Garlic Hands

Everyone loves a girl with hands of garlic!

It’s time for pickling and I’m up to my elbows in garlic and Dill. It’s the key ingredient for all the good pickles. I try to put lots in and sometimes they still ask for MORE GARLIC!. I’m happy to oblige but I smell like garlic and I’m beginning to wonder if it’s permanent.
Proof of all the Canning
canningkitchen
If you click it, there are notes all over that picture explaining all the stuff going on.

My goal this year is to fill up my root cellar shelves with pickles and preserves so we won’t be buying the ones from the store that have all the preservatives and ucky stuff in them. I have a small start:
punyadditionstoshelf
It seems like I’ve done way more work than that small bit that’s done but we are already eating some of the stuff.

This is what’s in the kitchen today:
todayscanning
And Blueberries and tomatoes which were too shy to be photographed. I have green and red tomatoes to use up. I really want to make more salsa. We like our salsa in this house and I know we’ll go through whatever I make.

Because of all the cooking I really haven’t had any free time for knitting. Still I managed to chart out and cast on for a new cabled sweater
wip_newcabledsweater
Not very impressive with literally only the cast on done. This is a sweater I’ve been dreaming of for a while. It kept popping into my head and finally I decided I needed to get it on paper. Hopefully soon I’ll have some down time to actually work on it.

This entry was posted in Knitting, life. Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Garlic Hands

  1. Sara says:

    Do you make green tomato pickles? My mom used to make jars and jars of them and they would be gone in two weeks. I just love homemade pickles!

  2. Joni says:

    I love seeing all the pickling! Have you ever done peppers? I was just cooking with some pickled peppers last night, but I bought them at the farmer’s market. I’m going to go back and buy a winter’s supply because they are so good, I don’t want to have to go without. I know what you mean about the storebought pickles–I don’t like knowing there’s coloring in all of them

  3. Arleta says:

    Mmmm. I love homemade pickles! More garlic! And dill. LOL

    I love when the cast-on is done, too. Then I feel like I’m actually started.

  4. Lucy says:

    Do you have a certain recipe you use for your canned salsa? We are a salsa family too, but I can’t find one for canning that I really like….

  5. Zonda says:

    Wow, I bet you’ll fill that space in no time! All looks really good! I bet it tastes just as good too with no “extras” in them! Love the pot rack, wish my ceiling could hold one!

  6. Pippi says:

    YUM!
    Where the eff are you pulling this time to do this from?
    Sweet baby jeebus!
    I don’t have nearly enough cukes to do pickles yet.

    I miss you!
    See you this weekend?? yes?

  7. Tonia says:

    We have been canning too. It seems like there is always such a big mess for such a small outcome. It is well worth it in the winter though.

  8. wendy says:

    I hope you post your recipe for your pickles…they sound yummy!

    If you have a stainless steel sink rub your hands on the surface and the garlic smell will disappear.

  9. Melissa says:

    I must be from another planet. I’ve never met anyone other than my mother who makes her own pickles. Would you post a recipe? I’ve never pickled anything before but I think it’s about time I grew up and did it myself instead of bummin’ it off my mom’s pantry shelves. :) She never let me in the kitchen when she made pickles. Is it a difficult process?

  10. Mmm, pickles. I wanted so badly to do pickles this year, but just didn’t have a chance to get around to it. I moved in May, and, um, still haven’t unpacked. I’m not actually sure where the boxes with all the canning stuff are. Instead, I ended up freezing a few things for use later. The berries & peaches are going to taste awesome in cobblers or pies around the holidays! Next year, I am going to do a garden though, so here’s to hoping I’ll be able to can/pickle my own goodies! Your stuff looks great! I have much envy over that dishwasher for warming the jars. Well, and you know, having of the dishwasher. :D

  11. Rebekah says:

    Yum, I’m quite jealous. I remember mom making pickles when I was very little. And I love the pickle tasting portion of State Fair (the one based in iowa). I always want to eat home canned pickles after watching that show.

  12. Amy says:

    I spent the summer making jams. I have the best blueberry jam, but I think my favorite is the peach! I love making my own jam, not only because of the lack of strange chemicals, but because it has less sugar that way.

  13. Mary says:

    YUM! Garlicky pickles. They must be delicious!

  14. Suzanne deSalme says:

    Congratulations on all the canning! It’s such a great feeling to grow all the stuff and then taste it and then save it for a taste of summer later in the winter.

    I’m new to pickles, but we grew so many I made bread and butter, sweet relish, and garlic pickles. I put four cloves in each pint. We love the garlic so much, that I might just pickle jars of garlic! That would be pretty time consuming, though.

    I’ve been canning the last month or so as stuff comes out of the garden. Yesterday I used my 114th jar. So far I’ve done the pickles, zucchini relish, yellow squash, tomatoes, and tomato soup. I plan to do more tomatoes, some butternut squash, and apple sauce before the season changes.

    Keep up the good work. I will think of you as I sniff my oniony and garlicky hands throughout the day!

    Suzanne in Ohio

Leave a Reply

