are the cutest kind! Mine insists on pulling up a chair and “supervising” in the kitchen. Yesterday she was telling the bagger at the store where to put the bags in the cart.

    I love the towels. Those look like so much fun!

  4. Lucia says:

    Amazing! I’ve had my MIL’s loom in my basement for several years… it’s probably about time I learned how to use it.

  5. Rebekah says:

    I have always been intrigued by weaving, and now as a knitter/spinner even more so. But I definitely don’t need another fiber hobby.

  6. Karen says:

    Beautiful towels Amy.

  7. Tonia says:

    They are very pretty. I cant wait to see the new ones.

  8. Sara says:

    I love the towels… the colors are perfect! *must not give in to temptation to try the loom*

  9. Marlena says:

    I love the pattern on those towels! I’m inching ever closer to seriously finding space for a loom. I love the look of weaving.

    Another thing I love? Boogie Baby’s crazy curls!

  10. DebbieB says:

    *covers eyes so as to avoid seeing the beautiful patterns and keep from falling down the weaving rabbit hole*

  11. Kathryn says:

    I would love to find out more about weaving. Never thought of making towels!!

  12. DeeAnn says:

    The towels are even more sweet with Boogie Baby help :) You do everything don’t you woman!?! I just got back on the internet!! Woo! My neice won’t let me wash all of the tatoos off either.

  13. Katie says:

    Pretty towels! What do you use to weave towels with? Cotton? I remember my grandparents weaving rugs with stripped rags on their looms. I think I still have my small room in their basement…

  14. Lora says:

    OOO I want a towel..those look so neat!! I need to come back up and see how you do that…I’m getting a back porch soon…maybe I need something on it.. like a loom? hahah!! my hubby would die! “Not ANOTHER craft!!”

  15. Monika says:

    What a neat idea! And I’m amazed on how verstile you are in your crafts. Is there anything you can’t do??? ;o)

  16. Arleta says:

    Ooh, she’s good! LOL Those are cute towels, and the next one’s will be even better. :)

    Adorable little tattoos on the adorable school girl, too. Lil Ar had some all over her face, and when they got that wierd dirt spot look, we used baby oil to get the residue off.

  17. Donna B says:

    You make me want to weave. Not fair. Lovely petite towels!

    And Happy new school year!

  18. carrie says:

    Wow, that’s neat! Weaving your own towels is very cool. Great pictures of the kids, too. Very happy looking children =)

Leave a Reply

