Sorbet

This may be more appropriate for the Aussies that are heading into their spring. Still, while we’re heading into fall and winter here I still sometimes like a frozen treat. Wrap up in a blanket, pour a glass of hot tea, and have some sorbet. Once again Sorbet is a good “raw food” dessert.

sorbets

Back is Pina Colada, Front left is Peach Lemon, Front Right is Berry Lime

Pina Colada:
Equal Parts – Banana, Fresh Orange Juice, Crushed Fresh Pineapple – If you are up for it, you can add in some Coconut flavored liquor or shaved fresh coconut. I topped mine with the fresh shaved coconut when I had a bowl.

Peach Lemon:
4 Peaches (with skin but no pits), Fresh juice from 2 Lemons, 1 Tbs Honey.

Berry Lime:
1 cup each Blueberries and Strawberries, Fresh juice from 1 Lime.

I froze the fruit (not the stuff I juiced of course) before I processed it. They were all simply made by whizzing them up in the blender. If you whiz them up when they’re frozen, you will skip a step and get to eat it sooner.

Sorbet is made basically by whizzing it in the blender, freezing for an hour, Blending again, then freezing until frozen through. Yes this sorbet will freeze hard but it tastes really good and fresh. If you are making this to serve to guests, Take it out, let it sit for 15 minutes or so on the counter and blend again before serving. It will still be frozen but the extra blending will give it back that creamy texture. Of course it’s really good to eat just as you make it so you may not have any left.

I try to keep fruit in my freezer all the time. I use the frozen fruit to make a quick sorbet or with different ingredients for smoothies. Which I need to get on soon so husbeast can take it to work.

I’ve done little knitting but I warped a loom on Saturday with the help of Nana but I’ve been thinking and I want it wider, So I’ll add on today. If I get anything done on it, I’ll surely take a picture. I have done quite a bit of spinning on this:
newyarnproject
It’s some wool alpaca blend I got in Maryland a couple of years ago. I know it’s white-ish but it’s going fast. I love pin drafted fibers. I was just spinning it to get it all spun up (there are 2 lbs of it) and then I found Aftur on Ravelry. I started out thinking of doing an Aran with this but seeing that sweater on Ravelry just made it click. I need to make that sweater. I have a bunch of Romney locks that I can blend with some of that Alpaca fleece I have and come up with the other colors. Once the pattern arrives I’ll sit down with my crayons and color a few options.

This entry was posted in recipes, spinning. Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Sorbet

  1. Bad Hippie says:

    What do you NOT make?

    That looks amazing! No corn syrup, no dairy – perfect for our allergy house!

  2. LaBean says:

    Who knew sorbet would be this easy? Not me, that’s for sure. And it’s so much healthier than ice cream. Thanx for the recipes. I’ll give it a try soon.

  3. Amy says:

    mmmmPeach! Looks so very yummy. Once I get my cooking mojo back I might give that a try.

  4. deb says:

    I love making sorbet. I’m spoiled with my electric gelato machine at work. Blackberry and cantaloupe were my favorites this summer.
    I love that sweater! I have some yummy gray shetland that I had started spinning thin, but I may have to change that. Or just use handspun for the top portion (that way I may finish it in the next couple years!).

  5. Loopykd says:

    Bella likes mango with strawberry together and sometimes peach added in. I always add a little lemon juice to the blender to brighten and some honey or sugar (but only about a tablespoon) to counter the lemon. I will definitely try the pina colada!

  6. Jennifer says:

    I don’t believe sorbet ever goes out of season – especially when it’s as delectable as yours. Thanks for sharing the recipes. Yum.

  7. Lucia says:

    I’m averting my eyes from the whole sorbet thing: yet more yummy stuff that the Diet From Hell forbids. The DFH is a cruel master.

    Your beautiful spinning OTOH is making me salivate.

    I think I may be slightly weird.

  8. Danielle says:

    ooh, that will be a beautiful Aftur!

  9. I’ve never made sorbet…but I like frozen desserts year-round so that might be a good thing to have around. I’d probably freeze it on a stick just ‘cuz everything tastes better on a stick. :)

  10. Gina House says:

    You’re making my mouth water! And not just with the yummy sorbet…oh, I bet that is delicious….but the fiber, too. That is the nicest color gray wool/alpaca. Gorgeous! (can you share some of that sorbet with me?)

  11. wendy says:

    OH…It all looks so yummy!

    Thank you for the recipes…again.

    That sweater looks lovely I can’t wait to see what color combo you come up with.

Leave a Reply

