Canned

As promised I’ve got a bunch of recipes for you. These are all canning recipes but you could always eat them right off.
canned_recipes

Salsa
3 large tomatoes chopped
1 small onion minced
The juice from one half of a lime
A large handful of cilantro chopped well.
Many garlic cloves minced
Minced Jalapenos or hot pepper flakes to taste.

I just mix it all together. I used to add salt but then I decided the Lime was a way better addition. So I stopped adding the salt. This makes a chunky salsa. Of course if you like a thinner one, you can whiz it up in the blender. This recipe is my usual size if we have people coming over. For canning this fills about one quart so you can adjust your recipe accordingly. To can you can use a boiling Bath for 15 minutes

Bread and Butter Pickles
8 large sliced cucumbers OR Summer Squash
2 large onions sliced
1/4 cup salt
2 cups of Apple cider vinegar
2 tsp celery seed
2 tsp turmeric
1 cinnamon stick

Place your squash or cucumbers and onions in a large bowl and sprinkle with the salt. Let it sit for about 30 minutes. Then rinse and transfer to a large cooking pot. Add in the rest of the ingredients. The usual recipe calls for sugar. If you feel it needs it once all your ingredients are together I recommend adding evaporated cane sugar or something that isn’t a processed white sugar. Personally though, I don’t add the sugar and it still comes out fairly sweet. Bring this to a boil and cook for 30 minutes making sure to keep stirring. In the beginning the liquid will not cover all the fruit but eventually as it cooks down it will.

bbpickles
The original recipe uses the cucumbers obviously. I just tried the summer squash on a whim and it comes out pretty good. The squash stays a little more firm and you can’t tell it’s not a cucumber, except that it’s a little more yellow. In the photo the cukes are on the right and the Squash is on the leftIf you’re canning it, this makes 4 pints and the Processing is by Boiling Bath for 15 minutes.

Tart Blueberry Jam
I’m not sure why but I’m really into the tart Jams and Jellies lately. This one is a great tart one. Especially since the berries I started out with were a little tart to begin with.

2 quarts of tart blueberries
1 lime – zest and juice of
1/2 cup brown rice syrup

Put this into a sauce pan and bring it to a boil. Cook for about 20 minutes until it’s reduced and you thickens up into a Jam. If you’re canning it will make 5 half pints. The processing is a boiling Bath for 10 minutes in half pint jars.

I did absolutely NO canning over the long weekend. None, Zilch, Nada. I almost did some yesterday but then was tired and didn’t feel up to it so I sat back down and knit. I changed my mind about the cabled sweater I was working on. To do it in various sizes, I wanted to make a new chart for each size. I mean, why should the large sizes just have stst or something like that to fill in the sides? I wanted to knit instead of chart out the usual 6 sizes so I changed to something else.

wip_cabledysweater
I really like this new pattern combination I have in this sweater. I liked it so much I finished the back and have about 7 inches of the front done. You may be shocked that I didn’t start with the sleeves and I’m working this in pieces. Well, the pattern just came out better in pieces. As for the sleeves, it’s a modified drop shoulder. I’ll be picking up the stitches and knit the sleeves from the shoulder down.

As for the original cable idea I had, I’ll still do it. It’s one that’s been in my head for a long time. I saw a certain cable running up the middle of someones sweater at a hockey game last year. I quickly sketched out the cable. Her sweater of course needed more than just that one puny cable but it was the force that made me think of designing this sweater. It will get done eventually. It may just turn out that I’ll make the sweater for myself only so as not to lose the joy of knitting it. Sometimes coming up with a multi sized pattern is a good challenge that I readily welcome and sometimes it just detracts from the joy of knitting.

For now though, I’m thoroughly happy with the sweater I’m working on. I may have started other sweaters too. Indecision has a way of making me try to find something I love. I’ll talk about the other new projects soon.

This entry was posted in Knitting, recipes. Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Canned

  1. Joni says:

    I’m glad you got some knitting in! It looks great, like I really would like to squoosh it in my hands. The recipes sound so good, and actually you make canning sound easier than I ever thought it was. Do you really just dump stuff in the clean jars and just boil them, and that’s it? (Why didn’t I learn this from my mother?) I think I have to get some jars at the grocery store and try canning something (will my enormous stock pot do?) just to try. Oh wait–applesauce! ha ha ha that would give me an amazing excuse to pick a whole bushel of apples every weekend. And there’s just about nothing easier to make than applesauce.

  2. Erin says:

    Thank you so much for the canning recipes! I have only canned/made jam once so I’m really excited to try some other things! Thanks again, and YAY for some knitting time! It’s nice to sit and relax.

  3. Arleta says:

    Mmmm. You guys must eat well in the winter. Your recipes sound delicious!

  4. Lucy says:

    Thanks for the recipes! now I just need to decide: take time to knit, or take time to try the recipes. hmmm… or enlist help and do both? ;)

  5. Julie says:

    I love the new design!

  6. Maryellen says:

    Okay I make salsa too. But we just make it and eat it and if it sits too long well down the drain. So canning sounds like a great idea. So what are the basic steps in canning. make the stuff put in jar seal with somthing or are the lids good enough and boil for 15 minutes. Help!

  7. Bad Hippie says:

    Explain the boil bath! I think I’ve never canned before because the pressure cooker thing scares me.

  8. Sara says:

    Holy smokes… the pickles made my stomach start growling!

  9. wendy says:

    Awesome on two counts and thanks for the recipes!

  10. Rebekah says:

    thanks for sharing your recipies!

  11. JenCW says:

    I grabbed the salsa recipe since I really liked it last time we were over, and I’m asking for the dilly bean recipe, if you can part with it!! I LOVE DILLY BEANS!

  12. naomi says:

    Mmmmm, I love blueberry-lime jam. (And raspberry-lime jam…)

  13. Annalea says:

    Thanks so much, Amy, for sharing so many of your alternative recipes. We try to eat a lot like that (no refined stuff, preservatives, very little gluten), but it’s hard to know what to make and how to make it. I’ve saved a lot of your recipes, and look forward to trying out these canning recipes.

    Have a great week!

  14. Amy says:

    I am in love with that jam recipe! I love blueberry anything :D I don’t think my pantry could hold one more jar this year, but I am sure to add this to my rotation next year.

    I can’t wait to see how your cables come out

  15. Lori says:

    I am in awe of all your canning and all that you do! And the Sweater=LOVE!

Leave a Reply

