What's happening?

I was feeling like I had nothing to show. Nothing at all for the past 4 days. Well. There are a few things, just not necessarily knitting. I still have precious little knitting time it seems. I did get a smidge done last night. Here is where I am on the sweater:
aransweater
Pitiful little is done. I also don’t have the cable charts written up. I will have to do that this morning in the hopes that I make it to Knitting night at The Knitting Experience and get more done.

I wish I could say I’ve been spinning up a storm and that’s why I have nothing to show. But really I’ve only plied another hank of Cosmo and worked on some singles. Nothing at all worth showing.

I have been doing a lot with food lately though. I got Kefir Grains on Tuesday when I got this. Jennifer Moore is a fount of knowledge. Especially where foods are concerned. She passed on some Kefir grains which are happily feasting on some Rice milk right now. They are happy little guys and they are doing their job. I also have some videos to pass on. I think it was from a Peter Jennings HD special. It’s now 5 episodes on You tube.
Episode 1
Episode 2
Episode 3
Episode 4
Episode 5
All of that makes me more solid in my desire to can more foods for my family. I got this done yesterday:
morecanning

I’ll be working on Marmalade, Salsa, Green Beans, Dilly Beans, Summer Squash and Zucchini in my “spare time” today. Ok, my time is a delicate balance of multi tasking. One of these days I’ll describe the crazy dance of multitasking that is my life.

And then I’ve been working on our curriculum. School starts Tuesday. I feel like we’ve hardly had a summer. Still, getting back into the regular school schedule will be nice.

Last but not least. I got the skeleton of my Mom’s website done. King’s Treasures and the Blog. Not that my Mom or Aunt have time to write much in their blog. But hopefully they’ll have some quilting goodness up soon.

I think that’s about it for me. I need to start my Marmalade so my multitasking all works in unison. I hope you have a good Holiday weekend (if you’re in the US) and I’ll be back on Tuesday with a recipe, I promise.

This entry was posted in family, Knitting, life. Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to What's happening?

  1. Beckie says:

    I am truly impressed with your multi tasking. You go girl!

  2. amy says:

    i remember making preserves with my mom when we were little. seeing all those jars (especially the ones with the white lids with the fruit baskets) reminds me of how much fun it was. =]

  3. Loopykd says:

    That is a beautiful tattoo! Is the whole thing new or just a portion? I don’t know how you have time to do that much canning with the little one around. That is truly amazing!

  4. Tonia says:

    Yet another pretty tattoo. So do you have time to breathe? LOL Oh yeah I forgot you are a woman and a mother. It is a magical thing that women can do more than one thing at a time. ;)

  5. Ann says:

    Mmmm. Kefir. I gave up my grains when I moved down from Seattle, and I miss them. I miss my morning shakes. I’ve been thinking about starting up again. Instead, I’m making yogurt instead. Not quite the same though.

    Come to think of it, I haven’t canned nor dehydrated summer produce since moving down here.

  6. michelle says:

    I look forward to the multitask dance, I think I need to learn a few more steps.

    Oh I hope it’s the pickle recipe I read about in your last post. Canning is something I have yet to do.

  7. carrie says:

    Oh, you’re making me feel so much better! I feel like I’ve been canning and not knitting for days and days. Look at all those pretty jars you have done!

  8. Amy says:

    Those cans are impressive!

  9. I honestly don’t know how you do it all! I’m tired after simply reading about all this!! I’m looking at starting some canning this fall. I’ve never done it before so it should be kind of fun. I’m thinking that I might be more likely to eat a vegetable if I’ve processed it myself. I’m sort of not so good with the green stuff…

  10. Joni says:

    mmmm, I wonder if the dilly beans would be good warmed with garlic over pasta, like the peppers I mentioned? I think I have some commercial-but-not-nasty dilly beans in the fridge–I’m going to try it if they’re still there. :) I am curious to hear how the kefir made with rice milk comes out. And the lack of time for personal projects–frustrating! I’m always impressed by how much you do though.

  11. DebbieB says:

    What’s the significance of the different elements in your new tat? I’m always so impressed with you moms who can homeschool – I tried to teach my daughter how to read when she was 4, and when I realized that I’d thrown the book across the room in frustration more than a dozen times, it occurred to me that perhaps a professional should be handling the situation. I have patience for many things, but teaching my own little ones “book-learnin'” apparently isn’t one of them. Good for you!

  12. Arleta says:

    A new tat! Pretty!
    Yay you for being a home schooling mom. I know I don’t have the patience. School starts here Tuesday, too, but I don’t know if we’re ready! I’d better make a list, and get shopping.

  13. Gina House says:

    Oh, I love canning! I haven’t done it in years, though. The last thing I made was strawberry jam from strawberries I picked myself. The green beans sound wonderful….canning is such a comforting thing, don’t you think? Love that color yarn!

  14. Lucia says:

    Look at all those jars! I’ve canned a bunch of jam in my time, but I’ve never branched out into veggies.

  15. Heather says:

    You never cease to amaze me — but nice to see someone else having trouble getting some knitting done! I decided to stick to easy and quick for now, ’til I get in the school routine. Such a lucky family to benefit from all that canning — I haven’t a clue how to do it, but boy I could crave me some nummy canned veggies.

  16. jane says:

    Hmm, dilly beans. I love to can. Almost as much as knitting and sewing. I put up some dilly beans for my mom and also some bread and butter pickles. Nothing like winter time to pull out some fresh canned tomatoes or such!

Leave a Reply

