Cotton Weaving.

You may have seen me write before about my loathing of cotton yarn. I need to change that. I strongly dislike knitting with the stuff, but I’ve recently discovered that I LOVE to weave with it.

I dyed a bunch of cotton this past spring. I dyed at least 10 lbs of it and have another 30 or so waiting to go.
cotton_skeins
I like to test out my yarns before I sell them and well, I needed to test the cottons before I went further. I set aside one that got a splotch of blue in it (Bad blue where it didn’t belong) and figured I’d knit a swatch and run it through it’s tests. That swatch was never knit. Every so often I’d look at the skein of yarn and shudder.

Trying to think of what to put as samples on the shop loom over the weekend, I came up with this skein of cotton. I used the Schacht flip loom and used their direct warping directions (which are amazingly fast and perfect).
cotton_clothonloom1

Here is the small sample that I wove
cotton_washclothprewash
And after a vigorous machinewash and dry:
cotton_washclothdone
The photos were taken in different lighting situations but I assure you the colors are the same, I matched it up with the left over yarn.
I’m really pleased with this yarn. It washes out soft and beautiful. My colors are fast and there is very little shrinkage. Maybe 10%?? I’ll have to actually measure. I’m a visual kind of gal which is why I drew the corners on a piece of paper instead of simply measuring the sample. Once club is out the door I’ll be dyeing up the rest of the cotton I have and probably ordering more. Hopefully I’ll have a bunch done for the VT sheep and wool.

I also set this up this past weekend.
loom_conbo70
It’s a Louet Kombo 70 loom. I really like this. It’s got a simple design but very cool. It comes with 4 harnesses and you can add 4 more later to make it an 8 harness loom. I like that it’s upgrade-able and that it’s simple construction is a good way for beginners to get introduced to weaving. Since it’s a kit, you put it together and really get to understand the workings of a standard table loom. Not to mention that it folds up and pops off it’s stand to become a really portable thing. Great for classes or whatnot.

Yesterday I set up this loom so people will be able to try that out. I set up a stripey twill. I didn’t want to do straight tabby because any loom can do that. I wanted to show what having a 4 harness loom can do. Twills look complicated but they’re really simple to do.
weavingsample
I’m using some Paton’s Classic from the stash. I didn’t want to wait to dye something, though I am dyeing something for the next loom (The Schacht Baby Wolf should be here in the next couple of weeks). In December I plan to have a big floor loom on display for people to give it “go”. My thought is, how can you decide if a small Rigid heddle loom is enough to satisfy that need to weave, if you can’t try out some of the bigger ones too?

I’ve started to list the looms on the site HERE. I wasn’t going to because I’m hoping to revamp the site soon (how long have I been saying that?). I figured I’d get them listed just in case I didn’t get my site revamped as soon as I’m hoping.  More and more will go up as I can

This entry was posted in weaving. Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Cotton Weaving.

  1. DebbieB says:

    Did I hear you say club will be out the door soon? *big happy grin*

  2. Bad Hippie says:

    Very cool!

    We used to have a store in town called “The Loom Shed,” but the proprieter had to move to an assisted living facility. I heard he sold all his looms, or donated them – and they were so big (bigger than standard) that he had a hard time getting rid of them. That shop was amazing…he’d been workin’ it for three decades! I’ll miss visiting the textiles.

  3. Karen says:

    I didn’t know you were a weaver too! I have wanted to give weaving a try for a while now, but I can barely find the time for my present hobbies as it is, so I guess I’ll have to wait a bit. I love the last picture!

  4. Weaver says:

    What great weaving! and now I know I get to play with looms when I come visit, woo hoo!

    Bad Hippie, would that be the Loom Shed in Oberlin? I’m originally from that area and he had a great store to get inspired in.

  5. Arleta says:

    That loom looks fun! I love cotton, I think I’m one of the few knitters who does.

  6. Gigi says:

    No fair tempting me with weaving goodness. I don’t need another hobby. (It is SO hard to resist! LOL) Looking good!

  7. Sigh…I miss weaving. Took only one class for it in college and was instantly in love. Wish I had the money and the room for a loom.

    Can I live in your store? ;)

  8. PuppyMomma says:

    Looms dammit. I don’t have the room. But I want. I WANT!

  9. Tonia says:

    Ooooo look at those looms. It is amazing what you can do with some colored cotton. I have an antique loom that is huge! Sadly it isn’t set up because ther is no space for it.

  10. naomi says:

    You are not helping. (*must. not. start. weaving. before. graduating.*)

  11. Suzie says:

    Once again,you are so cool.

    Why don’t we live closer? I could give you a kitten and you could let me play with your toys. um. looms. And not think it’s strange when I growl when other people try to play too. Only child, ya know……

  12. Annalea says:

    Would you stop it already, temptress? lol I’ve always been fascinated by weaving, but have managed to stay away from it so far . . . I keep telling myself I’ve got to wait until the munchkins aren’t so very little.

    I think it’s time to go try to get that spinning wheel working again . . .

  13. Amy says:

    Nice fiber! I love those cottons. I hate knitting with it but crochet is so fun with cotton. And I had to peruse your loom selection, WOW!

  14. Sara says:

    Well crappity… now I want a loom! My husband would kill me if I brought one home, though.

  15. Gina House says:

    Beautiful weaving!!! My friend Laurin is hoping to weave sometime, soon, too. If only she’ll open the box that the loom came in……LOL!

    I love the colors of those cottons!

  16. Chesley says:

    I just decided on getting a wheel and now you post these pictures? Damn you. Can I just hang out at your place all day and play?

Leave a Reply

