Big and Bright

The shop is about to make her debut.

When I got home from VT Sheep and wool the shop looked like this:
emptyshop
And like this
emptyshop2

I was able to fill it back up on Monday but yesterday I was able to add the final touches of a table and another loom. Lets take a little tour… The fiber/spinning side of the shop:
spinside
If you walk past the wheels, you get to see the wall of fiber.
shopfiberout
Sure the wall looks bare but I have about 10 pounds drying right now.

Then if you look to the other side you see the yarn and weaving side of the shop:
shopyarnside
Did you check out that table? There is an antique shop near here going out of business and I just happened to stop in thinking maybe they have something fiber related or a table. And there was this lovely table with bright yellow chairs. I knew the shop had to have it. Here’s a better look:
newtable
It’s not in perfect shape, it is 50 or so years old. But it’s clean and it’s in pretty good shape. It was also really inexpensive, the most important part of that equation.

Now some announcements.

The shop hours are expanding a bit starting the 17th of September.
Monday 10-7pm – Spin Night 4-7pm
Wednesday 10-3pm
Saturday 10-3 pm

I’m having another Fiber Lovin Spin Saturday this Saturday – September 15th. So drop on by with your wheel or your knitting. Bring some munchies or just bring yourself. The get together is from 2 to 5. You can come in, try one of the 9 or so wheels, the more than 80 spindles form 9 companies or one of 3-4 looms set up. I have 2 of the looms all warped so you can try them out, The 3rd loom I’ll be warping on Saturday, if anyone wants to drop by and watch a warping, drop by early. I’ll even let you help.

There will be an online shop update soon. I have most of the photos done. I’m going to try to get it up for tomorrow and then have another update soon. I know you want some of the stuff that’s been dyed and drying. I’ll of course send out the notifications when I get the update done.

As a treat to myself for getting so much done in the shop, I grabbed one of these:
merino_superautumn
and this is what it’s looking like so far:
autumnspinning
This is my spinning for a Spin A Long on Ravelry. The other 2 that were in this dye batch will be up in the shop soon. Which means I should probably quit gabbing and get to working on the site.

This entry was posted in spinning, Spunky Eclectic. Bookmark the permalink.

27 Responses to Big and Bright

  1. Chesley says:

    The shop looks great! And I love the table with the bright yellow chairs – what a fabulous find. Can’t wait to see it in person.

  2. Adrian says:

    That’s what I want my house to look like!

    Good luck with the party and CONGRATULATIONS! The shop looks great and the table is supercool.

  3. Julie says:

    Looks fantastic! I need to take a trip up there real soon.

  4. ErickaJo says:

    That looks wonderful! I can’t make it up this Saturday, but I think we’re going to have to make a trip up soon… maybe after the wedding.

  5. Donna says:

    The shop looks great Amy! I wish I lived closer. Boohoo:-(

    You are going to do great – all the best!

  6. Bridget says:

    It looks beautiful! I’ll be up someday soon.

  7. loribird says:

    Congratulations on the shop – I know you’ve been looking forward to it for some time now, and it looks great! I’ll have to come by to visit again before the winter :)
    (LOVE the yellow chairs, by the way)

  8. Juno says:

    It looks like a wonderful place to visit and play and work. And I LOVE the table and chairs.

  9. susan says:

    You’re evil! You better not sell that Super Autumn roving before I have a chance to buy it.

  10. nana nancy says:

    i’m coming What size double point needles do I need to knit great grammy socks and or jay’s socks??????

  11. Cheryl says:

    The shop is looking GREAT! I love it. I wish I lived closer.

  12. Zonda says:

    The shop is looking great! Love that table too! Hoping on my next trip home to be able to stop by in person.

  13. Danielle says:

    Looks great! I think more road trips are in my future…

  14. Suzie says:

    YAY!!!!

    Happy opening! (I’m saying it now because I have very short attention span…….)

    Way cool beautiful table. When I drop in, I will have to sit there, knit and be jealous. um. hungry? Yeah, that’s it. Then you will have to feed me yummy things and life will be so wonderful I will hardly be able to stand it!!!

    Happy happy opening and spin-in on my birthday. You know where to send the cake .

  15. weaverknits says:

    Congratulations. It’s nice to know that I don’t have to wait for fiber events to see and purchase your fibers in person!

  16. heather says:

    i can’t wait to come up again! i’ll have to see if i can piggy-back a visit on to the next time i visit my sister!!! i mean, it’s BOSTON, which is closer than Philadelphia.

  17. Tonia says:

    The shop looks great. How exciting that it is coming together so well.

  18. Weaver says:

    as if I wasn’t excited enough about coming to visit. Now I have pictures to print out and carry around and call precious until I get there :) I can hardly wait to sit in a bright yellow chair!!!

  19. maryse says:

    congratulations on the shop! if only you weren’t so far.

  20. michelle says:

    The shop looks great! You can have the table, but I must have those chairs :) Darn, I wish you were a bit closer.

    Oh and I love your article and sweater in the new knitty. A sweaters worth is still one of my goals :)

  21. PuppyMomma says:

    Hey….where’d you get my table from? (I think my kitchen table is being unfaithful…)

  22. DebbieB says:

    Shop looks great! I’d love to pull up a chair in the spinning corner and hang out. Alas, New Orleans is a bit of a commute…

  23. Arleta says:

    Ooh, it looks so wonderful! I wish I could come and knit and spin with you guys!! Darn Michigan, so far away!

  24. Avhi says:

    Boogie it looks FANTASTIC!!!!! OH MY GOODNESS! Covet! Covet! Covet! That’s how I would want mine, if I were able to open up down here. Sure you don’t want to expand? :)

    And I’m in love with what you just spun up on the Ravelrey. Can I claim the other 2? Just let me know where to pay.

  25. Jennifer says:

    The store is really coming together nicely!

  26. Kim says:

    All of your hard work looks GREAT! I see my wheel sitting in there……sigh, she is beautiful!

  27. Judy says:

    Your shop looks great. Yellow chairs, perfect. Wish I was closer.

Leave a Reply

